We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious chowder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Squire Restaurant

Chatham Squire Restaurant
487 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-2216
(508) 945-0945
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 58 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night Food, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have been visiting the Chatham Squire for 25 years. Can always count on quality food. You can also count on a wait to get in during the summer season.

The bar is very popular especially on the weekends. Great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    270
    87
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Chatham classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

You cannot go to Chatham and not stop into the Squire, if only for a drink. The license plates all over the walls and ceiling are endless entertainment for our kids. This is not meant to be a high end dining experience---just a great pub with a fun atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, Slo Country
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Don't Know if it's a One Trick Pony...but I don't care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

we were here last year for a glass of wine and a bar snack. it was so good, that when we're in town again (shopping at thrift stores and visiting relatives), i insist we stop in again.

this is a big bar with a lot of fried food, hamburgers and stuff like that. BUT....the bar service is very accommodating and they have good chardonnays by the glass. i'm, talkin Trefethen and La Crema at $9 a glass. but, the piece de la resistance is the chef pate. it's a mixed animal country pate with a pear in it. served with cornichons and caper-berries, it's delicious!

enjoy the food and the license plates on the walls (some from Kuwait).

if i had more time, i'd stick around to see what else goes on.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming downtown establishment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our family stopped in for a lunch last week and were seated and waited upon promptly. Our server was very in tune with our daughter's gluten-free needs and she did a great job accommodating our less than orthodox orders.

The food itself was above average with the fish and chips being excellent. The fish itself was served in small chunks and was moist, flaky and done up in a wonderfully light coating. To boot, the coleslaw accompanying it was some of the best I ever had. Every one else's meals were very good and in particular, the sirloin my g-f daughter ordered was done to perfection.

Overall it was a very good experience and I would gladly dine here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I couldn't imagine that it would be so generous and delicious! It is a pretty dark place and not very welcoming inside but actually it is mostly like a sailor pub. I had the linguine clams that
I hightly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatham Squire Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chatham Squire Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Squire Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.