We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible people run this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant Bay Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pleasant Bay Village to your Saves list
Pleasant Bay Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible people run this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

Awful people run this place. They were dishonest in their business practices, requiring a three night minimum of some guests and not others. I confronted them about it more than once, and they continued to come up with weak excuses that made no sense. I feel taken advantage of in every way. They also were incredibly rude and all too happy to say that they couldn't be of help when asked a question.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The management
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    72
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
122
78
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2006

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at pleasant bay village with our kids 6 and 4 and really enjoyed ourselves. The location close to both Chatham and Orleans makes the whole Cape easily accesible.
The accomomdation is not Ritz Carlton but is at the upper end of what you would expect for this type of better quality motel resort. We stayed in an efficiency with large bedroom, small kitchen/breakfast room and bathroom. There was also a small deck. It was clean, well maintained and the maid service was good.
The kids loved the warm pool and the breakfasts were great and lunches fine for simple food.
The real plus of this place is the welcome and the help the staff will give you. It's family run and it shows, the main 4/5 people that front it care about whether you have a good time or not.
We will go back which is the real test of any holiday venue!

  • Liked — Friendly family environment
  • Disliked — Lack of beach access
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

We just got back from a nice vacation in the New England area. I am happy to say that our trip to the Cape area, and our stay at Pleasant Bay Village was very nice and I would reccomend this hotel to others.

The hotel is a few minutes from downtown Chatham - which made it nice to be around soem activity. It's in a quiet area, and really gave us a good Cape Cod kind of experience. The entrance was a little tricky to find, but once we found it, no problems from there. It was situated so that it was a good base location for our explorations all the way down to Provincetown.

The room was very nice - we stayed in what they called a Deluxe double I believe. There was one double bed, with a table, TV, refrigerator, and desk. I especially liked the newly renovated bathroom. Marble flooring and walls, brand new tub, toilet, and fixtures, very clean and appealing. Our room also had a private patio, well kept, and perfect for sitting out and looking at the stars. The covers and sheeting/general decor were a little dated, but nothing to complain about.

Some other nice touches were the free Internet service in lobby, free morning coffee - and the great heated pool. It definitely made swimming fun later in the day.

I had done a lot of research of places to stay in the Cape. For around $200 a night for a room, in comparison to the other locations around the area, it was a decent location, and room. Very comfortable, friendly staff. The grounds and landscaping were beautful and it felt like a country retreat. We definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

What a delight. After reading many Trip Advisor comments, I chose Pleasant Bay Villate because of its proximity to the Wequasset Inn where we had a Sunday night wedding. I didn't relish driving around, after a night of wedding partying , and wanted some place to stay close by. Pleasant Bay is awesome. The grounds are gorgeous, and for anyone who likes gardens, go to Pleasant Bay Village. We arrived early enough to get sandwiches at the pool, had them packed up, and short walked them down to Pleasant Bay, where we sat on the beach and ate. Our room, the smallest in the establishment, was spotless. The bathroom had a new, and attractive stone sink. We did have use of a somewhat private tiled "patio" outside our door in our own walkway, but the grounds are so lush, the waterfalls and fountains so numerous, we didn't want to be under a walkway. By the pool, there is a twenty year old bamboo grove and wonderful Japanese Maples. As I walked around to see the grounds, people were sitting in their gardens and patios, talking quietly, and even though it caters to families, other than the pool area, the noise level was tranquil. (The pool was filled with happy children.)Most of the rooms/suites have their own patios or decks with clean and modern outdoor funiture and grills. Our sandwiches were delicious, and our next morning breakfast just fine. The coffee was excellent, and I am Ultra fussy about my coffee. All the staff were friendly and helpful. I would go back to Pleasant Bay Village in a second, and just might-over Labor Day.

  • Liked — Beautiful and unusual gardens
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

I have been to many "exclusive" resorts but can say without hestitation that Pleasant Bay Village Resort is the best by far. My family stayed in a two bedroom cottage with all the amenities- full kitchen, living room, dining room and deck. The grounds, as mentioned in all the reviews, are truly beautiful. My wife and I loved to listen to the waterfall beside our deck in the evening. The kids also enjoyed the heated pool which had a large shallow end for our 5 year old to play in. Breakfeast was great too. The blueberry pancakes are among the best we've had in New England. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were all very sad to leave but excited about coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston, england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

We spent 10 days at the Pleasant Bay in early June and loved our time there.
The room was plenty big enough and the gardens were just perfect.
The staff were very accommodating and helped in any problems or queries we had throughout our stay, ( non with the hotel I might add ).

The bonus of staying here is the heated pool, especially when raining and the hot tub, Fantastic.
The one downer is not having a sea view and is a short drive to the beach.

However if you want a place with no airs or graces and is just down to earth, with clean rooms and good breakfasts then this is the place for you.
I wouldn't hesitate in stopping again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

After going to Cape Cod for years with my family, I can say that Plesant Bay Village is one of the most eccentric family oriented resorts on Cape Cod. It combines the past with the luxuries of the present
The kids loved all of the on site activities from the pool to the playground to the lobster dinner
They also have a huge pond where the kids were able to feed the fish and go on hikes around the resort
I liked the fact that they had wireless internet so I could stay connected and work a bit while the kids played
In regards to the staff, they treated us as if we were part of their family which has owned this resort for years
I highly reccomend this to any family looking for a unqiue Cape Cod experience

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pleasant Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.