We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant Bay Village

Save Saved
You added Pleasant Bay Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pleasant Bay Village
1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
September B&B Special
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
GreenLeadersGold level
Montefiascone, Italy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Village consists of an outdoor pool, a landry mat (very handy to have when you are on the road) in a beautiful park. My only complaint was that they make you pay for breakfast on the weekend. We are not big breakfast eaters - a little cereal, a bun and coffee is enough. When we sat down for breakfast it took forever to be served. I think that they should just have a self-service, easy breakfast - which they usually have during the week. The room we had was big and brand new. We loved our stay here. Chatham is a beautiful town and fun to talk around during the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    67
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
117
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in 328 around the backside of the property. Since it was off-season, it was very quiet. I agree with others that there was a musty smell. Since my stay was only one night, I didn't get to use the kitchenette - but it is a nice feature. The bathroom was very spacious and nice.

It is a little ways out of town, but for one night was a great deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in Room 114 for three nights which was clean and in good repair. However, the smell of mustiness was overwhelming. We asked the front desk if they could do something about it. They put some sort of machine in the room that was supposed to take the smell away but it didn't work. In fact, after we got home I noticed that the luggage was musty. I had to spray everything with Lysol. the staff was fine and willing to talk about the area. The grounds are beautiful and it is very quiet; very relaxing. I would like to stay there again but I just don't want to deal with the mustiness again. Also, I wish they had a coffeepot in the room. Chatham, itself, is charming and the two restaurants we visited were very good. I sort of recommend PBV, but make sure your room is not musty.

Room Tip: Room 114 is very musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited in September 2013 from Canada with family from the UK and stayed 5 nights at PBV. We had excellent rooms and fell in love with the place as we wandered the grounds- what a beautiful setting! Chatham is the perfect location on Cape Cod and the local knowledge from the desk staff on dining and sightseeing was very helpful. Our only disappointment was that there was no coffee maker in the rooms. As seniors we were up early long before the reception opened at 8.00am and would have appreciated an early morning tea or coffee without having to leave PBV. Other than that everything was delightful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After living in Chatham for more than 25 years, I was shocked to learn that I had never been to the Pleasant Bay Village... and yet when it came time to book a block of rooms, my parents and I came across them and could not be happier that we did. We cannot say enough positive things about the service, the cleanliness of the rooms, the friendliness of the staff, and the overall experience had by our guests. They could not have been nicer to let us check out the rooms before booking the block, and were wonderful in working with us to come up with some creative room configurations when space got a bit tough ... and the rates cannot be beat. I highly, highly recommend the Pleasant Bay Village and cannot wait to put more people up there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel was fine overall, but did not really like. For the rate we paid, even off season, value was not there. Room was a decent size, but the decor seemed old and tired. Room was clean. Had a small refrig, but no coffee maker. Hotels for a lot less always seem to have one in room.
There was free coffee served in lobby, but not until 8 am. Why not earlier? You can do better for less.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington Park
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the two bedroom cottages. The grounds were gorgeous and impeccable. The cottage was spotless. We stayed with our two boys. The cottage had plenty of room including an outdoor patio with grill, front porch, three TVs, full kitchen complete with pots/pans etc, two large bedrooms, two full bathrooms and an enclosed front porch. It has all the benefits of renting a house with the amenities of an upscale hotel complete with turndown service and godiva chocolates! The hotel is not on the beach which may be a drawback but we drove to several of the local public beaches that were not more than ten minutes away. The hotel serves a great breakfast. Lunch is available as well outside by the pool - we didn't have the opportunity to try that. Would definitely stay here again with the boys. It is a bit expense $575 per night for the two bedroom suites - we paid $475 due to a discounted rate in place for the week we stayed - in late August. At $575 per night you have to weigh the cost of $4,025 for a full week versus renting a house on the beach. We stayed for four nights so for our needs it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pleasant Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.