We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Pier and Fish Market

Chatham Pier and Fish Market
Barcliff Avenue, Chatham, MA
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Pelham, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“fun to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I live locally and still love to visit the pier and watch all the days catches being unloaded. My kid always loved going to the pier when they were younger go real early in the morning for the most action

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    84
    23
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food with a view to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great fresh seafood right off the boat with the fish pier right at your table. Great fired clams shrimp and scallops. Fresh haddock fish and chips. Fast service , call ahead with your order and it's ready when you arrive. Not greasy, good size portions. Also fresh fish market in the storefront.A terrific meal reasonably priced. I'm a regular when I get the hungrys for my fried seafood.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“No seals. Had the chowder... good; nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

after reading all the reviews.. we thought this would be something special. It was "OK"... but nothing compared to Carmel and La Jolla on the Pacific. I wouldn't recommend making a special effort to get to this one.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place too see the seals!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip!! We seen alot of seals. They were so much fun too watch as they bobbed up and down in the ocean. We were there at two o'clock and were also able too see a fishing boat come in and unload. What a wonderful experiance!!!! Would love too go back again!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, CT
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Went to see the seals, didn't eat there, but bought food to cook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were a little late showing up, the fishing boats had long since offloaded so the seals weren't feeding, but over the next hour, we still had many sightings of them entertaining us right off the pier. They would lazily float by on their backs with their fat bellies on display. They would snort the water out of their nostrils. Probably 5 different seals, various sizes but mostly huge. Very entertaining. The different species of gulls were also very accommodating with posing for photographs. Lots of great close-ups of both seals and gulls. Had 1 comorant also visit.

Had already had lunch so didn't have the appetite for a lobster roll or anything else. But bought some fresh shrimp and haddock to cook up back here at the house. Will probably make it up tonight so it's super fresh.

Fun place to watch the wildlife and just see what really happens on a dock. Very friendly workers who take the time to chat with you if they're available.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatham Pier and Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Chatham Pier and Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Pier and Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.