We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorne Motel to your Saves list
Hawthorne Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   196 Shore Rd., Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had a wedding at Chatham Bars Inn over Columbus Day Weekend and decided to make a little getaway trip out of it - the Hawthorn was PERFECT! It's still a little pricier than staying "in town" in chatham, but for 2 of us it was perfect and MUCH cheaper than Chatham Bars Inn with possibly better views?!

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and changed each day. The beds were very comfortable and clean and the owners accommodated some of the special need we had (arriving late) quickly and with no fuss. Also, when I was booking, they replied promptly and answered all my questions - even calling me to make sure we were all set.

I look forward to staying here again and absolutely recommend it to people looking to have a nice stay in Chatham, right on the water.

Room Tip: You will pay less if you don't get a water view room - but you can access the water as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    60
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
93
153
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashville, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our 3 night stay at the Hawthorn was perfect. Lovely, large room with a king bed and small kitchenette. Walking distance to town and restaurants and a beautiful view right on the water. The off season special rate of $150 was a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Hawthorne. Great room, great view of the water.
Owners on site take pride in their property and very helpful directing us to local restaurants and shops. Rooms are clean and grounds are well kept with chairs to soak in the view.

Thanks Gil and Ellie for a great place to stay on our visit to the Cape.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Hawthorne sits right on the water and most rooms will have a view of the boats and sunrise. There is a lovely lawn and patio where you can relax; coffee and tea and fruit set out in the lobby/living room area in the morning. It is easy to walk into town and to the lighthouse and very central for driving to the other Cape areas of Provincetown and Hyannis. The room we had included a kitchenette which is nice for beverages and snacks but the space was a bit tight around the bed. Not a big problem considering you really don't spend much time in the room.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a lovely view from our room. We were last minute stay and we were treated as if we had made reservations months in advance. Clean spacious room (ours did not have kitchenette) with a great view of water. Private beach and beach towels provided. We just loved our stay. The y have a list of local restaurants in lobby with menus and were very helpful. A jewel on the beach.

Room Tip: all seem to have views. Must ask for kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

A great motel with a beautiful view. 5 minute drive from Chatham Lighthouse Sand beach. Not to be missed. It's a gorgeous beach with a photogenic red and black house.

The room was decorated like a beach cottage. It had a kitchenette if you wanted to cook instead of dining out.

We had a side view of the ocean. If you can, request a room with a direct view of the water.

I would also suggest driving to Provincetown. It's a charming walking area. Don't miss the Pilgrim monument. The view from the top was amazing. It was modeled after the tower in Sienna, Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston, MA USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked a last-minute stay at the Hawthorne Motel for 2 nights in September. We usually stay in B&B's when we go to the Cape for a short stay, but we had driven by the Hawthorne several times, and given its location - right on the water - decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised!
Why do I think it is better than a B&B? We had a kitchenette so we could have breakfast any old time we wanted (we're early-risers), and we could eat in our PJ's! Of all the nice B&B's that I know of in Chatham, none is right on the water/beach - a big plus for the Hawthorne! (The huge Chatham Bars Inn resort is close by, and is also on the water/beach, but their prices are beyond our budget.)
Our room was plenty big; we had a king bed that was very comfortable; we had sufficient room to stash our luggage and food; we liked having a TV; the bathroom was good-sized with excellent water pressure and plenty of towels -- even packaged toothbrushes and toothpaste (!!) in addition to soaps and shampoo/conditioner. Oh, and the unit had lots of windows, which I liked a lot, for sunshine and ventilation. And the place was CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN! Daily maid service was unobtrusive and appreciated.
The kitchenette has a teeny sink, a small fridge, a small stove-top (no oven), a compact microwave, and enough plates, glasses, utensils, pots & pans, etc. for assembling a simple meal. They even have a Keurig coffee maker and a variety of coffee pods! Sponge and dishwashing detergent were provided. I'm not sure if we were supposed to wash our own dishes, but we did.
Outside each unit were provided comfortable chairs, a chaise lounge, and small tables. It was so nice to sit on the lawn in the sunshine and read, people-watch, and watch the fishing boats. The motel is not far from the Chatham Fish Pier, an easy walk of maybe 15-20 minutes along the beach. The motel has its own private beach, which is also supplied with plenty of chairs and large sun umbrellas.
The owners couldn't have been nicer, as were the couple of staff people we met during our brief stay. Inside the reception area you'll find fresh fruit, and coffee and doughnuts.
Internet was free and worked great.
My only minor complaint is that the walls aren't soundproof; we could hear the gentleman in the next room as he talked on his phone, but by 7pm he was done and we never heard other noise, just the occasional scraping of chairs, and closing doors - not a big deal!
I would definitely stay here again. All of the rooms that faced the back looked good. I don't think I would want one of the front (road-facing) rooms - it was so nice to have a view of the water, and the lovely plantings on the property.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the lawn and water. Kitchenette rooms are an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#1 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
8.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#8 of 20 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
The Chatham Motel
The Chatham Motel
#3 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Motel

Address: 196 Shore Rd., Chatham, MA 02633
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#3 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawthorne Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint motel in Chatham on the water. Private beach and stunning ocean views. Free WiFi. Six minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Chatham
Hawthorne Motel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.