We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families with babies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorne Motel to your Saves list
Hawthorne Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   196 Shore Rd., Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for families with babies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The vast number of 5 star reviews say almost all there is to say, so I will just add one fact particularly relevant for those with a baby: the signal from our baby monitor reached the beach! There was a little static, but not too much. This meant that we could sit on the beach while our baby napped, and at night (by the bonfire) when he went to sleep. Needless to say, this was awesome. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    60
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
93
153
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I picked it based on Tripadvisor reviews and its location on the Cape. You can easily take day trips to Provincetown or Hyannis to jump on a boat and visit Martha's Vineyard or Nantucket. Back to the hotel - it is lovely. We couldn't get a full water-view room, but it was nice to stay in a partial view room with our assigned parking space right outside the door. Since we were road tripping with two young children, it worked out well. The motel provides beach towels, beach toys, umbrellas, and chairs. In the peak summer months, I read they do bonfires on the beach with marshmallows on Wed and Sat nights. It's a charming place located in Chatham - the most expensive real estate on Cape Cod. We enjoyed the town and looking at the homes around us. We stayed two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Tip about traveling on Cape Cod - peak time is July 4th - Labor Day. We happened to come the third week of June and there were no crowds or much traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room. The partial view room we stayed in was nice, too, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been coming there annually since 1998. The facilities and ambience are superb. Accommodations are kept immaculate, view of beach is outstanding.The grounds are well maintained.The rooms have all the appurtenances (and are quiet!).Most of the rooms have a wide view of the beach and grounds. Gil and Ellie are extremely helpful in making sure that all requests are responded to and are always available. Location is outstanding - a 5 minute walk from town center and central in location for travel up the outer cape and back through the inner cape if desired. Chatham has an excellent town center for night life, restaurants, and shopping.Outstanding summer theater (Monomoy Playhouse). The motel has been in the family for many years and ownership is quite stable.

Room Tip: All rooms are on one level- most have a view toward the beach. A small house at the beach area can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed with my family for three nights. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The views were wonderful. The beach is right there. Chairs, umbrellas and towels are supplied. It was a great location to stay on Cape Cod. Would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a full view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are given the choice of 800-1000 $ a night and 200- 300$ you may think that by choosing the latter you will miss out. Believe me, you won't. The check in was flawless, we were shown a choice of rooms available and all were clean and well looked after. No breakfast, but breathtaking views. Great place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nice hotel with a great location. Rooms are clean but a bit small. Walls between rooms are also thin. Short walk to town and nice private beach. A bit pricey for a motel, but it is Chatham and you are paying for the location. I would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Awesome location with very comfortable rooms. Staff is very accommodating. One night took takeout lobster dinner from the Chatham Squire and sat by the fire the staff sets up every night down on the beach. The free use of beach towels and umbrellas is also great.
Walking distance from town and the pier makes it nice too.
Room is comfy but basic, clean, but very small TV.
It is expensive for a motel but then again but it is Chatham. You are though paying for the great location and private beach!

Room Tip: The even numbers of 120-128 that face ocean ABOVE parking lot give beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#1 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
8.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#9 of 20 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
The Chatham Motel
The Chatham Motel
#3 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Motel

Address: 196 Shore Rd., Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#3 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawthorne Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint motel in Chatham on the water. Private beach and stunning ocean views. Free WiFi. Six minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Chatham
Hawthorne Motel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.