We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families with babies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Motel

Save Saved
You added Hawthorne Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorne Motel
196 Shore Rd., Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Chatham
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect for families with babies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The vast number of 5 star reviews say almost all there is to say, so I will just add one fact particularly relevant for those with a baby: the signal from our baby monitor reached the beach! There was a little static, but not too much. This meant that we could sit on the beach while our baby napped, and at night (by the bonfire) when he went to sleep. Needless to say, this was awesome. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    50
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
82
123
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I picked it based on Tripadvisor reviews and its location on the Cape. You can easily take day trips to Provincetown or Hyannis to jump on a boat and visit Martha's Vineyard or Nantucket. Back to the hotel - it is lovely. We couldn't get a full water-view room, but it was nice to stay in a partial view room with our assigned parking space right outside the door. Since we were road tripping with two young children, it worked out well. The motel provides beach towels, beach toys, umbrellas, and chairs. In the peak summer months, I read they do bonfires on the beach with marshmallows on Wed and Sat nights. It's a charming place located in Chatham - the most expensive real estate on Cape Cod. We enjoyed the town and looking at the homes around us. We stayed two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Tip about traveling on Cape Cod - peak time is July 4th - Labor Day. We happened to come the third week of June and there were no crowds or much traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room. The partial view room we stayed in was nice, too, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been coming there annually since 1998. The facilities and ambience are superb. Accommodations are kept immaculate, view of beach is outstanding.The grounds are well maintained.The rooms have all the appurtenances (and are quiet!).Most of the rooms have a wide view of the beach and grounds. Gil and Ellie are extremely helpful in making sure that all requests are responded to and are always available. Location is outstanding - a 5 minute walk from town center and central in location for travel up the outer cape and back through the inner cape if desired. Chatham has an excellent town center for night life, restaurants, and shopping.Outstanding summer theater (Monomoy Playhouse). The motel has been in the family for many years and ownership is quite stable.

Room Tip: All rooms are on one level- most have a view toward the beach. A small house at the beach area can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed with my family for three nights. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The views were wonderful. The beach is right there. Chairs, umbrellas and towels are supplied. It was a great location to stay on Cape Cod. Would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a full view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are given the choice of 800-1000 $ a night and 200- 300$ you may think that by choosing the latter you will miss out. Believe me, you won't. The check in was flawless, we were shown a choice of rooms available and all were clean and well looked after. No breakfast, but breathtaking views. Great place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nice hotel with a great location. Rooms are clean but a bit small. Walls between rooms are also thin. Short walk to town and nice private beach. A bit pricey for a motel, but it is Chatham and you are paying for the location. I would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Awesome location with very comfortable rooms. Staff is very accommodating. One night took takeout lobster dinner from the Chatham Squire and sat by the fire the staff sets up every night down on the beach. The free use of beach towels and umbrellas is also great.
Walking distance from town and the pier makes it nice too.
Room is comfy but basic, clean, but very small TV.
It is expensive for a motel but then again but it is Chatham. You are though paying for the great location and private beach!

Room Tip: The even numbers of 120-128 that face ocean ABOVE parking lot give beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Motel

Address: 196 Shore Rd., Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint motel in Chatham on the water. Private beach and stunning ocean views. Free WiFi. Six minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hawthorne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Chatham
Hawthorne Motel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.