We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had great stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorne Motel to your Saves list
Hawthorne Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   196 Shore Rd., Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had great stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Awesome location with very comfortable rooms. Staff is very accommodating. One night took takeout lobster dinner from the Chatham Squire and sat by the fire the staff sets up every night down on the beach. The free use of beach towels and umbrellas is also great.
Walking distance from town and the pier makes it nice too.
Room is comfy but basic, clean, but very small TV.
It is expensive for a motel but then again but it is Chatham. You are though paying for the great location and private beach!

Room Tip: The even numbers of 120-128 that face ocean ABOVE parking lot give beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    60
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
93
154
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Debary, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The view from all the rooms in great. The beach is right there, the motel supplies towels, beach toys and chairs. The rooms were clean and they provided service every day. The staff was very pleasant and friendly. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone who is staying in the Chatham area. Rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family chose the Hawthorne Motel for a family reunion this past weekend. It was our first time at the Hawthorne and we are sure to be back. The rooms are clean and the views are spectacular. The Hawthorne is literally right on the beach -- they provide you with beach towels and beach toys for your children to use for the day. Gil and Ellie and their little pup could not have been friendlier. They gave us great recommendations for meals and shopping.

We will definitely be back and are hoping to be able to rent the little cottage in near future.

Thank you again Gil and Ellie!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking on beach are the best but be prepared to wake up early. Even with the shades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

First - the view is spectacular. We pulled in around sunset and were so excited to see where we would be staying and playing for the weekend. We stayed at the Hawthorne for a wedding and it was so much fun to have all of our friends in the same spot with such easy access to the beach... we loved hanging out on the back patio in between events. I especially loved that the Hawthorne provided beach towels and chairs. We stayed in a Deluxe Motel Room Ocean View, and I was impressed with the size and furnishings. The room was very clean and they provided plenty of towels. The view was gorgeous, but the only downside is I had to keep the blinds down almost the entire time otherwise other guests could see right in as they walked by to the back patio / entrance to the office. Overall a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Spent the four days starting on Memorial Day at the Hawthorne Motel. What a wonderful sight from the view of the harbor to the fine grain sand beach we just loved y. Just can's say enough wonderful things about our Hosts Gil and Ellie. They were so warm and special just delightful. When next on the Cape, we will definately seek out this place. Just hope it is not booked so we can get reservations. Much better than closest competition down the shore road. Special and wonderfil all in one. The best. Bob Klinzing

Room Tip: Room 104 for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have been staying at the Hawthorne since the 60's and can't imagine staying any place else. Located right on the beach and within easy walking distance to downtown Chatham it has served our multi-generational family well. Gil and Ellie were wonderful providing us with ideas on new places to visit and things to do. They are up to date on the newest and best restaurants in the area. Gil provided lots of laughs with his funny stories and jokes during our family cocktail hour on the patio.

Room Tip: Ocean view are worth the extra charge, and for convenience of making your own meals if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Hawthorn Motel is a great place for families, friends, and parties of all types to stay. The motel is located right next to a beach that is great for a stroll, family beach time, paddle boarding, and much more. Rooms are spacious and clean. They have beech chairs and umbrellas available for guest use which is great. The motel provides beach towels to borrow for the beach for free.There is a nice patio made for a morning tea or an evening snack that has a wonderful view of the ocean. The view is awesome. Walkable distance to Chatham town center.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a beautiful view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#1 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
8.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#8 of 20 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
The Chatham Motel
The Chatham Motel
#3 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Motel

Address: 196 Shore Rd., Chatham, MA 02633
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#3 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawthorne Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint motel in Chatham on the water. Private beach and stunning ocean views. Free WiFi. Six minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Chatham
Hawthorne Motel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.