We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Highlander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chatham Highlander to your Saves list
Chatham Highlander
946 Main St., Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

The highlander was just right for my family. Rooms have been refurbished. The staff were very attentive especially Olga. Did have one problem which they dealt with immediately.
Also quite a good position for Chatham.
Would very much recommend staying here .

  • Liked — Layout
  • Disliked — Larger barthroom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We booked the Highlander's " best & largest room" (207). The room is very large & clean with a comfortable king bed, 2 arm chairs with a square table in between, a long chest with 4 good sized drawers...the cable TV is on top with a swivel base so that it can be seen from the chairs or the bed. There are 2 table lamps & a floor lamp so there is plenty of light. There is a large bay window on one side & a large picture window on the other.

Their is a fridge with an ice tray, a microwave oven, a coffee maker with coffee, sugar, powdered creamer, a hair dryer & an iron/board . There are plenty of wood hangers in a good sized closet.

The bathroom looked new & had a curved shower rod with a nice shower curtain. They provide soap & shampoo.

Local calls are free & you can set your own wake-up calls.

There are 2 chairs outside the door. The motel rooms are all non-smoking, but there are ashtrays outside for those who smoke.

There are 2 heated outside pools & a shuffle board court. The grounds are well-kept. There are maps & booklets of the area in the office.

Chatham Village Market, a laudromat & Cumberland Farms is located 0.2 miles from the motel. It is a short drive to the town center with its many shops & restaurants. (Parking in the rear is free).

Suggestions for management: Check out is at 10:30 am. Most hotels/motels have a check out time of 11:00 or 12:00 noon. The hair dryer was outside the bathroom near the coffeemaker. It would have been more convenient if it was in the bathroom. A hook on the inside of the bathroom door would be nice. Because of the 2 large windows the room needs some lined drapes so it is not so bright very early in the a.m. when you are trying to sleep. It would be nice if there were a couple of paper plates & 2 sets of plastic utensils in the microwave since we took back leftovers from the restaurant & had no utensils to eat them with.

All in all...this motel is much improved with the new owners and is in a desirable location close to the heart of Chatham.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, OH
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

My expectations were exceeded with this hotel. We booked online and the rates seemed comparable to other places we considered for what we could afford during the summer season. We knew that the Cape has lots of 'mom and pop' type hotels that are perfectly nice - just different from staying at a resort or chain but that we could be taking a chance on a place that may not have been that nice. We were very happy with our choice. The room also contained a small refrigerator which was a bonus and handy for breakfast stuff and drinks.

The hotel room felt spacious and was very clean. The hotel has posted that it is a family type place and it was - very quiet and peaceful. The hydranges at the hotel (and everywhere in Chatham) were gorgeous during the first week of August. The green space by the hotel had a few tables and chairs where I saw people having a late afternoon glass of wine and a snack. We would hit the beach for a while and return mid afternoon for a quick dip in the pool which we had to ourselves both afternoons.
We had specifically requested a renovated room so I can't say anything about other rooms - we had a room with two queens.

Chatham is centrally located on the Cape which made it an easy trip to the National Seashore and the town was nice - very busy the week we were there.

All in all, we had a nice stay for our 3 nights and would certainly return to the hotel.

  • Liked — Clean, Convenient
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

I agree with the previous reviewer who said the Chatham Highlander is very expensive for what it is. While the hotel had a good location, friendly staff, and the rooms were big, the rooms were plain, bordering on ugly.

Since the hotel recently had been renovated, I was expecting more that what we got. There were some new sitting chairs in our room, but they looked like clearance items from a cheap furniture store. The bathroom counter was still formica that looked like it was from the 1950's, and while there was new wallpaper in the bathroom, it was poorly done: you could see big lumps of wall fixtures that they simply papered over rather than removing them. The carpeting was new but of poor quality, and the drawers on the dresser were lopsided and didn't close properly.

When I return for Chatham, I'll probably pay a little more to get a nicer place.

  • Liked — Location, easy parking, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Plain, ugly rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

Accommodated fourteen rooms for our family event. From the time of our initial contact to the last checkout, the owners and staff were incredibly professional and responsive. All guests had nothing but positive praise regarding the service and accommodations commenting they would all stay again (some already have returned). The owners continue to work hard on making this one of the best values on the cape.

  • Liked — Friendly service, value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

The room we had was very clean and roomy. A small table and chairs would have been nice because my husband had a hard time getting out of the low chairs because of a bad knee. We stayed in room 104. I think this motel is fairly priced for Chatam.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and large room
  • Disliked — The chairs
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

We were visiting friends in Chatham, so the Highlander was the perfect location. It is breathtakingly expensive for a simple motel. I'd rate it higher except for the cost. Unfortunately I understand that we paid for location. We had a Queen room that was newly renovated. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds that I've ever slept in. The furniture, carpets, refrigerator, TV, etc. were all brand new. In fact, they still needed to do a little finish work on the room, the bathroom door and all the trim still needed to be painted. The room was quite large, could have fit 2 doubles or a king sized bed in there. The bathroom was quite small, but brand new and the linens were new and clean. We didn't get a chance to check out the pool. The motel is located right on Rt. 28 just a bit west of Chatham center. It is also convenient to the bike path, only about 1/4 mile away. We'd stay there again if we were visiting Chatham.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — the price
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you request a newly renovated room if available
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatham Highlander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Highlander

Address: 946 Main St., Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Chatham Highlander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Highlander Hotel Chatham
Highlander Hotel Chatham
Highlander Motel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Highlander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.