We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meals, GF their specialty.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Fish & Lobster

Chatham Fish & Lobster
1291 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633
800-945-0545
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 57 Restaurants in Chatham
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
East Hampton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great meals, GF their specialty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you hadn't told me the fried seafood was gluten free, I'd never had guessed. OK - that's *why* we went, but it's always great to get GF that's not an also-ran. A good old paper-napkin seafood joint, since they're a fish market also, the seafood is fresh and tasty. No difference in the off-season, when you might think the turnover slows down and freshness might suffer. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We ordered our Lobsters cooked along with Steamers - CFL has delicious food, wonderful service, easy parking access.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best lobster bisque around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The lobster bisque was the best i've tried in a long time, homemade, creamy and full of lobster meat. Crab cakes and fish sandwich were also delicious. They have great variety of gluten free options and great gluten free cookies.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best Fried Fish on the Cape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have to start with this was the first fried fish I have had since I was forced to go gluten free 4 years ago. Words cannot describe how excited that made me. I thought it was heavenly, and had to ask my Husband his thoughts since it had been so long. He agreed this fried fish was the freshest, and most delicious he had eaten in a very long time! The fries and coleslaw were equally yummy.
My only negative would be the drink situation. All drinks are retrieved from a stand up cooler, and I am just a fresh ice tea kind of girl, so that was a bit disappointing. The restaurant looks to be an afterthought addition to a fresh fish market, and the concentration is on the food, not the service. It seems to do a lot of take out business, with several options in the cooler as well.
If you love fresh fried fish - this is your place for a casual meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good fish & chips.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were staying in a cottage nearby and I visited this restaurant multiple times during the week, both to eat in the restaurant, as well as picking up fresh seafood to cook on my own. The food offered in the restaurant is typical from a fish and chip place; meaning the seafood is battered then fried, but what stands out is that the batter here is gluten-free. Prices are on the expensive side, but typical of the area. One tip: servings seem to be bigger when you do take-out as opposed to eat-in.

Due to the exodus of summer students returning to school, offerings in the fridge of prepared salads was very low.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatham Fish & Lobster also viewed

 
Chatham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Chatham Fish & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Fish & Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.