We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B and B I've stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Roof House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bow Roof House
Save Saved
You added Bow Roof House to your Saves list
59 Queen Anne Road, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Chatham B&B and Inns
Chatham, Massachusetts,
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best B and B I've stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I found this B and B the best that I've ever stayed at in Chatham. The rooms are very clean and nice. The beds are very comfortable also! There is a TV in the Living room that is open all the time, there is also a patio outside with a great breeze and spot. The breakfast is good and Vera's hospitality is great! For the price you pay to stay at the Bow Roof House it's definitely worth it!

Ps..... The Bow Roof is located only 3 minutes from Oyster Pond and 5-7 minutes from the center of Town!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Bow Roof House is one of my favorite places I have ever stayed and I will stay there whenever I visit Chatham for the rest of my life or as long as it stays open, whichever happens first! It is run by a smart, kind, and sassy Grandma named Vera and she will tell you great stories. That alone is the reason why you travel! We were travelling in a group of three and found a great room at a steal of a price, which is rare on the Cape as you know. The room was large and clean and comfortable, with great lighting and a fireplace with a bread oven next to it! (The house is an old captain's house from the 18th century.) There is a fireplace in the large bathroom as well. The shower had terrific water pressure (yessssssssssss). It is an easy walk to downtown Chatham. Breakfast was fruit, percolated coffee, Portuguese rolls with marmalade, peanut butter, and jam. Bow Roof House makes me grin to think about it. This is a wonderful place and you will want to come back many times. Stay here for your *soul*. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BXL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed there last summer with my husband when we were desperate to find last minute accommodation in the cape. It was one of the only options left and also one of the cheapest one (100USD a night high season). We decided to give it a try but were a bit apprehensive... What a great surprise! Old style captain house, old style decor, but so warm and friendly. Definitely excellent value for money. Very clean and excellent breakfast by the way. Well don't go there if you are looking for fancy and luxury, but that's the place to go if you are looking for authentic, local and welcoming.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor (first room on left when you enter the house) and were happy with it. We also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is b&b offers an excellent atmosphere and value for money. Rooms are clean and confortable. The price are very reasonable for the location and it is run by a very friendly old woman. The breackfast table offer the possibility of interesting conversations and the small patio outside a great location for an evening chat. In short on of the best B&B in the Cape Cod area. Additional benefits no TV and no internet. Albeit the latter can be accessed in ways you will find out. No credit cards, but checks on US banks are accepted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This guest house is run by Grandma Vera with a little help from her family. The rooms are immaculately clean, good sized and in the original colonial style. It is one of the closest guest houses to the town centre, without the top end price tag. Breakfast was ample - bagel/english muffin, fresh fruit, fruit juice, tea/coffee. We were so charmed with Chatham town that we stayed a night longer than planned. The only possible draw back is the absence of wifi. The property is open year round, if the family are at home.

Room Tip: The extra $115 for the larger rooms is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

My husband and I love vacationing in Chatham every year. We have researched many B&B's and never found a price as good as at the Bow Roof- for less than $100/night you have a clean room, private bath and a small breakfast in the morning. The Bow Roof is located close to the center of town and is a short walk from great restaurants. Considering we spend the majority of our vacation at the beach and not in the room, we don't mind that there is no TV or AC- it's definitely a rustic stay but quaint and meets our needs. Vera is an interesting host but is accommodating and respects our space. The small breakfast takes a while for her to serve but we are on vacation and never in a rush- for $100/night- we have no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I'm shocked that this property hasn't been reviewed yet. I found out about it on another website and am so thankful that I did!

The Bow Roof House is located very conveniently in Chatham - a 5 to 7 minute walk to the center of town with all the cute shops, galleries, and restaurants. The house is very old, built several hundred years ago, but is very charming and comfortable. Sure, some things could use a bit of updating perhaps, but I thought things were just fine. Breakfast consisted of bread, butter, and cheese and preserves, fruit, juice, coffee and tea. As Vera, the owner stated, its really just to get you started. OveraIl, I believe this is probably the best deal you can get so close to Chatham. I paid $100 for a room with a private bath - an incredible deal. I really hope that more people check out this property and post reveiws soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow Roof House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Roof House

Address: 59 Queen Anne Road, Chatham, MA 02633
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Roof House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.