We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatham Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Chatham Motel to your Saves list
The Chatham Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1487 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Southington, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a deluxe room and found it very clean, cozy and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless! We enjoyed the coffee pot and used the refrigerator included with the room. We had plenty of room for our two day visit and would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    54
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
58
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August with 2 kids. We had a deluxe family room, which was surprisingly very roomy. We made a request for a pack and play for our toddler and usually with the hotels we have to make another request upon arrival because they simply do not checkm but here everything was ready and set up. The room itself was very clean, and we did not experience much noise. We also enjoy a small pool which was clean and although not in a spectacular setting was great with kids (we were also the only people in the people for both days). The location is perfect to all beaches, the town, the restaurants, etc. And frankly, with most hotels charging 3 nights minimum for ridiculous prices, it was a great value stay. I agree with the previous post about the man in the office - when we checked in, he acted as if I was bothering him. The woman however was very friendly. Also, no breakfast at all. I'd say it was a very good stay for reasonable amount. I would come back with the kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crema, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Based upon most of the reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to give The Chatham Motel a try. Make no mistake about it, this is not a quaint New England Inn under the disguise of a motel---it is exactly what it claims to be---a motel. Our room (number 2) had from the beginning an extremely unpleasant mildew/moldy smell, this we managed to air out a bit, by leaving the window open. In addition the toilet was very bizarre in the fact that the water tank behind it was Boiling Hot---(Not a comfortable feeling, but definitely one contrived to make sure family members don't spend hours reading the newspaper!) The room itself was very outdated, with thin walls so you hear your neighbors without problem and the comforters had a horrible smell to them due to the mildew in the room. However despite all of this, we took it with a grain of salt saying that we weren't on the Cape to stay in the room, just to sleep and for the short time we would be in Chatham it was fine for our needs.

However, I have decided to write this review, because on our last day in Chatham, we had scheduled a half day fishing trip for which we would be departing at 4am. We called up to the reception to see if we could arrange for either a late check out or leave our bags in the office. The man (who from the beginning was not the friendliest of persons) refused to accommodate us in either way, rather rudely stating that the room was needed (ok, we had no problem with this), and that he did not feel comfortable at all letting us keep our belongings in the office until after we finished the trip after lunch,so the answer was no. Therefore we were forced to pack up all our suitcases and leave them in the parking lot at the Port. I felt that this man (not the lady who was very friendly) has chosen the wrong line of work since he obviously knows nothing about

After having evaluated the entire stay, at this point I will not recommend this motel to anyone, because aside from it's central location, it's definitely not worth the money.

Room Tip: Definitely don't stay in Room #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Chatham Motel is a few minutes from the center of Chatham. It is afforadble, clean, and great for family get away. It is a cute place located off Rt 28. The room was very comfortable for the four of us, and the servie was outstanding. We had a frigerator in the room that allowed us to kept some food for breakfast and wifi for the family to keep upt to date on facebook and emails. The grounds offered a pool and play ground for the kids to cool off after a day at the beach. We had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Yes, the interior of the room perhaps takes you back in time but that is no problem. The property is well maintained and the room seemed to be newly renovated wrt carpet, bathroom and beds. It was clean and we left a good tip for the cleaning lady which we certainly not always do but the room was spotless. The receptiion by Cheryl was very kind. Indeed no breakfast but that was known in advance. We are from Holland and are spoiled with good coffee and espresso (please americans, this is your weak spot) but the coffee here in the morning was so good we had a second mug. Great value for money, do not hestitate in booking the place and ignore other peoples complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Chatham Motel. I have no complaints about the room. It was very clean and looked newly renovated. Housekeeping was very prompt every day. The only negative which really wasn't a big deal, was our assigned parking spot had an overgrown bush on the passenger side making it impossible to open the door once parked, especially since the people next to the driver side door had a huge oversized truck. But that wouldn't deter me from returning. The price was right and I would highly recommend the Chatham Motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was worried about booking a motel and I have never been to Cape cod so I had no idea where or what to book. I think I made a great choice! The location is convenient in the sense that it's on the main street. Although, it's not exactly walking distance to the downtown. You need a car or a bike to get around, but I love this place because it's super clean and very quaint. I almost feel like it's right from the 50's with the panle walls and bulit in bottle opener in the wall! The bed spread is a nice cotton quilt whice feels so homey. It's very simeple. The TV is small. There is no iron or board in the room. There is a fridge. But it's very clean and there are three windows, the staff is friendly and helpful and the grounds are cottagy and lovely. Chatham is a great location as it's quaint and charming and a good centre point for all the activities you may want to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatham Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatham Motel

Address: 1487 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#4 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chatham Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatham Motel provides you with the opportunity to enjoy a Chatham vacation in an atmosphere of beauty and quaintness that you expect from a small fishing village on Cape Cod. Here, away from the busy in-town activity, you are surrounded by colorful gardens and landscaped grounds. The Chatham Motel is within 1.5 miles to local restaurants, beaches, bike trails, and the downtown shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chatham Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatham Hotel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatham Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.