We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot and surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge to your Saves list
Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   70 Queen Anne Road, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denman Island, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely spot and surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a lovely room which was bright overlooking the garden and swimming pool. A lot of care was taken with the garden as a gardener was thereeach day. The rooms overlooking the garden had balconies with various types of furniture. ( I think they were replacing the balcony furniture slowly) Our wicker furniture on the balcony was ready for replacement)
There breakfast provided was good and served at the table by very pleasent staff. All the staff were very friendly and would do anything to help.
The location was good with a grocery store for buying lunches just down the road, a laundremat and the town all within walking distance. Lots of restaurant and a cinema in the town.

Room Tip: Pick a garden room as the ones facing the road although quite have no outside seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAI-Management, Manager at Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. It's wonderful to hear you had an all-around pleasant stay with us. I'm especially glad that you enjoyed our garden—we take a lot of pride in it. We are also in the process of updating our balcony furniture, as you noted. (My apologies that yours had seen better days.)

Thanks again for sharing your experience. If you ever return to Chatham, we'd love to welcome you back.

All the best,

Petya Feeney
Innkeeper-Manager
Queen Anne Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    44
    24
    14
    11
See reviews for
39
90
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here with a groupon and got a good rate for the romantic garden room. The service was wonderful, the breakfast excellent. I have dietary issues that the staff of the inn was very happy to accommodate, and they did with a smile. The private balcony was especially enjoyable. Our room was spacious with a two sink vanity, lovely sitting area and private balcony. The hand painted murals in the room were lovely.

The only down side was the outdated decor. The bathroom was outdated, the tv has to be 20+ years old (granted in a romantic room you may not want to watch a lot of TV - but...). I think the hardest thing to get past was the very uncomfortable mattress :(, also tired.

Overall the service outshines the rooms, but even with my reduced rate it was still an expensive 2 night stay. For that kind of nightly fee, I wish it had been a little less tired decor and a much newer mattress.

But overall, we would stay again, the staff was that friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The garden side rooms face the back side of the house and have balconies. The street that the inn is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAI-Management, Manager at Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Although I'm pleased to hear you were impressed with our service, Susan, I'm sorry you didn't have the 5-star experience we aim to deliver. Thanks for the constructive criticism—we'll certainly take it into consideration as we make future updates and improvements. Hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again someday!

All the best,

Petya Feeney
Innkeeper-Manager
Queen Anne Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights between New York and Boston. All the staff were friendly, helpful and available. It is a good location, a short walk to the main street of shops and restaurants, and altho the weather wasn't quite warm enough for us to use, the pool looked lovely. It is an original timber framed building so allowances have to be made ie creaky floors, little soundproofing, etc. However that does not excuse the thin contract carpet in the hallways, 1960's decor and spot lights, splap dash paint work, cracks in the sink, etc. We had continental breakfast which was a choice of fruit salad, yoghurt OR cereal plus a plate of toast and cakes brought to your table - there was no choice. If you wanted fruit AND yoghurt you had to pay extra. No coffee making facilities in room which nowadays is standard and no iron in room or to borrow - they would press items for a charge. All in all not good value, given the price we paid for the room it all felt just a bit penny pinching.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAI-Management, Manager at Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us some constructive criticism. We want to give our guests an all-around enjoyable stay, and we'll certainly look into making some upgrades to shake the "tired" feeling you describe. If you're ever back in Chatham and are up for giving us another chance, we'd love to host you again.

All the best,

Petya Feeney
Innkeeper-Manager
Queen Anne Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becket, MA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having read the recent reviews I wonder if we just hit it wrong with this Inn. The front desk staff were not friendly and helpful - and often not even there. The lobby coffee - supposedly available from 7-8 am was not ready till almost 7:30 am our first morning. The wait staff in the restaurant were friendly and provided good service. I would rate the food as average though...with no local or homegrown ingredients often found at Inns. The room was adequate but there were no plastic laundry bags nor ironing board/iron. I understand if the age of the Inn may prohibit in room irons, but a note regarding the availablity of such might have been nice. We had to call twice after making the reservation to get an email confirmation several days after our booking. We didn't feel the Inn was run very efficiently and I agree with other reviewers.....seen better days. It was adequate but didn't make me want to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAI-Management, Manager at Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I'm sorry you had a lukewarm experience with us. We aim to run our hotel as efficiently as possible, so it's disappointing to hear you found fault with our service. Thanks for letting me know about the coffee and front desk situation. I'll have a word with my team about being more prompt and available. Please note that the only time they are not at the desk is when they are assisting other guests. We try to e-mail confirmations to our guests promptly. If you recall, there was unfortunately a typo in your e-mail address, which was corrected and a new confirmation followed immediately!
Even though I wish you'd enjoyed your stay more, I appreciate your candid feedback. If you're ever back in the area and up for giving us another chance, we'd love to host you again.

All the best,

Petya Feeney
Innkeeper-Manager
Queen Anne Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our son was married on 9/8 so my husband and I and several family and friends stayed at the QAI for several nights. This was our first experience staying in the Cape Cod area - specifically Chatham and we were very satisfied. The Inn has that historical feel that one would expect for the area without sacrificing cleanliness and affordability. The staff is outstanding and did their absolute best in accommodating our needs. Yes, there are things that were in disrepair but with a little work I'm sure they can be improved. Our stay was very comfortable and a great location to the main part of the city. Very easy to walk to. Thanks to the staff and especially Joanie who made us feel welcome and very special. We hope to be back some day.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAI-Management, Manager at Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for the glowing review. "The Inn has that historical feel that one would expect for the area without sacrificing cleanliness and affordability"—that perfectly describes what we strive to achieve. Thank you once again for sharing that special time with all of us and I look forward to hosting you again in the future.

All the best,

Petya Feeney
Innkeeper-Manager
Queen Anne Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The customer service at the Queen Anne is wonderful. We stayed for one night, as we attended a wedding in Chatham. No other B+B in town would allow a one night stay, so we were excited to find this one. The email communication was very prompt and complete. We were even allowed an early check in, so that we could prepare for the wedding. They could not have been nicer.

That being said, as other reviews have noted, this seems to have once been a high class establishment that has slowly fallen into disrepair. Our room was very clean and tidy but smelled musty, after opening the windows and blasting the air conditioning, the smell went away. The linens were all clean and smelled fresh. The bathroom however had peeling wallpaper and a rusty drain in the sink. I know it is a "historic" hotel but I think the guest experience would be greatly improved with fixing up these smaller items.

Breakfast was good and included in the room price, although that wasn't entirely made clear to us. They could stand to upgrade their coffee offering. It was of low quality, as it is in a lit of the Cape, but the rest of the food was good. For the price you would hope for mugs instead of styrofoam cups and some local and or organic ingredients.

The grounds were neat and well manicured.

I would totally stay here again with the great hope that the owners will pay attention to the reviews and fix up where needed. It is a good inn that could easily be great with a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAI-Management, Manager at Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad your overall stay was pleasant, and I appreciate your suggestions for improvement. We will certainly look into fixing the minor issues you mentioned. As you pointed out, we are a historic hotel, but that doesn't mean we can't make some updates. Hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back and show you a 5-star experience someday!
PS: By the way, Styrofoam cups are only offered at the self serve coffee station where guests help themselves to some to-go coffee. I hope you had a chance to enjoy our fine china in the dining room.

All the best,

Petya Feeney
Innkeeper-Manager
Queen Anne Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Okay so we stayed at the QAI for 3 nights and though the charm of the hotel being old was nice i certainly feel that a major upgrade is required to many obvious minor repairs with little money and dedicated time this hotel would get it's 5 star rating...

So now for the great bits very welcoming reception superb retaurant staff excellent food and overall one of my best cutomer service experiences ever for an inn will I be back yes however I do hope they spend the off season walking around each room and tidying up the minor repairs PLEASE.....

Room Tip: Go for the Balcony rooms minus the hot tub spacious and airy.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAI-Management, Manager at Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for the review, Romeo. I'm delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, and I appreciate your constructive criticism. What "obvious minor repairs" are you referring to? If you can elaborate, please don't hesitate to give us a call. We're always open to suggestions for improvement.

All the best,

Petya Feeney
Innkeeper-Manager
Queen Anne Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.2 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#1 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
7.6 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Hawthorne Motel
Hawthorne Motel
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 10 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge

Address: 70 Queen Anne Road, Chatham, MA 02633
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Anne Inn Café & Lounge is one of Cape Cod's most beautiful full service inns. Named after Queen Anne of England, the inn is located in Chatham, MA, a picturesque fishing village on the outer Cape Cod. This over 165 year-old building was transformed to a traditional inn in the 1800’s. We are proud to be New England’s oldest continually operated inn, offering a historic setting combined with modern amenities to create a romantic ambience.We have everything you’ll need under one roof, with more activities available at your fingertips. The relaxing environment at the inn is made up of a dedicated staff, delightful rooms, a very private restaurant with an excellent chef and a large garden with a sparkling pool, exercise room and private Massage Sanctuary. Guests can also experience everything the beautiful town of Chatham has to offer. Whether you want to relax at the nearby children friendly beach, go on a biking or fishing adventure, stroll through the shops on Main Street or take a day trip to Martha’s Vineyard, Chatham offers something for everyone year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne Hotel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Anne Inn Cafe & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.