We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chatham Gables Inn to your Saves list
Chatham Gables Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   364 Old Harbor Road, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CALL INN FOR BEST RATES
Ranked #2 of 10 Chatham B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I just spent our honeymoon in Cape Cod and I chose Chatham Gables inn based on personal recommendations and the positive reviews online. I could not have been more pleased. We stayed in 3 bed and breakfasts during our time and this was by far our favorite. The room was immaculate, the breakfast was fantastic, and the hospitality put a smile on our faces after every encounter. Brian sat down with us one morning and went over a map of everything we would want to do in Chatham. He even made reservations for us! Where else do you get that kind of service? We are still looking for a place in Chicago where we can get as good a breakfast as we got from Natalie. If there is a room available you better book it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7. It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
275
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

we just spent 2 nights here. Brian and Nick are very helpful and great hosts. The house and the garden is really nice - quality thoughout, extra points for a real good bed! We felt very welcome here, and can highly recommend the place- and Chatham.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We just returned from an amazing week in Cape Cod, both Nantucket and Chatham. Chatham is a great, central location from which to explore the Cape Cod area, with fabulous beaches, shopping, restaurants, biking, etc. Our time there was certainly special because of our stay at the Chatham Gables Inn. We loved everything about this inn, from the beautiful room with a private patio, to the luxurious bedding. But the highlight for sure is that Brian and Nick are amazing hosts. They cannot do enough for their guests. Brian's plans for our daily activities, and restaurants for the evening were always spot on, for our tastes. They even tried to give us their table at a busy restaurant so that we wouldn't have to wait online.
They are gracious, knowledgable and fun loving hosts and they make sure that all their guests are having a great time. AND they make great blueberry muffins!! We could have stayed another week gladly; we will be back!

Room Tip: Room 1 is very large, with a fireplace, seating area and private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at the Chatham Gables Inn for an anniversary celebration/get away on a less than great weekend from a weather standpoint. Although the weather wasn't great there is lots to do in the area from shopping to dinning, great beaches, historical sites and the fantastic rail trail for biking (pedal). Chatham center shopping is a 10 minute walk from the Inn or less by car. There is plenty of public parking downtown. We arrived on a Friday evening without dinner reservations and ate at a church supper downtown before the open air concert on the town green. Fun and folksy thing to do.

The Inn is newly renovated with nice appointments. We stayed in room #4 which I think is the Inn's smallest room. It was still adequate for a couple. Pictures on their website are truly representative of the facilities. I especially enjoyed the flat screen TV for catching updates on the Olympics. The entire Inn in extremely clean. It is furnished with antiques and contemporary furnishings in the chic minimalist style (clean, simple, not overdone). The sound proofing in the Inn must be very good because while the Inn was fully booked, I only heard the floor creak once the whole time we were there. It was very quiet and private.

We've stayed at many Inns/B&B, each has its own personality. Some facilitate guests mingling and getting to know each other. This Inn has very small common areas that don't really seem to encourage guests mingling. There is so much to do in the area that guests were out and about doing their own things. If you are looking for a place that doesn't require you to rub elbows with the other guests this is a great private get away. The Inn keepers are extremely friendly and are willing to share with you their experiences of starting their Inn business. They are also in the real estate business and are knowledgeable about that aspect of the community and are a great reference for places to eat and things to do.

Beach towels and chairs were available (no need to load the car with these items).

Breakfast was great, made to order eggs, fruit salad, pancakes, french toast and plenty of coffee.
There is a small refrig. for guests to store their own cooler items.

Room Tip: check out the pictures of each room on their website. Multiple views avaiable of each room. Althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to travel to Chatham for the first time and decided to stay at the Chatham Gables Inn because of online reviews. We were not disappointed at all and the only regret we have is not staying longer! Brian and Nick are incredibly personable and friendly and you can tell that they have inherent joy and pride in the Inn. Brian was very helpful about recommending different eating locations and things to do. The location is excellent as well and less than a 5 minute drive away from Main St and beaches. It was so nice to wake up in a comfortable bed with beautiful furnishings listening to the birds chirp and walking into the main common area with fresh Hydrangeas and other flowers from the garden. The breakfast was superb as well - very tasty.

The service and friendliness of the Inn is what makes the Chatham Gables Inn a stand-out Inn. We both felt warmly welcomed and embraced by Brian and Nick and reflect on the Inn with warm regard and comfort. We are planning to visit Chatham again in the future, hopefully with another couple, and will definitely be staying at the Chatham Gables Inn. However, next time we will be visiting for much longer!

Room Tip: Room two was lovely with a private entrance. Although a little smaller, it is not something that I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

The decor is tasteful and inviting. Our room was simple and elegant, immaculate and quiet. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful. The pancakes in particular are some of the best we've had, and the coffee is rich and flavorful. Brian's and Nick's knowledge of the surrounding environs and their ability to shape the visit based on one's interest make them masferful innkeepers. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at the Chatham Gables Inn last week and had a wonderful stay. The room was lovely, clean, and very comfortable. The proximity to town and the ocean was also great. Can't say enough great things about Brian and Nick and their hospitality. They were both super nice and helpful, which made our stay a pleasure. Also, who can forget breakfast! Very tasty. My favorite was the blueberry pancakes. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatham Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Gables Inn

Address: 364 Old Harbor Road, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatham Gables Inn, Chatham's most beautifully-restored sea captain's mansion, boasting authentic Nantucket charm & hospitality, is a gorgeous award winning SELECT REGISTRY boutique inn located within walking distance to Chatham's historic downtown village and incredible beaches. Chatham Gables Inn, Chatham's premiere adult luxury property is one of the prestigious BED & BREAKFAST DIAMOND COLLECTION, and winner of the 2011 Chatham Preservation Award. Named "Fodor's Choice" for all hotels in Chatham, this classic New England inn features superior service, luxury spa amenities, bountiful breakfast, and a peacefully beautiful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Chatham Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Gables Hotel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.