We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's House Inn to your Saves list
Captain's House Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   369 Old Harbor Road, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 10 Chatham B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have stayed at the Captain's House Inn many times over the past 20 years, and it only gets better with time. Every room in which we have stayed is outstanding, breakfast is divine, the location can't be beat, and Jill and James are a delight. The Chatham Bars Inn offers wonderful spa services, clambake, outdoor drinks and dinner--and very expensive and plain rooms. Staying at The Captain's House makes the best of both worlds possible. Our only reticence in strongly recommending it is that it will not be available next time we go there!

Room Tip: look at the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It is a huge compliment to welcome guests back again and again. Thank you for your continued business and taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    51
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
600
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We attended a family member's wedding held here and occupied several rooms. Everything was perfect - our rooms, our meals, the ceremony, and most definitely, the staff and service provided. Breakfast was excellent and the afternoon tea and treats were appreciated.

This is an older inn; that's its beauty and charm. It wasn't built yesterday so the floors may occasionally creak. Every room is different so choose wisely depending on your needs. All are very convenient to the main house and airy, sunlit dining area. Our room, Tradewinds (Carriage House) was large and comfortable. The tub was wonderful! The room has a working gas stove. The Whirlwind (Carriage House) was also both spacious and cozy with a working gas fireplace. Both rooms had a flatscreen television and Internet access. Parking is off-street, on the premises. The grounds are beautiful.

What sets this inn apart is the service. The owners and staff members go out of their way to help and assist.

Check the inn's web site for rate specials; in the off-season, you can really find a deal!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. It means a lot to us when guests take the time to write about their experiences as so many people use Trip Advisor as their main travel tool...myself included! And thank you for mentioning a possible off season visit to others - we are open year round and are always eager to stir up some winter business. Our winter rates are a great deal and occasionally we run specials. Thanks again and hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

What a glorious place to stay!
We booked to stay 3 days over the weekend on our road trip round New England.
When booking the Inn the owners spent the time on the phone asking our preference of rooms and whether we required a Jacuzzi bath etc. We decided that this was unnecessary to our needs as we were going to be travelling the area and probably not likely to be in the room for any length of time. They gave us the Hannah Rebecca room on the ground floor of the main house. The room was just lovely, though if you're watching TV there is a post that hinders the view from the right side of the bed!! Hey ho, not very important. This inn is in fabulous Chatham (I think the loveliest place to stay in Cape Cod) and is absolutely amazing. Jill & James (the owners) are always on hand and have exceptional help from their lovely British interns who help run the hotel. As we arrived we were told that the kitchen is open to all guests and that you can serve yourself tea/coffee at any time. Afternoon tea is served in the dining room. The homemade cakes and biscuits are absolutely yummy! I only drink tea and the selection was amazing! Breakfast in the morning is buffet style with a hot entrée that was absolutely delicious - pancakes, waffles etc.
Arriving back from dinner on the first night we went into the DVD library and borrowed a film. There is always a carafe of sweet sherry and port - what a lovely touch. The second night after dinner cookies and tea were available in the kitchen.
Also items such as bottles of water are free of charge which I think is a great touch as I always feel that I'm being ripped off when it comes to paying for water (especially Fiji in the States!).
Having been on the road for a week, we decided to spend Sunday morning by the pool - oh my what a treat. Wonderfully comfortable loungers with water on tap in the fitness room.
They recommended restaurants for us - thought of absolutely everything.
Can I recommend this Inn - of course I can - it's amazing and I wish that it was situated in Chatham UK where I would have a chance of at least going very soon!! By the way the grounds are just lovely and patio breakfast eating fab.
Thanks Jill & James et all - This was a truly perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
What a great way to start the day by reading your lovely review. Thank you very much for taking the time to do this. We're glad you enjoyed everything we offer at the inn. Sorry about the bed post issue! I thought when you pull the TV out far enough on the slider in the cupboard and swivel it, that it solved the problem, but I'll have to take another look. At any rate, many thanks for your kind words. We appreciate you sharing your positive experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lambert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We enjoyed our previous stay so much last fall that we decided to return to this fantastic inn in Chatham. We spent five days in the Wild Hunter room and enjoyed every minute of it. This room is spacious, luminous and very pretty. We also enjoyed a private patio overlooking the nice garden. The bathroom provides a large walk-in shower and a jacusi bath overlooking the garden. Splendid! The toilet and sink are conveniently located in another little room.

Breakfast was exceptional every morning and service so convivial and efficient. We appreciated a special touch from Jill and the staff on our wedding anniversary : we found an hand-written card accompanied with a platter of delicious goodies. What a nice surprise!

We enjoyed Chatham even more this year by taking long walks to the Pier and the village. The restaurants we experienced following recommendations and reservations by Jill were all excellent.

We are already thinking of going back next year...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for returning to visit again. It is nice to see Chatham and the inn in different seasons. We are glad you enjoyed your summer visit with us and all the restaurants and activities that Chatham has to offer. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was the most amazing one year anniversary trip and it is all due to captains house and Jill and James the inn owners. From the moment we arrived, our stay was incredible. We stayed in the garden room which I would highly reccomend. It is attached to the main house but has a private door and patio which we loved. The website said it was their smallest room but it was plenty big for 2 people. The bathroom was also huge and renovated with a shower big enough for two people as well. Everyday our room was cleaned and re stocked. At the end of the night our sheets were turned down with chocolates, the breakfast menu for the next day, weather and coffee service. Each day chef Kevin made a 5 star breakfast that was unbelieveable. It lasted us until dinner. They also had a 3-5pm tea and then 630-10pm snack time. The staff didn't stop asking us what they could do for us and did we need anything. It was perfect. The grounds are also beautiful and immaculate. The pool was lovely and there is a gym if you need it. The inn is also located 5 minute drive, 1 mile walk from downtown chatham. It is in the center of the cape which makes exploring very easy. We did a day trip to Martha's Vineyard that Jill helped us plan. She also told us where the parking lot was a head of time and if she hadn't, we would have gone right to the dock and had to turn around and probably miss our boat. I will say it 100x over- stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room. While it was amazing, if you are over 6'2, it may not be the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review! We're so glad we were able to make your one year anniversary celebration special. Kevin will be thrilled with your glowing breakfast comments - he really puts on a show. And based on our food discussions and the very thorough restaurant map you shared with me (thank you - love it!), I know you appreciate all things culinary! We hope to see you again and once again, many thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We decided we would like to stay at the Captain's House Inn last year for our first trip to Cape Cod. Unfortunately, we waited too late last summer and were unable to book so we made our plans early this year. From the minute we called to make a reservation in February until checkout last week every experience with the staff and owners was just right. Upon reserving a room, they suggested an alternate to the suite we originally requested based on our desires and we are very glad they did. It is hard to add anything of substance to all the previous compliments. As said so many times before, the service is impeccable, the breakfasts (and the outside patio seating) great, the room perfect and the grounds so very enjoyable Our suite (Clarissa) offered everything necessary for a wonderful, relaxing stay, including a delightful bed, sitting room, fireplace, hot tub, bath and light, lots of light. And unlike most high end properties we have stayed at, we weren't nickeled and dimed for such small items as bottles of water, tea and snacks.Even when purchasing a beer or bottle of wine, the prices were not inflated at all. We stayed for four nights and it wasn't nearly enough to enjoy all the pleasures of the property. Since it was our first visit to the Cape, we spent a lot of time exploring. Chatham proved to be the ideal location for us. I just can't imagine a better place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Clarissa. Great size with sitting room and very bright and sunny bedroom. Fireplace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are honored that you waited to stay with us for your first visit to Chatham. That is a huge compliment. We're glad you enjoyed the Clarissa Suite we recommended - I, too, love the light! Also glad you found value in the extras we offer. We recently got our wine and beer license and intentionally priced our selections competitively with liquor stores so guests have the convenience of enjoying beverages in their rooms without having to drive to make their purchases. Nice to know our guests are finding our prices fair and convenient. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have been coming to the Captain's House Inn quite regularly for about three decades - yes, it's that wonderful. We don't come every year, but only because we are sometimes elsewhere during our favorite week for the Cape. We always stay in the same room, because we love it so much. This inn is perfectly positioned, just far enough away from the center of town to avoid the crush of pedestrians during high season, yet close enough to easily walk to the center of town for lunch or a couple hours of leisurely shopping. We have a favorite route along Shore Road, then looping inland on Bridge Street and back into town, then back up Shore Road, that gives us a five-mile walk through beautiful scenery every morning. It is especially wonderful to walk this at sunrise, watching the sun pop above the horizon while walking along Shore Road. Breakfasts at the inn are always delicious, with plenty of options to please everyone. The staff are extremely attentive and helpful. We are now on our third set of owners, and while they all have different approaches, they all continue the tradition of exceptional service and quality. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Now here's a dedicated guest! We are so honored that you have continued to stay with us over and over - it is truly the best compliment we can ask for. The Shore Road loop is one of our favorite walks too. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us - and for you continued business - we really appreciate that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Inn

Address: 369 Old Harbor Road, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most distinctive Cape Cod bed and breakfast, the Captain's House Inn is regarded by many respected lodging reviewers as perhaps "The Cape's" finest small inn. This four-diamond sea captain's estate on two acres in Chatham, Massachusetts is the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or a peaceful retreat from the workaday world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Captain's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.