We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Relaxation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's House Inn to your Saves list
Captain's House Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   369 Old Harbor Road, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 10 Chatham B&B and Inns
RI
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Comfort and Relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We just spent a long weekend at the Captain's House Inn and can"t wait to go back. We enjoy the Cape during the quiet season and the weather was perfect! The inn was warm and inviting and the staff so helpful! We stayed in Eliza Jane which had a nice, deep jacuzzi. I loved that our room was made up while we were at breakfast- such a great touch. Speaking of food- from the bountiful breakfast to afternoon tea to evening sweets, everything was beautifully presented and wonderful. During the winter months there is a crock of soup on for guests and both days the soup was terrific. Loved Kelly's curried apple soup! The inn is immaculately clean and each room is different. Jill greeted each guest at breakfast in the morning and recommended places to explore and dine. All the staff are so welcoming and helpful. We will be back!

Room Tip: Eliza Jane has a nice, deep jacuzzi and a small sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I, too, love the Eliza Jane Suite. It is cozy, but so charming and you could get lost on that Jacuzzi tub. You were some of our first guests to enjoy our new complimentary soup so we're glad it was a hit for you. Our interns have been hard at work coming up with recipes and working on the logistics of soup service and so far, it has been well received - just what guests are looking for when they return from a brisk walk on the beach. We hope to see you on a future visit - I know you are new empty nesters, so take advantage of this time...you earned it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    51
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
600
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Captain's House Inn for 2 nights and this was our first experience of staying in a B&B (so everything from now on has to meet our extremely high expectations).

James and Jill and their wonderful team of English Hospitality Interns, Jamaican Cleaners (who we did catch cleaning our room oops - sorry girls we came back early from breakfast) and the Chefs/Kitchen Staff and Gardeners should all be commended as they work together to make your stay such a memorable one.

We were warmly welcomed and shown around the common areas of the property, then taken to our room, Whirlwind. We were offered help with our luggage that we were not expecting being a B&B, which was lovely.

Our room was just like the picture on the website, albeit better. There was a plate of freshly made cookies with a blue ribbon wrapped around it in a bow. Such a lovely touch! We had an open gas fire in the room, which was a lovely after a late afternoon stroll on the beach. There was a little basket of goodies, such as Cape Cod Crisps and water in the room also.

The bathroom was a little small and I am not sure if you laid in the bath that you could actually see the garden as it states on the website, but it was functional and very clean so that is probably more important. There was really lovely shower gels, shampoos, conditioners and moisturiser in the bathroom, along with with make up remover sachets and a black face cloth to wash your make up off with. Brilliant idea! Towels were lovely and soft and bright white, just what I like.

Our bed was fitted with beautifully soft, silky linens and the pillows were plump and comfy. I loved the little steps up to our 4 poster bed. There was a turn down service which was wonderful after we returned after our evenings out. Lights were dimmed, bed linen folded back with robes laid beautifully on the bed and Lindt mint chocolates too! How spoilt did we feel! We were also left a copy of the breakfast menu for the next day and a early morning tea/coffee service which will be delivered to your room (and it was - perfectly to time as well).

Breakfast and Afternoon Tea are served in the Conservatory which looks over the well maintained gardens of the Inn. It is bright, sunny and warm (and so is the service from the staff). We were treated to some outstanding seasonal breakfasts, including pumpkin pancakes and fruit crepes. There was also smoked salmon with capers, selections of fruit, breads, croissants, and homemade muffins along with local conserves. This filled us up till afternoon tea most days. Afternoon tea was scones, jam and cream along with a selection of homemade cakes.

In the evening there are refreshments sent up in the kitchen, more wonderful biscuits to tempt you with….

The Library in the common area was warm and inviting and there was also Port and Sherry in there for a wee drink. It also contained the computers and printer if you needed them. There was also a powder room located close by. I enjoyed the fact that you could walk by the kitchen and see where everything was happening. There was also a little shop with a nice selection of Captain's Inn items to purchase.

The staff are very knowledgeable of the area - places to eat and places to see. There are also directional cards that you can take to help you find your way, along with maps, brochures and magazines of the area.

We would thoroughly recommend the Captain's House Inn to anyone who was thinking about staying there, just do it… you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I would suggest an upstairs room, noticed there was a little noise from other occupants upstairs wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Many thanks for writing such a thorough and complimentary review. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and felt pampered and spoiled. That's exactly our goal and how you should feel when you're on a vacation! We get a number of guests who are new to bed and breakfast lodging since there are not many other options in the Chatham area. We consistently hear from them that they are now sold on the concept and prefer the personal touches and added value to traditional hotels to which they are accustomed. We are glad to make you a convert and we hope you enjoy other B&B's as much as you did ours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, MA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

In case there is anyone out there who is still debating a stay at the Captain's House Inn, I would say "Just do it!" You won't regret the decision -- except it may forever ruin your experience at any other B&B. We were back for what is becoming a tradition -- celebrating a birthday in Chatham and at the Captain's House. We stayed in the Intrepid on our first visit and loved it; this time our two nights were in Wild Pigeon. You climb the narrow winding steps and discover a hidden gem at the top -- Wild Pigeon! The room is huge with two separate seating areas -- one by the fireplace, the other facing the TV. Really, you could entertain in this room!

Breakfast both days was both beautifully presented and delicious. The staff is friendly and so competent that you hardly notice them busy at work. Jill makes the rounds to greet her guests and make sure they are comfortable and happy. I would definitely nominate Jill and Jim as Innkeepers of the Year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your wonderful comments. We love the title of your review - very clever! Wild Pigeon is a great room - it feels very spacious with the sunken sitting area and high beamed ceilings. We're glad you enjoyed it. It was so nice to see you again and I'm glad your birthday celebration was everything you wanted it to be. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIC, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Second stay. Perfect again. From the English hospitality exchange students, the Jamaican housekeeping elves (whom you never see, but spit shine the rooms whilst you're at breakfast), to Chef Kevin and innkeepers Jill and James- the Captain's House Inn is someplace truly special. Our only mistake: we didn't come back sooner after our wedding there nearly 5 years ago. You'll eat well at breakfast, drink and eat well again at tea, and sleep well in any if the individually appointed rooms. Clarissa the first stay. Lady Mariah this stay. Looking forward to either the masculine Hiram Harding or enormous Lydia Harding in April. Lots to do up and down the Cape... Or just veg in your room with a movie. They have earned each of their four stars. Go and you will see why.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users! We love the title of your review, as unstuffy, yet luxurious is exactly what we strive for. We want guests to feel comfortable, yet pampered and we work hard to achieve this balance. It was so nice to see one of our wedding couples return for an anniversary. We're glad we have become a special place for you and look forward to your return in April!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felsted, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in the Captain's House Inn while visiting the Cape for the fall. Jill and her staff made our short stay a very enjoyable one, the "girls" where great and helped us with directions, ideas and places to eat, we loved the fact that they were English and learning how service should be whilst they finish their University courses . we stayed in Wild Pigeon, which was lovely and full of character, including steps up to that wonderfully comfy bed!
Breakfast was amazing and having the menu the night before just made chosing even more difficult :)
Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Our guests, whether they are from the U.S., UK, or elsewhere, love chatting with our British interns about their experiences here in the States. Their accents and eagerness to please add an unexpected positive element to guests' experiences and we're happy you enjoyed speaking with them. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I decided to get away for the weekend for an early 20th anniversary celebration and chose to stay at the Captain's House Inn. We stayed in Lady Mariah. The "dream bathroom" with the vanity & sink, double whirlpool, and gas fireplace was lovely & spacious. The small washroom (toilet, sink, and stall shower) was indeed small as other reviews had forewarned. But, the rest of the room more than made up for it. Room amenities included complimentary bottled water and juice, and some snacks.

The breakfasts were delicious, and though there were only two entrees on the menu each day, they had no problems accommodating modifications. The afternoon tea should not be missed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we agree - the Lady Mariah room, particularly the whirlpool room make up for the smaller shower room - though even that has its own charm. We hope to see you - and feed you - on a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the Inn and were totally awed by the accommodations. Our room, the Wild Pigeon, was perfect. The fireplace added a nice touch on a cool fall evening. The breakfast and afternoon tea were were delicious and nicely served in a garden view sunroom. The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming and attentive to our needs. They had excellent suggestions for dining and preprinted directions to all major attractions making your time there all the more relaxing. The grounds and rooms are impeccable and offer all the comforts of home. This is by far the nicest Inn/B&B we have ever stayed. One more thing....the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in...from the soft sheets to huggable pillows...aaahhh....thanks for the enjoyable stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We receive countless positive comments about our sheets - in fact, I sold four sets today! One guest said she didn't think she could sleep on anything else...ever! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Inn

Address: 369 Old Harbor Road, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most distinctive Cape Cod bed and breakfast, the Captain's House Inn is regarded by many respected lodging reviewers as perhaps "The Cape's" finest small inn. This four-diamond sea captain's estate on two acres in Chatham, Massachusetts is the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or a peaceful retreat from the workaday world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Captain's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.