We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's House Inn to your Saves list
Captain's House Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   369 Old Harbor Road, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Generous hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Chose to stay here because we liked the look of the rooms (antiques and log fires) and the prices were good early season. The generosity of our hosts was exceptional. Complimentary afternoon tea, drinks and cookies in the evening, a full breakfast in the morning, drinks in the room made it all tremendous value. The rooms were better than the photographs as well, which together with the friendly, welcoming atmosphere made us feel like we had found a real gem.

Room Tip: The lower priced rooms are very cosy and comfortable. We stayed in Whirlwind which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    52
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
616
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roxbury, Ct.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent our 23 wedding anniversary at The Captains House and was completely satisfied with all the arrangements. Our Room , The Clarissa Room was neatly appointed with a beautiful 4 poster bed. Not sure how they got it in the room as it was huge. The sheets were like silk and Nancy got the names so she could order some. Food was great and the staff were professionally trained. We enjoyed talking with all including Jill. It was a short walk to the beach which we really enjoyed.

Room Tip: We chose the Clarissa suite because it had 3 sides of windows in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I just returned from a long weekend with friends. We had two rooms in the lovely coach house of the Captain's House Inn. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the service is great, the grounds are perfectly manicured, the food is delicious, the amenities are numerous, and the innkeepers (we met Jill twice at breakfast) and the staff are so accommodating, well-informed and interested in providing the best possible experience. I wouldn't consider any other place in Chatham after such a positive experience.

Room Tip: I really think all of the rooms offer the same level of service and great amenities. My room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, RI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We spent two days & nights at the property and had a marvelous time. The property was very clean, the staff was attentative, and the food was outstanding. We reserved afternoon tea for our arrival and it was one of the most delicious teas we ever had. The room was very romantic with its fireplace and european shower. Both breakfasts were scrumptuous. Thank you for a wonderful anniversary.

Room Tip: The room we chose was the Hannah Rebecca room on the first floor. Because of illness we found this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We visited this wonderful Inn in April, so it was out of season and a little quiet. However, the quality of service was still exceptional and we didn't feel like facilities had been trimmed back at all despite fewer guests. The staff had great local knowledge, were helpful, and very welcoming. Our room was fantastic, the bathroom alone was bigger than most rooms you get elsewhere, with an enormous jacuzzi bath. Thanks to fantastic unseasonable weather we had a lovely stay in the area and would recommend it to anyone. Breakfast was incredible and had extensive options for all tastes. Good offers out of season on accommodation.

Room Tip: Eliza Jane room is beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We can second most of the tripadvisor reviews. We spent two April days in this beautiful spot. Excellent, service oriented. Loved the morning coffee delivery. Breakfast was excellent, with an egg dish, a pancake or waffle, and an oatmeal offered. Afternoon tea was delightful. The British hotel management students great fun to chat with and they make a terrific pot of tea. There is tea, coffee and goodies in the kitchen at night as well. These are old buildings, if you are a light sleeper choose an upstairs room so you don't have someone walking about above you. Not an inn for those who want to mingle with other guests. Very private spaces, even in the garden there are only two chairs in each area. You can walk into town for dinner (about 1 mile), but don't do it after dark, as there are no sidewalks part of the way.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We love the Cape in the spring and there is no place better to enjoy a long weekend than at the Captain's House Inn. This is our second stay and it exceeded our memory of the wonderfull first visit. Our room with it's fireplace, wonderful furnishings and unexpected niceities (such as replenished snacks and drinks and a makeup kit for my wife) was only bested by the attentive and well trained staff and the tone and beauty of the dinning and common rooms in the Inn. We felt that we were special guests. The tea and the breakfast were beyond discription. Chatham (If you can or want to get out of town) is well positioned on the Cape to enjoy antiquing, beaches, dinning and enjoying the vestiges of the "Old Cape"
This is the Cape experience at it's very best.

Gary H

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Inn

Address: 369 Old Harbor Road, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most distinctive Cape Cod bed and breakfast, the Captain's House Inn is regarded by many respected lodging reviewers as perhaps "The Cape's" finest small inn. This four-diamond sea captain's estate on two acres in Chatham, Massachusetts is the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or a peaceful retreat from the workaday world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Captain's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.