We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A phenomenal stop on any Cape Cod trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge

Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge
Wikis Way, on Morris Island, Chatham, MA MA 02633
508 945 0594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 34 things to do in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birdwatchers flock to this Cape Cod wildlife habitat with a special emphasis on migratory birds.
Cape Cod, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A phenomenal stop on any Cape Cod trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge is a great spot to visit near to Chatham, MA. On Morris Island, the nearest location on foot to Monomoy Island, it has educational opportunities within the information center, a nice, short walking trail down to the beach, and has public restrooms. Great for bird watching and you're likely to catch a glimpse of some sealife too!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    18
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nature at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recent increases in the seal population have resulted in great white sharks during the summer months. Beach walks and seal tours might allow you a glimpse of these creatures.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Follow your GPS -- don't let the "Private Property" signs confuse you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I went here for a hike on the last day of our honeymoon. We were headed for Morris Island, which is the only part of the refuge that is walkable when the ferry isn't running (which is wasn't on a random Friday in September).

We plugged the refuge address into the GPS and away we went. All was going well until Morris Island Road seemed to run out and suddenly we were faced with a GINORMOUS sign that said "Private Property -- No Thru Traffic. Residents Only." This was especially confusing because just prior to this there was a sign that said "Monomoy Island Refuge Next Left." My husband and I were super confused. We noticed a bunch of cars parking along the side of the road and hopping the fence. So we thought "Ok, maybe this is what you do." But there are signs all over THAT land that say "Private Property" and "Beach for residents only."

We called the ranger station but no one answered. Their out going message stated the Refuge would be closed on August 27 due to Hurricane Irene (which was in 2011). This was September 14 2012....

Luckily, earlier in the week we had visited Reed Books in Harwich, and had struck up a delightful conversation with the proprietor. He had told us to visit and hike Monomoy/Morris Island, and to call during the rest of our honeymoon if we had any questions about anything Cape-related. After wandering around Morris Island and NOT being able to figure out where we were supposed to call, I called Mr. Reed, and he basically told me to ignore the first set of Private Property, No Thru traffic signs. Not that there isn't private property beyond them, but it's only a few houses, and the second left is the entrance to the refuge. Beyond THAT is a no-go for non-residents. Thank goodness he had told us to call him, because otherwise we would have missed out on a beautiful hike!

The trail is easy and the scenery is GORGEOUS. We had beautiful weather and walked along the beach for most of the trail, collecting sea shells for our nieces and taking photos. Tip: Visit MOrris Island/Monomoy Refuge after high tide....the beach is small and at high tide it looked like a lot of it would be submerged. Waiting until the tide has receded will give you tons of beach to walk on, and some cool tide pools to explore.

Monomoy/Morris Island is definitely a must visit, but the signs are confusing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

we went at low tide so there was more beach to walk along... the view was fantastic and there were a couple of Osprey who were catching the wind thermals... water was clear and when we went there were not very many tourists, unlike at chatham where it was packed with no parking available

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth a little detour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had hoped to take a ferry over to Monomoy Island so we went to the National Wildlife Refuge. After talking to a ranger, and learning that the ferries were discontinued, we walked the 20 yards to the observation area. What a view. We then went down the very long staircase to the water. You can apparently walk for miles over to Stage Harbor. We hope to do this on our next visit to Chatham. Worth getting off the beach to go see.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.