We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to Spend the Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zoar Outdoor/Deerfield Valley Canopy Tours

Zoar Outdoor/Deerfield Valley Canopy Tours
7 Main Street, Charlemont, MA 01339
800-532-7483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Charlemont
Type: Tours, Sports Complexes
Activities: Kayaking, White-water rafting
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Since 1989, Zoar Outdoor has offered the best in New England white water rafting trips, zip line canopy tours, kayaking clinics, canoeing instruction, rock climbing classes and bike rentals for adventurers of all abilities, from beginners to experts. Based out of our convenient location in the Berkshires in western Massachusetts, Zoar Outdoor river trips, canopy tours and instructional clinics are only 2 hours from Boston and New Haven and just 3 hours from Providence and New York City.
Shawnee, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Way to Spend the Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We did the whitewater rafting trip down the Dryway section of the Deerfield River. Staff was professional and made our trip a great time. Kim our guide was really great and repeatedly made every effort to ensure we were having a good time. This was our first whitewater trip and it will not be our last. The equipment was top notch, clean and new. The snack and meal afterward was a great addition to the day. The only complaint was that it ended too soon, I was ready to go 4 more hours. Thanks to everyone at Zoar, especially Kim.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    13
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Whitewater Rafting Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I went whitewater rafting on the Dryway yesterday. We had an amazing day. The river was beautiful and the rapids were fun after the power companies released water from the dam. Everything ran smoothly. Our guide Bob was awesome. Made a huge difference because we also had 4 other really nice people on our raft. The snack offered on the river was more than we expected. The equipment was all new and clean. The lunch afterwards was surprisingly good and homemade. The weather was a bit cold. They did have wetsuits and jackets for rent. Would definitely recommend this outfitter if you are planning on whitewater rafting in Massachusetts. Try to sit in the front of the raft if you are up for it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fun afternoon for 50 somethings no less”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The charming girls will take great care of you as you zip through the trees! Very comfortable for beginners. If you like the outdoors, it's a great activity.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great zip lining expereince”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great zip line tour. Our guides were great, the staff was great. The zips themselves were super fun. The bridges were ok, I did not like the first one, since it was very wobble and our group was on it all at once. The second bridge was more fun (and I was solo) in my opinion. The rappels / lowers were cool too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great family trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went on a two-day mini vacation with Zoar - ziplines and white water rafting. Everyone in our family, which included two kids ages 12 and 16, my husband and I had a great time! The staff was very friendly, safety conscious but also focused on fun. I would definitely recommend this for others.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoar Outdoor/Deerfield Valley Canopy Tours also viewed

 

Been to Zoar Outdoor/Deerfield Valley Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoar Outdoor/Deerfield Valley Canopy Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zoar Outdoor/Deerfield Valley Canopy Tours to your Saves list