We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Dell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Long Dell Inn to your Saves list
Long Dell Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   436 South Main St., Centerville, MA 02632   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Myself and three friends were travelling around New England and at first look, struggled to find a place to stay in Cape Cod until I found out about the small town of Centerville...I was so pleased I booked the Long Dell Inn.
When driving from Boston to Cape Cod, I knew as soon as I drove down the quiet street of Main St, that I had made the correct decison. The Long Dell Inn is a lovely house, with a lovely and very well maintained lawn. We arrived just in time for the fantastic wine/cheese/snacks hour, so once Kate had shown us to our (lovely) rooms, we tucked in and had a browse through the many leaflets Kate had with activities and places to visit in Cape Cod.
As well as the lovely rooms, quaintness and quiet location of the Inn, Kate adds little extras such as home made cookies in the room, the most informative welcome pack I have ever seen with information on the area, Cape Cod itself and a brilliant suggestive 1 or 2 day itinerary and best places to visit etc, as well as free postcards, restaurant reviews and information on the local area.
My party stayed in the Seabird and Peaceful rooms, both of which were lovely and clean, with cable TVs, ensuites and air conditioning.
Last but not least I must mention the breakfast - the BEST breakfast I've ever had. Denis (a professional chef) is fantastic. The breakfast is four course and our particular breakfast consisted of homemade frozen fruit smoothie to start, followed by 'homebaked good of the day' - delicious! - cooked breakfast (there is also a special on offer which changes daily) and frozen grapes which were great too. In additon to this there is fresh juices, teas/coffee, home made granola (best I've had) and yogurts and cereals etc.
Overall I would most definitely, without a doubt, recommend staying here and hopefully will get the chance to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
115
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My wife & I arrived after a long drive from north of Boston to be cheerfully greeted by propriator Kate. We had chosen the smallest room but it was very adequate. Breakfast was such a treat with daily entrees and breads whipped up by Dennis who is a Cordon Bleu trained chef. We were greeted in the late afternoon with appetizers, always including delicious artisan cheeses, and very nice wines. Both food events gave us the opportunity to meet & enjoy the other guests and sharing our stories and travel experiences.

Can't say enough about Kate's hospitality and attentiveness. She has developed two tour guides, one 'up' cape and one 'down' cape which we found just the ticket for our short three day stay. And, coming from the cape, she was able to suggest places to see & restaurants to visit. - don't miss four Seas Ice cream just 200 yards away

Absolutely a place to return to!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Heights, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one week in July and loved everything about it. The innkeeper Kate and her chef husband Dennis are kind and welcoming without being obtrusive. The breakfasts are fantastic. We're pretty picky about what we eat (we're not into processed foods or eating at chain restaurants) and we really looked forward to the four course feast every morning. Everything (including the granola) is made from scratch and local ingredients and you can tell. You will eat very well and will not leave hungry.

Our room was pretty and very clean and we loved the late afternoon option of drinking wine and eating appetizers which were presented in the sunroom each day. Even their library had a very decent selection of books (e.g., Lawrence Durrell, Roberston Davies).

The Inn is not on the beach, but is a 2 minute drive away, and they provide beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. Kate and Dennis are a great resource for things to do and they provide all kinds of brochures, maps and other written material. The neighborhood is lovely, though I wish the Inn were a little further away from Four Seas Ice Cream because we went there one too many times.

In sum, this is a great place to stay. We'll be back. Again and again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore Worcester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

A wonderful place to stay. We were looked after so well .Our room was a delight and we had a small terrace with two rocking chairs over looking the lovely garden. Kate and Dennis did everything they could to help make our holiday. They provided towels and chairs for the beach which was a plus.
The breakfast was wonderful ,youll never leave hungry!!! and we did enjoy the treats they provided in the late afternoon. We really felt we had five star treatment

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I love the Long Dell Inn! The breakfast was absolutely amazing (homemade crunchy French Toast) and Kate came out and helped us plan the perfect day on the Cape - no one knows the Cape better. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Long Dell Inn is perfectly situated on the Cape where you can be on the beach (the Inn has beach supplies for your use), in a kayak on the river, or on a bike trail in minutes. More importantly, it is 1/2 block from Four Seas, the most awesome ice cream shop I have ever been to. Kate puts together an amazing suggestion of itineraries and listing of local restaurants with reviews. Dennis is a French-trained executive chef that makes a 4 course breakfast every morning you wouldn't believe. You're greeted with homemade cookies in your room and every morning there is Dennis' homemade granola (which they sent us away with for our drive back home). Our room (#2) had such a large bathroom with great shower pressure. When I peeked in the other rooms upstairs it appears they all have big bathrooms. The beautiful backyard was our favorite place to laze around in the sun. The Long Dell Inn made us fall in love with Cape Cod/Centerville and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

Wife and I and two old friends had a delightful long weekend with Kate and Dennis in April 2010. The inn was spotless, the breakfasts were great (Dennis is a former chef), and Kate works very hard to make your stay in Centerville as full as you want. We had not been on the Cape in many years, but hope to return to the Long Dell Inn.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Dell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Dell Inn

Address: 436 South Main St., Centerville, MA 02632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Dell Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1835 Sea captain's home, awarded Trip Advisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence, located in Centerville, a quiet seaside village near Hyannis harbor, Osterville shops and dining. Walk to beautiful Craigville Beach, close to famous Four Seas Ice Cream, bike and walking trails. Seven classic New England guest rooms, private baths, A/C, Cable TV. Wireless, dell gardens including patio pond waterfalls, and signature 3 course gourmet breakfasts. Long Dell Inn - in the center of all the reasons you come to Cape Cod. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Long Dell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Dell Inn Centerville, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Dell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.