We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B & B was the highlight of our holiday in Cape Cod” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain David Kelley House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Captain David Kelley House to your Saves list
Captain David Kelley House
539 Main Street, Centerville, MA 02632   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This B & B was the highlight of our holiday in Cape Cod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

The house is central and gives great access to all the towns on the Cape. The rooms were beautifully decorated (ours with Ralph Lauren bedding and towels) with magical little touches especially the evening surprise chocolate - every womans dream! The breakfasts every morning were freshly prepared and we could not wait to find out the special that day. Breakfast was relaxing and refreshing , offering guests the opportunities to share information with each other and get to know one another too. Tom and Rick made us feel as if we were long lost cousins and could not have been better hosts. The homemade banana bread birthday cake was superb. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent and exactly what we were looking for. We will be back and would highly recommend this to anyone in need of some relaxation or quality time together on the Cape. If this B& B is not in the top 10 within the next few years we will eat our kilts!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
189
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

It was an absolute pleasure staying at the Captain David Kelley House this August in Centreville, Cape Cod.

Sometimes at B&Bs you can feel like you're intruding on the owners' personal space or that they're intruding into yours - but one of the many great things about the CDK House is that owners Tom and Rick had separate living quarters from the guests so it felt more like an intimate inn than like staying at someone's home. The guest quarters were so beautiful I was just dying to see what Tom and Rick's space looked like - but I didn't have the guts to ask for a tour! Maybe next time!

Each morning Tom and Rick served us a decadent 3-course breakfast. The first day we had a light and fluffy breakfast quiche with fresh fruit and delicious home baked banana bread. On the second morning we were served eggs benedict, fruit and scrumptious just-out-of-the-oven scones.

Unfortunately it rained the whole weekend we were in the Cape, but staying at this darling inn was our saving grace.

Tom and Rick were always so hospitable and very happy to engage us in conversation about the history of the home or give us spectacular recommendations about where to dine. They really pay attention to the small details that makes one feel welcome and comfortable. Every morning we were always greeted with a smile and on a first name basis. Every evening there would be a platter of various cheeses awaiting us before we went for dinner. And every night we came back to a turned down bed and delicious chocolates waiting for us on our pillows. Oh, and I can't forget to mention the soft, cozy bathrobes that were provided for us in our room either!

If you're ever in the Cape we highly recommend staying at the Captain David Kelley House - rain or shine, it's a delight! It is one of the most beautiful inns in Cape Cod with the two most hospitable innkeepers you will ever find!

Kristy & Jason

(The Captain David Kelley House is also featured on my blog, Isn't It Just Darling? at:
http://isntitjustdarling.blogspot.com/2009/09/captain-david-kelley-house-historic-b.html

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

After scouring Tripadvisor and travel books for an upscale B&B, I found Captain Kelley's based on Tripadvisor reviews. The rooms looked lovely but I was a little dubious as I couldn't believe such a nicely decorated B&B could offer affordable rates! I was thinking, "what's the catch?" However, my husband and I were very pleasantly surprised! There was no catch and this was a great B&B find.

We stayed in the Capt Baker room which was charmingly decorated. There are only 4 rooms in total, so you get a nice feeling of quiet and privacy. However, next time, I will book the Capt Kelly room -same rate as Capt Baker but larger with a magnificent bed. The fantastic, friendly hosts bought the property late last year and are in the process of upgrading/ rennovating the property. They have already installed a screened porch where they served breakfast each morning.

The location is within walking distance of a beach -although I would advise a little cart/wagon if you are hauling towels, chairs etc as it is a good 15 minute walk. Also around the corner is a great ice cream shop -line of customers stretching out the door even at 10pm! The ice cream was that good. Other than that, you will need a car to reach restaurants and shops. If you are looking for a great little B&B in a location that gives you a sense of what living on the cape is really like, then I highly recommend Capt David Kelley's.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We just spent a wonderful 2 nights at the Capt. David Kelly House - B & B in Centerville, MA. Can't remember when we so enjoyed staying at a B & B. The B & B is under new management - and the two hosts - Rick and Tom made us feel so welcome.

The room was beautiful and immaculate - with all the trimmings including Terry Cloth Robes, A/C (which we did need) and TV. The common rooms - especially the porch and the back deck were very comfortable and invitiing. At five o'clock cheese and crackers were served! We met wonderful people also staying at the B & B - sitting for an hour or so to share drinks and swap stories about our day.

Breakfast was delicious, creative and served with elegance. There was a warmth and friendliness about the guests and our hosts - that one doesn't always find.

We will definitely go back for another visit and would highly recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a relaxing and beautiful spot to stay on the Cape.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

This was our third summer at the CDK - a multi-generational family gathering for a long weekend. My husband and I have personally stayed in the Captain Kelley and Rachel rooms - both lovely (as all rooms are). The new Innkeepers Tom & Rick have made structural improvements to the Inn as well as upgrading the services and breakfasts considerably. The friendly "scone competition" between Tom & Rick serves their guests well - hard to choose between Orange Cranberry Walnut and Currant Buttermilk - both delicious! Especailly nice are the screened porches for breakfast or relaxing with an afternoon book. The town of Centerville is lovely - convenient to many excellent restaurants and shopping; an easy walk to or from Craigville Beach; and much too close to Four Seas Ice Cream for anyone's diet! Check out the book sale at the town Library held 3-4 times a week - $1 for hardcover/50 cents for paperbacks. You cannot beat this lovely Inn or it's hospitable Innkeepers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We spent 2 nights in Centerville at Tom and Rick's fantastic, spotless B&B. The guys have it fixed up with great antiques and lots of decorator touches. They are very welcoming and perfect innkeepers. IThe place is a true labor of love. The breakfasts served on the screened porch are delicious, homemade and hearty. The beds are very very comfy. Each room is different with high thread count sheets. Around the corner are the best Lobster Rolls in town at Four Seas. If you are in the area, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights at the Captain David Kelly House and our visit was 100% superb! Tom and Ric are wonderful hosts that are professional, kind, helpful and simply fun to be around. The food is delicious, the rooms are beautifully designed down to the fresh flowers in our room each day. These guys are pro's at running their B & B. Trust me....you will not be disappointed when you stay at the CDK House! We cannot wait to return. Jill & Bill, Cincinnati, OH

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Address: 539 Main Street, Centerville, MA 02632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain David Kelley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.