We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain David Kelley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Captain David Kelley House to your Saves list
Captain David Kelley House
539 Main Street, Centerville, MA 02632   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Brunswick, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Rick and tom do a fantastic job. The house is comfortable. The rooms were immaculate. The beaches were nearby. The restaurant recommendation was great. The breakfast experience is a fun way to begin the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
189
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over 4th of July holiday, and it was just a perfect experience from start to finish. Tom and Rick are great hosts and very funny! Breakfast is delicious and entertaining. They create a warm and relaxing environment. The location is perfect, I took a long walk around Centerville and down to the beach, and there is a nice park for kids very close-by. The General Store is adorable and fun to shop in!
The yard of the CDK is lovely. Simple put: Fantastic! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Phebe. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful anniversary weekend at the B&B recently and recommend it highly. The B&B is well located on a beautiful tree-lined street in Centerville, next to a charming country store and easy walking distance to Craigville Beach. A wonderful ice cream shop is also a short distance away. The house is very traditional New England, chock full of antiques, but still manages to feel comfortable and homey. the house has a few screened in porches just right for reading the mornign paper or enjoying a glass of wine in the afternoon. Breakfast on the porch was delicious and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Our hosts are known for their scones and they should be! Not only did they taste amazing but the presentation of the scones (and the competition between hosts, Rick and Tom, as to who makes the best scones) is hilarious and provides a dose of entertainment with your meal. Rick and Tom are such warm welcoming hosts. I felt like we were long lost friends being welcomed home. My only quibbles with the B&B are quite minor. Personally, I prefer a softer mattress. Also, our room had very long windows and the blinds for those windows did not extend all the way to the sill. While there were bushes in front of those windows, I did feel a little exposed in the evening and wish they could upgrade those at some point. Overall, I can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My cousin took over all 6 rooms in the Captain David Kelley House. It was amazing. All the rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques and wonderful linens. Rick and Tom, the owners are a Hoot! They have a whole routine in the morning bringing out their special scones and yummy breakfast food. It was so entertaining and a great way to start the day.
The location is fantastic. We could walk to the Centerville Historical Museum, General Store and Four Seas Ice Cream. Three places you shouldn't miss.
They offer specialty weekends. They were booking for Downton Abbey weekend in October. These two men know how to make you feel special and have a lot of fun in their jobs. It makes the trip even more enjoyable for the guests.

Room Tip: The two bedrooms on the first floor are superior but could be noisy if you want to sleep in. All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This bed and breakfast is absolutely wonderful. The care and attention that Rick and Tom give to their rooms and overall property is out of this world. Tom's Rasberry and white chocolate scones were delicious as was the hot breakfast that was served. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was exceptionally clean. When you walk into this B&B you can feel the welcome and friendly atmosphere. We spent one night here and have already booked an additional two nights next month. We felt we were leaving old friends upon our departure. Rick and Tom are "doing it right"!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rachel room and were shown several other rooms all are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time staying here. Rick and Tom are awesome hosts. They treat us like they've known us for a very long time. Great humor and conversation.
Ambiance and atmosphere is wonderful. Room decor and space is very nice. They've got the details down in style and functionality. Beds and pillows are comfortable. Bathrooms are well appointed and clean.
Their landscaping is very well maintained and manacured, and much appreciated by those of us who are very visual.
The daily breakfasts are different every day. They usually start off with a fresh fruit dish, then one of Rick or Tom's famous scones (usually presented with a side of humor AKA "scone wars"), and then a main course. You won't walk away hungry.
I've been to a good many other B&B's, but by far and with no comparison, this the best. Relaxed and comfortable. It feels like home, only better because someone else is doing all the work!


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This was hands down the best bed and breakfast that my wife and me have ever visited. Staying at the Captain Kelley House is a true experience in and of itself. The physical location of the bed and breakfast is beautiful. The rooms and decor are incredible. Breakfast was not only homemade by the Rick and Tom, but it was very obvious that they both have excellent culinary skills. Beyond that, breakfast is a performance that satisfies not only one gustatorirly, but appeals and excites one's audiovisual senses as well (you will see what I mean when you stay). There was great music being played at breakfast that made the breakfast experience like no other as well. On top of all of this, Rick and Tom are not only truly wonderful innkeepers but people. They went completely out of their way to help us find local things to do as well as things that were fairly distant from us. They were also incredibly engaging and friendly. There is not enough space for me to adequately give the Captain Kelley House its due credit, but if you would like to have a truly unmatched experience (of any kind), then your answer is the Captain Kelley House. We cannot wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Address: 539 Main Street, Centerville, MA 02632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain David Kelley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.