We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute Luck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain David Kelley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Captain David Kelley House to your Saves list
Captain David Kelley House
539 Main Street, Centerville, MA 02632   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Franklin, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
“Last minute Luck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

At the beginning June last year I was fortunate to get a referral from another local innkeeper who recommended the CDK House. My significant other was riding for Best Buddies and we were celebrating his birthday the day after and everything is typically booked up that weekend. Rick and Tom jumped through hoops and made it happen for us. Not only is the CDK House beautifully restored and furnished, it is super clean and the location makes it perfect for bicyclists and exploring the Cape. The innkeepers are terrific and it is worth every penny. Oh, did I mention the scones? Check it out on the website. Going to book now for 2013!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacaptain539, Owner at Captain David Kelley House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We're happy we were able to accommodate you for the Best Buddies event, and that you are planning a return visit this year. We couldn't ask for a higher compliment! We look forward to your return. Thank you for taking the time to post your great review of us and The CDK House. See you soon. The scones will be ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
189
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foxboro, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hosts are welcoming, friendly, hospitable, prepare the best scones (all of them, yes!), give great recommendations on what to see and do in the area. The inn is charming, spotless, centrally located. We will definitely stay here again when we come to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brookfield, Massachusetts, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hosts were welcoming, helpful and hospitable. Out hosts recommended the best local restaurants and in nearby Hyannis, we found the best Pianist and base duo at the Black Cat Restaurant & Tavern who are there every Friday eve. We went for a long walk on nearby Craigville beach after enjoying a full breakfast at the Captain David Kelly House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacaptain539, Owner at Captain David Kelley House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We're thrilled to know that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We are a French family with 2 girls and we loved spending a few days with Tom and Rick.Everything was just perfect ,from the lovely house to the breakfast with the funy scones war ( don t worry it ends just marvelous).We are planning to come again !It was almost as if we had found some new friends in this lovely area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family has a house in Osterville and I've stayed at this B&B several times since Rick and Tom purchased and restored this sea captain's house to a proud example of Cape Cod history and hospitality. The locale is perfect either for staying put in the area or as a way-station to or from other parts of the Cape. The furnishings are very comfortable, well arranged and to me reflect an unstuffy luxury. The bath rooms are spotless and well-appointed. The breakfast is a welcome intro to the day and with Rick and Tom serving it adds a touch of personal attentiveness and pride which makes this a very special home away from home.

Room Tip: Check very helpful photos on their website to find the style of room that suits you and your pocketb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Tom and Rick run a first-class bed and breakfast on the Cape. They are welcomming and the most gracious hosts. They went out of their way throughout our stay from the moment we stepped in the front door, assisting us with a late night arrival and planning dinner reservations for that evening. They also serve a remarkable breakfast. The home is gorgeous, well decorated and not to mention very clean. Our room was large and our king sized bed was very comfortable. I really do not have a complaint. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to just about anyone. There's a cozy living room and several porches to enjoy a rainy afternoon or cool evening. And the beach is just a short walk away on those warmer days. Although I have stayed at quite a few bed and breakfasts, none match the Captain David Kelley House. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My Mother and brother who live in Centerville were stranded during the recent storm Nemo with no heat or power. Tom and Rick were more than gracious in opening up their Inn to them, They have a lovely 2 room suite and treat everyone like royalty. My Mother was amazed by their kindness and TLC!! Thank you all for your warmth and caring!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Address: 539 Main Street, Centerville, MA 02632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain David Kelley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.