We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain David Kelley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Captain David Kelley House to your Saves list
Captain David Kelley House
539 Main Street, Centerville, MA 02632   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We loved our stay at Captain David Kelley's House. Not only the room was beautifully decorated and spotless but our hosts welcomed us in a very special way. The first thing we saw when we arrived at CDKH was the Danish flag billowing in the wind. Our hosts Tom and Rick explained that they had ordered the Danish flag because we were their first danish visitors at the house. What a welcoming gesture! Thank you! We also loved their breakfast with their famous scones and the wonderful atmosphere around the house. Overall wonderful. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
189
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biddeford, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

If there were ever two people who were made to run a B & B , it's Rick & Tom!!! They roll out the red carpet with their warm sense of humor, outstanding hospitality and deliciously served meals. The house holds a positive and peaceful energy that makes you feel instantly calm and relaxed. I have stayed at other B & B's and can only say that the Captain David Kelley House will be a tough act to follow. The room was loaded with all the amenities one could ever ask for, even a chocolate by my bedstand! Yes, The scones are to die for!!! The grounds surrounding the house are beautifully manicured with plenty of space to pull up a comfy chair, whether it's in the tastefully decorated common area's or out on the decks. I look forward to staying here many more times, This is now my favorite Bed & Breakfast ANYWHERE!!!

Room Tip: Each room holds it's own charm and comfort level. We stayed in the Phoebe Room which was very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcappfamily
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I recently spent my third weekend at the CDK House and I must say I cannot wait to go back. The immaculate accomodations and wonderful service provide the perfect respite. Rick and Tom always send me to the best restaurants and most recently to a perfect spot for a springtime Cape Cod sunset. I look forward to waking up to a delicious cup of coffee and the wonderful company of the other guests. Do not ask me who makes the better scones, its so nice that I get to have Tom's "drop" and Rick's "roll". I say let the scone wars continue as I get to reap the benefits.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Captain David Kelley (CDK) House was just outstanding. I've stayed at the inn three times in the past two years and look forward to returning again in the near future. Rick and Tom were the perfect hosts - making everyone feel so comfortable and relaxed. The rooms are absolutely spotless and beautifully decorated, and our breakfasts were deliciously prepared - especially the scones! The inn is in a great location with easy access to beaches and restaurants. I would absolutely recommend the CDK House to anyone looking for a Cape Cod experience second to none.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the CDK House. Everything was perfect. The house is pleasantly located in the small, quiet but well-located town of Centerville. Pleasing lawns and shrubbery set off the property. Although on Main Street, traffic is not an issue. The house itself is tastefully, attractively and generously decorated. Our room was elegantly appointed, and included all desirable amenities. There are plenty of enjoyable places to sit and relax, in the living room, the screened porches and a large sun deck in the rear. Our host Tom was most gracious and very helpful. The breakfast quality was up to the other excellent house standards, and you will no doubt be invited to try their own tasty scones. Try going off-season to catch a real bargain. Their website gives a very good representative impression of this real find of a B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Captain David Kelley House is everything that you want in a bed and breakfast. It is an extraordinarily beautiful house that feels like a home because of the care and attention given to you by the wonderful hosts, Rick and Tom. The Rachel room is gorgeous - bright, clean, and comfortable. The small, thoughtful gestures - chocolates on the bedside table, beautiful flowers in the room, noticing that I did not care for strawberries and not putting them in my breakfast the next day - are the things that make a stay here so special. The breakfast is wonderful and, as mentioned in other reviews, includes "the war of the scones". There was so much love and attention put into them, it was impossible to pick a winner. The Captain David Kelley House is a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saunderstown, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was our third visit to Captain Kelley's in the past year and a half. Tom and Rick had a full house this time and every room was occupied by guests who had been there at least once before. As usual, everything was excellent from the immaculate and beautifully appointed rooms to the host's exceptional hospitality. We will be going again soon as it is my intention to stay in every room at least once -- three down and three to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Address: 539 Main Street, Centerville, MA 02632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain David Kelley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.