We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do mail order” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Centerville Pie Co.

Centerville Pie Co.
1671 Falmouth Rd, Centerville, MA 02632
774 470 1406
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Centerville
Cuisines: American, Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Las Vegas NV
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't do mail order”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have never felt compelled to write about a restaurant before until now. I was sent a Centerville chicken pie and a berry pie as gift by a friend. My friend had enjoyed hers a lot and raved about how GREAT it was and wanted me to enjoy one of "Oprahs Favorites" as she had. After many delays (back-order problems) my pies arrived. I was delighted to finally recieve my pies. When UPS delivered it I took the box in and the dry ice bag was empty but, the pies were still frozen so, I guessed it was alright all the same. When I looked at label to bake it it said 60min. When I read label on back it said 60 to 90min or until proper temp. Which delayed my dinner plans. (no big deal) however, the differing labeling was weird. The real problem was the taste. The chicken was so old tasting.,I was afraid to actually afraid to eat it considering that the dry ice bag had been empty and I feared maybe somewhere along the way the pie may have thawed and been refroze. I don't know but, all I know it was the WORST tasting chicken pie I had ever tasted. I could not believe my friend and every thing I read about these was so positive. Also, I have never had a chicken pot pie with nothing but chicken and gravy. Where was the peas,carrots, potatos? I did read label and by golly it did state chicken and gravy also, the gravy in the pie never blended properly and was separated and made the pie watery with chunks of gravy through out. To say something positive about this pie was the container of gravy was o.k. and the crust was the best darn crust I've ever tasted. I LOVED that crust too bad the filling didn't measure up. Maybe the problem was the mail order because, I can't believe I am the only person that hated the pie. Now my problem is I had to trash a pie (minus some of crust) and I have a berry pie in freezer I don't know if I should take a chance on and try or not. I didn't get sick from the few bites of the chicken pie. Also, I don't know what to tell my friend when she asks me how I liked her gift. I don't want to hurt her with the truth since she had spent so much to mail me these pies (with postage $80+) but, I do'nt ever want to see that pie delivery again. Maybe at the restaurant it is o.k. but, west coast delivery DON'T Do it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinCPC, Owner at Centerville Pie Co., responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our pies and we are very sorry to read of your experience. We wish you had contacted us directly and we could have addressed each of the issues with you. We work extremely hard to produce a quality product, and in your case, we surely failed. We receive so many wonderful comments about our products. When we read comments like you've written, we'd love to have the chance to redeem ourselves.
We are very proud that we are able to employ 50+ disabled adults. Comments like yours, although disappointing to read, allow us to fix our errors and keep our friends at Capeabilities employed. Please contact Kristin directly at 774-470-1406.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    20
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Oprah Winfrey did not ruin this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Homemade chicken and meat pies made by local staff who employ staff from Cape Abilities. A wonderful addition to the community. But, most of all, you will never have a better chicken pie. Buy a bunch for the freezer. Wonderful warm, rib-sticking delight on a cold winter night. Just pop it in the toaster oven for 1 hour. Their fruit pies and - oh my - coconut macaroons are to die for!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osterville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Chicken pie, amazing.
They sell them on Value Vision as well.
They served one to Oprah and she went crazy.
Treat yourself, a happening place with fun food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolute must eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was my second visit to the Pie Shop. I love this place! Food is excellent and service is great. You feel like you are at a family members house eating! We came for breakfast and purchased the chicken pie and shepherds pie to take with us to the Vineyard. Kristin and Devin make you feel at home. I love this place and highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No pie here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stopped in to pick up a pie for dinner. I was told, oh, no, you have to order one. What, you are a pie company, and one can not stop by to buy a pie? No, you must order a week in advance. Thank you, no pie can be that good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centerville Pie Co. also viewed

 
Centerville, Cape Cod
 

Been to Centerville Pie Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centerville Pie Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.