We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood at an unsuspecting spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Lobster Mart

American Lobster Mart
South Bourne Bridge Rotary, Buzzards Bay, Bourne, MA 02532
508 759-7844
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 40 Restaurants in Buzzards Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great seafood at an unsuspecting spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Initially pulling up to this small store front we were a little underwhelmed, but the warm reception from the staff and the fantastic food quickly calmed our concerns. We tried the lobster rolls, clam chowder, fish and chips and the fried shrimp, all above and beyond our expectations. We would definitely recommend to our friends and return the next time were in the area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“We stop here every time we head down to the Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lobsters are the freshest. Any time my wife and I head down to see family on Martha's Vineyard we stop here to pick up 2 to 10 lobsters. My wife turned me on to this tradition via her own experiences of this routine for 30 years in her family. Her mother was a faithful patron on her visits and they never disappointed. This time we got to chatting with the owner and it added to the experience because he also speaks a bit of French. It's on the west side of the roundabout/rotary after you get off the Bourne Bridge when you're going south. And as his flyer states "A Beacon for Great Seafood"...it's no lie. Plenty of parking and easy enough to spot with the tower. His flyer also says that you can call ahead but we've never done that because we've never really been in a rush. Try it out....can't think of the guy's name but if you speak a little French try it on him.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericl1098
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good New England Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stop at this restaurant everytime we visit the Cape. This trip, my wife had fried oysters and she loved them. I had the fisherman's fried seafood platter, and it was great. Their scallops are amazing! Their Chowder was great, but I felt they were skimpy on the clams. Owner of the restaurant is very friendly and gracious, and it is an enjoyable place to stop for a quick bite to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Typcial New England fried meals. Clam strips & fries. The coleslaw was ridiculously small. From the reviews thought this would be better than the Lobster Trap. The chowder was watery and lacked large chunks of clams or other fish. Not a bad meal but not a great meal. Enjoyed chatting with the proprietor (Larry) who was very engaging. Seating is outside on a picknic bench on the rotary next to the gasoline station. If you need the rest room you're directed to the gas station.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious stuffed cohogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I always go to see Larry for the fried lobster but on the last visit with my kids I tried one of his cohogs stuffed with some kind of delicious seafood stuffing. I usually make my own which up in till now were my favorite. I think I will leave the prep and cooking to him because they were actually better than my homemade ones!!. Im getting hungry just thinkin of them!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Lobster Mart also viewed

 

Been to American Lobster Mart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Lobster Mart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.