We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst pillows ever!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Burlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Marriott Burlington to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Burlington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Burlington Mall Road, Rt 128 & 3A, Burlington, MA 01803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“The worst pillows ever!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A good night's sleep is the most important part of why you stay in a hotel. The Marriott has pillows with thick metal zippers on the side. If you don't move at all during the night, I guess you are fine, but if you adjust your pillows in the middle of the night, you can expect to wake up with scratches all over your hands and arms.

The room itself was cold, but since I was on the ground floor, it was constantly cold, despite the temperature of the thermostat. The room I had was a king bed room, and was spacious, clean, and had a good layout for plugging in your computer, blackberry, etc. I should mention that you enter the hotel on the 3rd floor, which means the 1st floor room is essentially underground. You can see light, but there is no view since the ground slopes from the upper floors to your room. You would think water would eventually leak into the room because of this, but there didn't seem to be any issues.

I had one dinner at the restaurant, Summer Winter, and this was pretty good. The prices were pretty high, but again the quality was good. Internet was $12.95 plus taxes, and it was pretty slow given that price. Marriott needs to re-examine the value to the customer for this.

There was free parking, easy access to the highway, and fast and efficient service. If not for the pillows, I would rate it a solid four stars.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor, for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
It is disappointing to learn your stay was not as you had expected. Our team is available to assist our guest with any concerns they may have during their stay. It appears we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns with the pillows and room temperature and we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. For future stays, please do not hesitate to reach out to us so we can address any concerns and get you back to enjoying your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    186
    73
    35
    19
See reviews for
110
87
36
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I don't agree with these negative reviews. For the Burlington area this is a real decent hotel. I agree that the front desk staff is a bit cold. My Platinum status is rarely acknowledged. I always need to request a different room. I have stayed on every floor of this hotel from the 4th floor up. I know where I like to stay. I got no response from the front desk when I had a legitimate complaint. However the people who work in the concierge lounge are wonderful. The bell hop is also great. It is nice to have the option of 2 places to eat along with room service after a long day working. Again there are not many hotels in the Burlington area offering that. I really wish the front desk staff were more friendly. I stay at this hotel for more than 60 nights a year but the front desk does not seem to realize it.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Your continued loyalty to the Boston Marriott Burlington is truly appreciated. We are disappointed to learn your overall experience was not as you expected and we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. We will share your feedback with the team as we refresh our commitment to our customers. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and we hope to welcome you back and enjoy the Boston Marriott Burlington hotel from a renewed perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently stayed at this property and because we have platinun status were allowed to use the lounge on the 8th floor. The people were wonderful but unfortunatly the people who prepare the food let them down.

They had prepared some sort of egg roll and crab ragoon which was so badly cooked that you had trouble bitting into it. To have good service and horrible food is a waste of effort. It is bad enough that the food has been cut back but even worse when it is not cooked right.

Wake up Marriott

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are delighted to learn your interactions with the team members were great and we appreciate your comments. Feedback such as yours helps us to improve in our services and we truly regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. It would be wonderful to welcome you back to enjoy our hotel from a new perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend trip to Boston. I concur with other reviews that staff need training in customer service.
As we arrived at the main entrance with our hands full of luggage, I noticed the bellman busy texting on his phone. He totally ignored us and several other guests and offered no assistance with the door or their luggage. This should have been my first omen.
The check-in clerk was prompt and assigned us a room. She never acknowledge my Marriott status or offer an upgraded room or amenities.
The room itself was dark and dingy. Not much room to move around with all the furniture. The bed was comfortable and we were grateful that it was quiet. We were situated at the end of the hallway which made it quieter than other rooms.
We ordered room service one morning and they delivered only one meal. I called guest services and they seemed to know all about it? The next meal was delivered 15 minutes later. No apology as my wife and I both ate our meals separately.
The restaurant on-site was crowded and we were advised 1/2 wait for dinner. We ended up sitting at the bar and had some great appetizers and dinner. The prices are much to high for what you get. Dinner entrees were very small and everything is a la carte.There are plenty of good restaurants nearby that will save you some money.
The hallways definitely could have used some vacuuming. This is one of those typical older Marriott's that is in need of a makeover.
I explained the mix-up with room service at check-out and the clerk did apologize and offered to buy me a cup of coffee. Not a good recovery.
Should have stayed at the Doubletree in Bedford. Stayed here before and much nicer than this place.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in either 01,02,03,04 are much quieter at the end of a hallway. Some higher up, south f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are disappointed to learn your stay with us was not as you expected. Our commitment to our customers is our highest priority and we thank you for bringing these points to our attention. We will share your comments with the team as we continue to ensure our guests are our highest priority. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon so we can renew your trust. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was introduced by a Platinum member to stay at the hotel. The front desk girls need a boot camp in customer service. This is the worst Marriott globally. I hope to General Manager to pay attention to this review.

Room Tip: Do not stay at Burlington Marriott, Courtyard is a much better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective with us. It is disappointing to learn your interactions with the team were not as you expected and we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. Your comments will be shared as we refresh our commitment to our customers. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon so we can renew your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The outside of this Marriott is dated and harsh looking. This hotel also frequently hosts pagents and dance competitions but the area where it is hosted is sufficiently far away from the mian hotel lobby that it is not ordinarily a nuisance.

The rooms are hospitable enough and the property is maintained nicely. I have stayed at this hotel a few times and on the last stay was disappointed to not be able to locate the room service menu in the room. However the rooms are clean and the furnishings are modern. The hotel's retail prices are off putting considering what one gets for the money however there are deals to be had on discount sites for this hotel. The hotel is near I-95 and near a large shopping mall, several shopping centers and a movie theater. The on-site restaurant (I believe it is called Summer/Winter) is fantastic and often has live music.

Room Tip: The corner rooms on each floor are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
To learn your overall experience was not as you had hoped is disappointing. We appreciate you bringing these points to our attention as feedback like yours helps us to improve our services. We are happy you enjoyed the central location as well as the onsite restaurant, Summer Winter. It is our hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy our hotel from a renewed perspective. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I spent 5 days attending a sales training at this property and used the conference facilities, catering and fitness center during the week. The room itself was very comfortable with a large work area, large well appointed bathroom and an extremely comfortable king size bed.

The front staff and shuttle drivers were very friendly and accommodating.

The conference rooms were fine but tended to be uncomfortably cold for any in our group. Even when we asked for adjustments they temp didn't seem to hold. It seemed to be worse when there where other groups in the adjoining rooms.

The conference catering was average to above average depending on the items and there was a good variety.

The fitness center was very large with a cardio room, weight room with free weights and machines, a lap pool and jacuzzi. The cardio room is open 24/7 which I found convenient. The pool area and locker room are in need of maintenance. I noticed area where rust has broken through the paint in both areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It is great to learn you were able to enjoy your time at the Boston Marriott Burlington. It appears you were able to take advantage of our onsite amenities and we appreciate you bringing these points to our attention. Feedback such as yours helps us to improve our customer services and we will look into your comments and address as necessary. Thank you and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Burlington

Address: One Burlington Mall Road, Rt 128 & 3A, Burlington, MA 01803
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Burlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burlington
#4 Business Hotel in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Burlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Lahey Clinic and Hanscom Air Force Base, the hotel offers 419 rooms equipped with high-speed Internet access. Convenient to Boston Logan Airport. Enjoy the newest addition to the hotel Chopps American Bar and Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boston Marriott Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Burlington Hotel Burlington
Marriott Burlington
Burlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.