We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great - service not so much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gourmet India
75 Middlesex Tpke, Ste 2105, Burlington, MA 01803-5310
781-270-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 105 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Groton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Food great - service not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is about as authentic and indian food experience as you will get outside of Boston. We love going for Marasal Dosa's at the weekend - and everything from Naan bread, to simple veggie curry is good. The service is at best perfunctory and sometimes really pretty rude, as its a food court I don't see this as a really big deal just an annoyance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Indian food for a food court”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The Indian food is decent for a food court. But the servers and the owner are outright rude. I have seen multiple times where the server has removed a piece of chicken from the serving because he thought it was more than what should have been served. The hot Naan and Rotis are great because they are made fresh for you.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quick Indian Food place in the mall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I think it is a hit or miss regarding the entree's in the buffet line but freshly made food is pretty good. The Naan and the Dosas are usually good and tasty. The entrees are fresher when they are busy and the wait is not very long.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I love the Chicken Tikka Masala, Raita & Naan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I don't like super spicy food. I only get mild dishes. I get the slightly sweet Chicken Tikka Masala every time or combo it with an eggplant dish if I'm lucky enough to come on a day when they are offering it. The eggplant, however, is not consistently mild. Sometimes it is a little spicy, but not labeled as such.

I LOVE the raita (cucumber yogurt sauce) as well. I only wish they offered the raita in a smaller individual serving size. The current size is good if you get a combo meal but if you get just one entree item, it's a little too much even for me.
Prices: Great value A 2 entree combo deal can last me for 2 meals

Service: Not so great sometimes. There is a woman at the cash register (the only woman I've ever seen there) that acts like she is doing you the greatest of favors to be there. She definitely does not have appropriate customer service skills and I'm happy when she is not there.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amongst the best Indian restaurants in the Boston area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

... and its in a mall food court.

I'm Indian, so I know my own cuisine well. I have not had such tasty food in most restaurants across the country. Highly recommended.

As one of the previous reviewers has noted, don't go there a few minutes before closing time - the food will obviously not be fresh (they do make fresh naans on order, no matter when you go there.)

Be prepared for a short wait at peak times - this is the best selling restaurant in the food court and a destination for Indian families in the area, on weekends.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet India also viewed

 
Burlington, MA
 

Been to Gourmet India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.