We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
75 Middlesex Tpke, Burlington, MA 01803-5389
781-272-7555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 95 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went for lunch, we like it there. It is over an hour drive for us. We don't have anything like it closer to our home. We like it because it reminds of us of being in Disney. The menu is pricey. We have been a few times, but the recent visit was probably our least favorite. We did make a reservation. The phone service was very friendly. We were seated within 5 minutes of checking in. Our waitress was not bad, but not good either. We were never asked if we wanted refills. One of the sandwiches we ordered had a choice of beef or chicken, we ordered beef but was brought chicken. I ordered the natural burger and it was very good. The fries were great. My son had the pizza and said it was good. My daughter had the fired shrimp and liked it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    36
    37
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I took a trip to MA it was a 6 hour drive and my friend and I decided to go here for a new experience. When we got seated which was fast for a Saturday little did we know what was in store. We knew this place was for kids and we were expecting it. However, kids were screaming and running around. They even ran into our table a few times. The staff nor parents said anything to try to keep this chaos under control. We start by ordering just waters with lemon. The waitress brings us waters no lemon no straws. We have to wait for her to come back to ask for straws, where we also ordered alcoholic drinks. The waitress brings us straws unwrapped and just puts them in our drinks. We did not like that. Then when she brought the alcoholic drinks again no straws and when we asked again she put them in the drinks unwrapped! We both ordered a tortellini pasta, however I got mine with chicken. My pasta portion was about half that of my friends and I had to pay the extra $3 to add chicken on top of half the pasta portion size. Also my friend's had more sauce then mine and she didn't even have enough, inconsistent. My chicken tasted good, however it was super dry. We could not wait to get out of there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. Good place for kids.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We go for the animatronics, great novelty restaurant. Kids like it. As for the food, it is pricy for the quality we get.
Recommend for children, once in a while. Atmosphere is great, but foods lack.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“We got for the atmosphere not the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This place is amazing for kids - animatronic animals all over the place, giant fish tanks, waterfalls - seriously, it’s cool. It is VERY loud, so if you have a kid with any type of sensory issues this is not the place. My daughter loves it, but usually blocks her ears during the "thunder storm".

The food is ok at best and it is WAY overpriced. Be aware - no lunch specials. The burgers and sandwiches are over 10 bucks and an entree is close to 20. Way too expensive in my opinion. The kid’s meals are great, fair price and nice selection. The gist shop is great fun as well - although that is overpriced too.

All and all we keep going back because the kiddo loves it and we typically just get an app and let her get a kids meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is our favorite family spot! Pretty good prices, a little on the higher side, but definitely worth it. We've never had anything we didn't like. The place is great! Always free balloons and frog crowns for the kids. A "thunderstorm" every half hour, fish tanks and animated animals all over the restaurant. The servers are always great and very knowledgeable. Definitely worth a try!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.