We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Middlesex Turnpike, Burlington, MA 01803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noisy !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have travelled to 50 states and 50+ countries, and I don't recall ever staying in a room with so much noise from above. Every footfall from the room(s) above transmit to my room. The noise kept me up and woke me up early. I can also hear voices from other rooms.

There is no noise coming from the highway nearby; all the noise comes from inside, above me.

Unless you are oblivious to noise from other guests, I would NOT recommend staying here. The building is flimsily constructed.

Room Tip: If you're on 4th floor, there's nobody above you (it's the top floor), but the hotel has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear JohnAlexandria_VA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We pride ourselves in making sure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay and it is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this expectation. I am sincerely sorry that your guest experience was less than satisfactory due to the level of noise from our other guests. We have shared your comments with our managers so that we can improve our handling of this type of situation in the future.

Once again, we apologize for your stay and we hope that you will give us another try on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    51
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
36
38
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room we stayed in, a queen studio suite was very clean, no funky smells and up to date with appliances, decor, etc. I only gave this review 3 stars because the bed was very uncomfortable. I prefer a softer mattress and this one was very firm. In addition, the bed made loud noises so anytime either of us moved, I woke up. The shower was nice and roomy with plenty of space to put our toiletries, but the water pressure was low and even when turned up all the way, the temperature got only warm at best. I prefer a much hotter shower. I might consider staying at a Candlewood Suites again if I knew the beds would be comfy and the water temp and pressure were better. It was a good deal for the money and the hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. Lots of shopping and restaurants in the area but no Walmart or Target nearby which was a minus. The hotel was very quiet. There is no restaurant on site and I don't think there was a swimming pool. Some other pluses are, a "pantry" by the front desk that had several items that someone might need, from cereal and other breakfast items to snacks and candy and coffee. Coffee is free all day every day. There is also a laundry facility which is free to guests (detergent can be purchased). There is a gym that guests can use.

Room Tip: Good for those who like a firm mattress Good for those who like only a warm shower (not hot) and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Karin V,

Thank your for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to note that you found our staff to be friendly and that you liked most of our amenities.

However, let me take this opportunity to apologize for any discomforts brought about by our beds and I am truly sorry if you didn't find the shower to your liking.

Once again, thank you for your comments and rest assured it will be taken into consideration for future improvements. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed at this Candlewood Suites before, and it was OK. Basic, but a good deal. However this visit was a disappointment. The heat/AC unit in the room was very loud, so I turned it off. But even in the OFF position, it produced loud blasts of freezing air every 10 minutes throughout the night. It's a built-in unit, so there was no way to unplug or disable it. Also the room smelled musty and mildewy. When I reported the problem at the front desk, all I got was "OK, thanks for letting us know." Very disappointing to see this property go downhill.

Room Tip: Check the roof for smell and AC unit that functions quietly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear mozart1956,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the poor heating and the musty smell. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Burlington hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I love Candlewood Suites! I always know what I am going to get for a reasonable price. A full kitchen! It's like a studio apartment. Locally, this one is my preference. The location is right in the area near the highway and shopping mall. There is a grocery store about 2 miles away as well. The laundry is FREE for guests. They do have an exercise room with some equipment that gets light use so is pretty good shape. I DO find that I have to check to make sure that my room is "fine". Recently, there was a room with a sour wet rug smell and thankfully it is the slow season so switching rooms was no problem. But, the staff are always willing to fix issues if you ask.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the elevators if you want more quiet. The handicap rooms are often acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have stayed here many times while on business in the Burlington area. The hotel has had room decor renovation since I last stayed. The style is the brown/tan/wood/stone spa style. Fits well with the room size. The TVs have also been upgraded to large flat panel displays.

The in-house store does not have much to offer, but there is a Trader Joes and HMart (Korean market chain) a couple miles down Middlesex Turnpike that provide good choices of supplies for the kitchen. There is also a operational grill and patio at one end of the facility. The guest laundry facility is great, if you are planning for a relatively long stay.

There are better full-service hotels in the area but I continue to like staying here when in Burlington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I book with Candlewood Suites whenever I can. I have stayed in Miami, Philidelphia, Reading (PA), Atlanta, Tampa, Macon...you get the picture. You know what you are going to get when you book a Candlewood Suites room...usually. I stayed at this hotel for an extended stay when I was working in the Boston area. The location is excellent for dining and for my business purposes. However, I found its quality and service not up to par with others in the chain.

To begin, the check-in was difficult and lengthy. This was because of the person working the desk. The rooms were in need of updating (they may have been updated since my stay). The dishes in the kitchen were old and worn and appeared dirty; I felt the need to clean all the dishes before use (I do this in suite hotels anyway, but it felt NECESSARY at this hotel. The laundry room was old and run down, the machines were very dated.

This Candlewood Suites was also noisy. It appeared that there were several shuttles carrying students to and from the hotel, and there also appeared to be many that may actually be living on government assistance living at the hotel. I have nothing against any of these folks, but as a business traveler I would prefer a cleaner, quieter, and safer feeling environment.

I personally will not stay here again as I know of many more hotels in the area that are cleaner and have friendlier staff.

***In fairness, my stay was in 2011; this hotel MAY have been remodeled since then - the dropdown choice for time of stay only goes to March 2012.***

Room Tip: Many Candlewood Suites have had recent major remodeling; call and ask if this hotel has been renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Tim H,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room accommodations, check in service and level of noise. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel has larger rooms with kitchenettes, comfortable beds, flat screen tv's and very clean. We were very happy with the staff, room and price is easy on the wallet compared to the others in the area. They have a small store in the lobby on the honor system that has anything you would need during your stay. Will be staying again next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Little hard to find access to parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington

Address: 130 Middlesex Turnpike, Burlington, MA 01803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Burlington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Burlington , Massachusetts, one of the most complete shopping and dining experiences in New England. Whether shopping at the plentiful Burlington Mall or dining out at one of the many exquisite restaurants the area has to offer there is always plenty to do. The Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington Hotel was designed with both the business and leisure travelers in mind. Our spacious guest rooms offer oversized work areas, free high speed Internet, full kitchens and free local phone calls. Our property provides our guests with complimentary laundry facilities, fitness center with state of the art nautilus and cardio equipment, a 24-hour on-site convenience store as well as the enjoyment of a weekly social. We offer a complimentary shuttle service to area businesses, shopping, restaurants and attractions within a five mile radius. Minutes from I-95 and the Mass Pike, Candlewood Suites offers easy access to Downtown Boston , Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Fenway Park, Logan Airport and Cambridge, home to both Harvard University and MIT. Boston is home to many sports teams including the 2007 World Series Champions, Boston Red Sox, the 2004 Superbowl Champions, New England Patriots and the 2008 NBA champions, Boston Celtics . Candlewood Suites is a member of the elite Priority Club Rewards loyalty program, earn points with each qualifying stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Boston Burlington Hotel Burlington
Candlewood Burlington
Candlewood Suites Burlington
Burlington Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.