We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille - Burlington

Capital Grille - Burlington
10 Wayside Rd, Burlington, MA 01803-4603
781-505-4130
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille - Burlington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 95 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Something quite uncommon has occurred.The Capital Grille has arrived in Wayside Commons. A clear indication that the winds of distinctive dining have changed. Now, you can have your Stoli Doli well in hand within minutes of leaving your office. You can enjoy our legendary dry aged Porterhouse without double-parking. And relish your crème brulée knowing you're moments from home.Now, who was it again that said you couldn't have it all?
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of dinning here during a recent stay in Burlington, MA. The food was delicious and the service was great, especially considering that I sat at the bar. Definitely check it out if you are looking for a steak dinner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    48
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good steaks but L'Andana down the street is better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been to the Capital Grille a few times and considering it's pretty much exclusively a steakhouse, you'd expect to have some of the best steaks you've ever eaten for the price you pay. It's as expensive or more expensive than L'Andana which also is an eclectic Italian steakhouse down the street about a half mile, but the steaks are definitely not as good. That being said, every meal I've had at the Capital Grille has been very good, but I just wouldn't pay the same or more for something I can get better down the street. The lobster mac and cheese side dish is also outstanding and a must for any seafood lover.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The cadillac of steak houses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

First, the parking is great, but there are so many "reserved spaces" you may have to park a bit away from the restaurant. Reservations are recommended. This place is popular, despite the pricey menu. Ambiance - this restaurant screams "classy" and "upscale." We reserved a smaller room - cozy and not so noisy, but the restaurant is large, and can be a bit noisy. See the pic! Service - WOW. Hosts and hostesses pop out of nowhere to serve the clients. It is not just the hostess that serves, but many servers who wait on our every need. Salads - I had a superb Cesar salad - see the pic - it was different, with the cheese placed on top of the salad greens. Dinner - Most at our table had the filet mignon sliced steak with mushrooms, and side dishes of asparagus and mashed potatoes. What can I say? This steak is the BEST steak I have ever had at a restaurant. When I asked for "medium rare" it was truly medium rare, so they cooked it again a bit for me, and it was perfect. I have tried Delmonico steak and filet mignon at other restaurants. They don't compare to the Capital Grille. The steak is crusty on the outside with a delicious taste to it. The desserts are excellent, and the cake was really good, as was the cheesecake. The cake tastes better with the chocolate icing, than alone. All in all, save your $$ for this pricey restaurant, but you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Junction, VT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This was my first visit to Captal Grille and it was wonderful. Excellent atmosphere and service and great food. We were in a large group of 10 and shared appetizers. The calamari with hot peppers was especially good. Main course was a Filet with a porcini mushroom rub and this was top notch. Overall outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, MA USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Steak Orgasm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have not been to dinner at this particular Capital Grille before. Previously I had been to one in Boston and also in Chestnut Hill. They all have the same and look and feel. They remind me of eating in some wealthy gentleman's club, as I imagine them, in Old London Towne. Dark woods, leathers, oil portraits, doting waiters.

Some may find the atmosphere a bit stuffy, but if you don't let it get to you it really is quite beautiful. The tables are all well spaced and private conversations are easily maintained without having to yell or whisper.

Our server, Richard, as I recall, was perhaps a bit over the top with his flourishes, grace and charm - but that is part of the experience. He perhaps took things all a bit too seriously but the reverse of that can be fatal to a fine dining experience. Better this Richard than the jokers who think they are part of the entertainment at, e.g., Smith & Wollenskys in Boston.

Simple, but rather expensive dinners. No surprise. But were those steaks really worth all of that money? In a word: Yes.

We both had salads to start - Garden and Caesar. Both maybe a little too large. Both solid B Grades. The Caesar could have used a bit more dressing. But did we come here for salads?

I had the Steak Au Poivre, medium rare. Fantastic. Cooked absolutely perfectly and perfectly delicious. As the peppercorns popped in my mouth the steak was melting in my mouth at the same time. Delicious. Huge portion. Well worth it. Where else and when else have I had a steak like this? Hardly ever.

My partner had the Porcini Crusted Delmonico, cooked rare. How many more adjectives can I come up with? ! Simply delicious. So tender. Where do they get these steaks anyway! Marvelous. And melt in one’s mouth?…omg. So tasty. So perfect.

If one could have an orgasm over steak – this is the place to get it.

Is this place expensive? Yes.

Is it maybe overpriced? Yes.

Is it a bit pretentious? Yes.

Will I return and recommend? In a heartbeat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille - Burlington also viewed

 

Been to Capital Grille - Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Grille - Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.