We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Choice in Western Massachusetts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
2 Charlemont Road, Buckland, MA 01338   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Buckland B&B and Inns
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Choice in Western Massachusetts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast when visiting for a week in western Massachusetts. Imagine everything you'd expect at a bed and breakfast... and then some!
* the room was beautifully decorated
* the bed was very comfortable
* the home is a historic beauty
* the breakfast was wonderful
* the hosts and set the tone for a wonderful stay!
Not only would we recommend the Bird's Nest, but will be visiting again!

PS. don't miss the made-from-scratch/from-the-garden rhubarb cake and cookies!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
36
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Bird's Nest was the first bed & breakfast I have been to--and what an absolute pleasure it was to stay there. Our hosts, Cyndy and Dennis (and not to mention, the adorable Yoda), were incredibly accommodating: They remembered individual dietary restrictions, gave excellent local attraction advice and restaurant recommendations, and attended to our every need (not that we had many--they're so intuitive that they practically met our needs before we knew we had them). The house itself was filled with beautiful art, and the Goldfinch's Nest room we stayed in had a comfy bed, pillows, and chaise lounge. I can't go without mentioning the incredible breakfast we had the next morning: cranberry-apricot scones, fruit salad, eggs benedict, and sweet potatoes, all cooked to perfection. Needless to say, we will be making another trip out to the Berkshires in the near future JUST so we can stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had a great time with Cyndy and Dennis (and Yoda) at their beautiful home. Had an exceptionally pleasant stay, enjoyed the fantastic breakfasts and ended up not wanting to leave and just hung out for hours on the back porch (overlooking the creek). We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went here for a casual get-away for our anniversary. The folks at Bird's Nest were wonderfully friendly and helpful - books of dinner menus in the area, suggestions for a morning hike right out the front door. Breakfast on the screened porch was delicious - 2 kinds of quiche, one vegetarian, rhubarb cake, fruit and salad. Brownies were offered in the evening. Buckland is off the beaten path, but in easy reach of lovely towns like Shelburne Falls.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was my first time in a bed and breakfast and I confess, I had avoided them because I feel uncomfortable staying in people's houses and thought it might feel awkward. I absolutely loved my stay. The hosts are gracious and welcoming. The rooms are lovely. Breakfast was delicious. I am a tough customer and travel a fair amount. We will be back. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We loved everything about the Bird's Nest B & B--our room, the view, the quiet, and the many birds we spied as we looked out the window on a late April morning: bluejays, goldfinch, nuthatches and more! This is a beautiful old home (1700's) that Cyndy, Dennis and Pat manage beautifully. We felt welcome and slept beautifully. Cyndy served delicious quiche for breakfast along with fresh fruit cocktail, juice, 2 homemade breads and a beautiful strawberry and baby lettuce salad (and great coffee in locally made pottery). We chose this place because we traveled the Asparagus Valley Pottery Trail and as Cyndy is an artist herself and friendly with local potters, we had some great conversation. Cyndy's mom Pat is extraordinary and pointed out that her parents made the exquisite rag rug in the dining room. Just a great getaway!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our cozy corner room--the hummingbird! Lovely light and comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast for Cider Days last year, and we enjoyed it immensely. Here's the skinny: if you want heated beds, fish to eat the dead skin off your feat, a personal masseuse, etc., etc. this is probably not the place for you. (One might wonder why you're in W. Massachusetts at all, and not, say, Tokyo!)

However, if what you'd like is a room furnished with the comforts of the rustic home we all imagine owning one day, friendly and fun owners, and a good meal--all at a reasonable price--this is the place to go.

Excellent value, comfortable, and fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Charlemont Road, Buckland, MA 01338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Buckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buckland
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1797 the Bird's Nest B & B exudes an ambiance of elegance and simplicity. As a 200-year-old home, it's architecture reflects the area and personality of all who have lived and cared for the homestead for the last two centuries. Quilts, rugs, pottery, furniture, sculpture and paintings created by a family of artists and artisans can be found throughout the home, as well as a medley of family heirlooms, antiques and collectibles. We serve a full breakfast with fresh fruit, home baked muffins(or scones or bread) along with a main course such as eggs benedict. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.