We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Way All Inns Should Be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brewster By The Sea to your Saves list
Brewster By The Sea
716 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cooking School Getaway
Ranked #1 of 11 Brewster B&B and Inns
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Way All Inns Should Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

There's only one thing wrong with Brewster By The Sea. Guests eventually have to leave. If I had before my wife and I arrived picked the service I wanted, Brewster By The Sea already thought of everything I would have selected. And more. Here are some examples: the carefully prepared breakfasts by a top chef. A different menu each day. The homemade baked goods. The scented towels. The tea and cakes in the afternoon. The suggestions on things to see, places to have dinner. The discount coupons for shopping. The friendly atmosphere. The beautiful setting. I could go on. In short, they made my wife and I feel like family. What more can I say. Thank you to Donna and Byron for a wonderful vacation.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
237
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a stay at Brewster by the sea this past weekend. We recently moved to the Boston area and my parents were up for the week, so we decided to show them around the Cape! We decided to stay at this B&B based on reviews on Tripadvisor and the location. After this stay I don't know that I can ever go back to a hotel!! Donna and Byron are the most gracious hosts and go out of their way to make sure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable! The breakfasts every morning are to die for- although I'm sure our waistlines now reflect it! You will want every recipe they make for you! There are also cookies and tea/coffee out all day long so you can pick up a refreshment after a day of sightseeing. This place truly felt like home- only more relaxing due to the truffles waiting on your bed every night at turndown and the classical music playing! My parents truly loved the Cape and I think the biggest part of that was because of Donna and Byron and their hospitality! We will definitely be back this fall if they are not booked up!

  • Liked — breakfasts, hospitality, location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

Everything here is very clean and nice. It is nice that a B+B has a pool. The gardens are beautiful, the breakfast, yummy. The best part about Brewster is taking a walk out on the sand bars at low tide.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

Epitome of Perfection

Brewster by the Sea is classical example of what innkeeping is all about in America. Its warm, cozy and relaxing atmosphere far exceeds the expectations of most guests. Where else can someone go and feel at home away from home, be surrounded by verdant gardens flourishing in all their natural beauty made possible by the passionate attention of the loving innkeepers and their staff. The wonderful energy one feels upon entering the front door and being greeted by either Byron or Donna fills one with a sense of peace and comfort immediately. It is at this point that you will be given "The Tour" and all the wonderful amenities of the Inn will be revealed to you. Enticing homemade cookies and cakes are available throughout a portion of the day and are mouthwatering to say the least as Donna performs her magic in the kitchen to bring these goodies to all. The delightfully heated outdoor pool is there to refresh you and is directly adjacent to a wonderful hot tub. Spectacular hydrangea surround the pool area and other splendid flora set in juxtaposition to each other creating an aura of peace, harmony and tranquility. Upon entering the Inn one is overwhelmed by the sense of serenity that permeates throughout its indoors. Its guest rooms are sublimely decorated with delicate and soft hued colors which create the tender and warm hearted atmosphere that Brewster by the Sea exemplifies. Donna is the author of all these wonderful themes. Upon arising in the morning one enters the common room to be greeted by either Donna or Byron and the soft music of a classical master softly playing in the background. Discriminating tastes are satisfied with enticing items prepared in a multitude of ways by Donna and Byron and for those with a different palate Donna and Byron will accommodate them also with breakfest items more pleasing to their tastes, but for us we anticipated each morning to see what wonderful culinary creations would be set before us. Brewster by the Sea is truly a very unique place. A place where one is rejuvenated in body and spirit and leaves with the feeling that one has had a very, very special experience. We have been coming to Cape Cod for over thirty years and have experienced Bed and Breakfast accommodations throughout all of New England for just as many years. Brewster by the Sea is by far the most enjoyable and relaxing Inn that we have ever experienced in America and also the wonderful European accommodations that we`ve enjoyed when we ventured over the "big pond". Brewster by the Sea is very special and a true gem. The only thing that supercedes the incredible ambience of this place is the incomparable and world class hospitality of these loving Inkeepers.

Sonia & Bill
New Jersey

  • Liked — The hospitality afforded by the Innkeepers
  • Disliked — There is nothing negative to say about the entire experience
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

This was our first visit to Cape Cod. We arrived after a few days sighteeing in New York City and then Boston, so the Inn was a very welcome and relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of the cities.
We stayed 4 nights in the Beach Blossom Room, in Orchard House, which is separate from the main farmhouse. It was a lovely room; extremely comfortable and relaxing and there were many special touches which added to our enjoyment and comfort. Refreshments were available at all times of the day/night, even in Orchard House.
The breakfasts, as well recorded on this website, were delicious and it was great to sample the many varied dishes that we were served each morning - the 'Brewster Sunrise' becoming a real favourite.
The turn down service was really great to 'come home' to - the music creating a wonderfully peaceful ambience.
We made use of the swimming pool area during our stay. It was well maintained with swimming towels, loungers etc all available.
We were also allowed the use of chairs and umbrellas to take down to the beach which was a real bonus coming from the UK and having no beach equipment.
,Donna & Byron are exceptionally good hosts and we would recommend this Inn wholeheartedly.

  • Liked — Comfortable and realxing surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

We just returned from a five night stay at Brewster by the Sea. It is our second year vacationing there, and before we left we booked a longer stay for next year. The bed and breakfast is not only charming, but both Byron and Donna go above and beyond the call of duty, making everyone's stay enjoyable. Both Byron and Donna include a booklet in your room with information on where to go; whether it be for adventure, shopping, dinner, or just a place by the beach to watch the beautiful Cape Cod sunset. Every morning, from 8:00 to 10:00 am, guests are greeted either outside by the patio or inside the airconditioned house, with a full-course home-made breakfast. A menu is placed in the sitting room daily (for the next day's breakfast), but as always, if you do not like what is on the menu, there is something else to choose from, whether it be pancakes, scrambled eggs, or home-made granola to name a few, even the toast (YUM!) is home-made. There is always a start with coffee/tea and a choice of at least four different juices, the Brewster Sunrise being its most popular. Next, is a breakfast appetizer; fresh fruit just doesn't do it justice, as so much more preparation goes into this appetizer. And then there is the main breakfast, what can I say? Everything is delicious! I never had scrambled eggs like that before, but that is only one of many of Donna's specialties; pancakes, quiche (two different kinds), breakfast pannini's, french toast on home-made bread, and so much more. But it isn't just the food that keeps bringing us back, we love the location, the feeling of being pampered, the comfortable rooms, sitting by the pool, the hot-tub, the ambiance, and the feeling that you are truly on a relaxing vacation, never mind the great shops and restaurants that should be mentioned, and the many other places to see and visit that doesn't require spending a lot of money.

During the afternoon, home-made iced tea and/or lemonade is available, accompanied with home-made treats. There are a variety of different newspapers, and a selection of items that are available to purchase if you so desire.

From morning until sunset, you will observe, if you pay attention, to the couple working very hard to not only keep their guests happy, but also to keep the place impeccable. Both Byron and Donna take such pride in their bed and breakfast, and according to Byron, "seeing our guests enjoy themselves, makes Donna and I happy." What more can I say? We will be back next August and looking forward to staying a long weekend in October. We highly recommend Brewster by the Sea, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Brewster By The Sea during July and had a wonderful stay. Our only regret was that we could not stay long enough to enjoy the ammenities, including the lovely pool and hot tub. There was a beautiful beach a short walking distance away. We were too busy going to various activities for a relatives wedding that weekend. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. Byron and Donna have gone out of their way to make sure that each guest has what they need. In fact one of my thoughts while staying there was that they left no stone unturned! As for the prior comments regarding too many eggs at breakfast, we had delicious pecan waffles, bacon and poached pears w/ cherries one morning with no eggs in sight. My husband and I will stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brewster By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster By The Sea

Address: 716 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Bed and Breakfast on the quiet and quaint part of Cape Cod, Brewster. Three course breakfasts, turndown service, outdoor pool and jacuzzi, rooms with fireplaces and whirlpool tubs along with gracious hospitality make this a perfect Cape Cod getaway. Wide range of room accomodations. Nearby nature trails lead to the beach. Great central location to base your day travels to the islands, PTown and the upper Cape ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Brewster By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster By The Sea Hotel Brewster
Brewster By The Sea MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewster By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.