We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping back in time in a mansion being lovingly restored” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crosby Mansion

Crosby Mansion
163 Crosby Ln, Brewster, MA
5088961744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 19 things to do in Brewster
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand Victorian mansion built around a Cape Cod cottage.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time in a mansion being lovingly restored”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Lovely mansion to visit and learn about it's history.. the grander building on the picture wraps around a small cottage that was the original owner's parents home. The garden club has a decorator's holiday showhouse there every few years(like this year 2013)well worth the visit. The rooms show off the splendor of days gone by.. think Downton Abbey ala Cape Cod.
Go on a sunny clear day to get the best of the views out over the water of Crosby bay. it's right across the street from
the entrance to Nickerson Park(in fact owned by the state of MA) but renovations ongoing by dedicated volunteers.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Restored home overlooking the marsh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I visit here every year to say hi to the resident foxes who have lived here on the grounds and have raised their pups for several years now..I get the feeling Im not alone when I visit, although no one is usually there when I stroll the grounds...Could definitely be haunted...I feel like someone is watching me when I walk around...There is a wooded path to the beach behind the house, going to Crosby Landing Beach..The house tours are sporadic...The town of Brewster usually posts when docents will be there to open the house...The inside of the house is lovely and the town has spent several years restoring it to its former glory..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Crosby Mansion in Brewster,MA is a work in progress. We enjoyed our tour where every area of the mansion has a well- informed docent. You will enjoy the tales of this family which is quite different than the owners of the Rhode Island mansions. Beautiful area and just steps from the Crosby Beach for swimming on the bay

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A HOUSE WITHIN A HOUSE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had the chance to tour this Mansion and it was absolutely incredible. Mr. Crosby loved his home but his wife wanted something more elaborate so a beautiful mansion was built around his home which then turned out to be his man cave. There are beautiful views from the second floor, gorgeous rooms, amazing furniture and the guides were very thorough and knowledgable. We even bought the book that one of the guides wrote about Mr. Crosby's life and she signed it while we were there. Truly a great attraction not to be missed. They only have a few open houses during the summer to tour it as the Association is always in the process of restoration. You must see the Mansion which takes about an hour. It is much larger than it looks from the front. There are also events held there and there are two rental homes in the area that provide income for the restoration of this Mansion. Truly a great find. Thank you to the Association for keeping this Mansion alive!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Formerly a private house and a beautiful Victorian mansion. It is open every other Sunday for tours. Don't miss it. Located by the scenic Crosby Beach. They are putting in bathrooms soon so that they can have larger functions. Walk around it; it's beautiful

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crosby Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Crosby Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosby Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.