We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crosby Mansion

Crosby Mansion
163 Crosby Ln, Brewster, MA
5088961744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 12 attractions in Brewster
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Grand Victorian mansion built around a Cape Cod cottage.
Holland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The historical society put a lot of work into this and was able to bring it back to the beautiful house it once was. It was a treat to walk through and see all what the house looked like and to learn the history of it.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Historic beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A lovely example of the period and so beautifully restored by local volunteers. Great views

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“most people are not aware of this Mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a special place that the town of Brewster as well as the State Of Mass have made some grant Money to fix up and the local people have done a great job in fixing it up.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Crosby Mansion Inspires Hisporical Novel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

On a trip to Cape Cod driving through Brewster I came across a hidden treasure. Out of curiosity we drove down Crosby Lane off Rt 6A across from Nickerson State Park and discovered the Crosby Mansion. Knowing that it was not my ancestral home, but sharing the same name, and as a lover of history, I wanted to see more of it. The area was deserted but we walked around the property of this large and unusual house.
Driving further down Rt 6A we stopped at the Brewster General Store and, after talking to the locals, purchased a copy of a fictional novel by Brewster author Dorothy D. Leone, Where The Herring Run, (459 pages, iUniverse, Inc.) which is based on the life story of Albert Crosby who grew up in Brewster, made his fortune in Chicago, and returned to Brewster in 1888 to build this opulent mansion for his second wife, wrapped around his modest childhood family home. On a later visit after reading the novel, and even more curious about the house, I was able to visit on a day when the local volunteer group, who call themselves Friends of the Crosby Mansion, were working on the restoration process. Ginny Locke is one of the founding members of the volunteer group and it was her son Brian Locke who in 1991 had the vision to save the empty and decaying mansion.
The mansion, which Albert Crosby had named Tawasentha, was in disrepair after years of neglect, was acquired along with surrounding beachfront property, in 1985 by the state of Massachusetts as an adjunct to Nickerson State Park. After lobbying by the Friends of Crosby Mansion, officially formed in 1992, the town of Brewster obtained a long term lease that enables it to use proceeds from beach cottage rentals to pay for restoration. Fundraising events and open houses also help raise funds. The first two floors of the mansion are completely renovated and now work has begun on the third floor. Much of the period furniture and accessories have been donated. It is a house within a house, and as you step from one to the other you are stepping into another period, which is reflected in the furnishings and decor.
The novel includes the factual history of Albert Crosby’s life, although much of the story is fictionalized, it is a wonderfully colorful saga. The descriptions of his early life in Cape Cod, then Crosby’s quest for financial independence, his successful brewery, his love of the Chicago Opera House, which he acquired from his cousin, and the disastrous Chicago Fire in 1871. It’s a fascinating, page turning story which deserves more attention, and has all the ingredients of a television mini-series or a movie. A percentage of the proceeds from the sale of the book are donated to the Friends of Crosby Mansion
This is the author’s first novel, a life long ambition inspired by her fascination with the Crosby Mansion. I was fortunate enough to meet Dorothy Leone on one of my trips to the Mansion, and she kindly autographed my copy of her book.
The Crosby Mansion is open to the public by appointment and on special days in the summer and around Christmas time. It has also been made available for weddings.
Friends of the Crosby Mansion may be reached at [---]

Visited June 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A glimpse into old Cape Cod!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

The Crosby Mansion is beautiful! As you walk up the path from the parking lot, your jaw drops as you see a beautiful yellow Victorian mansion. I've been coming to this mansion since I was a little child, and I love the place. The tour guides are extremely informative and tell you great little facts about the Crosby family. The Crosby Mansion is unique because it wasn't always a mansion. At first, it was just a small little Cape Cod cottage, and then Albert Crosby's new bride decided she wanted a Victorian mansion. Not wanting to demolish his childhood home, Albert built the mansion around the cottage! The volunteers work so hard to restore this mansion. It was going to be torn down, but then it was saved. They work long hard hours in the hot summer sun for absolutely no pay. Head to the Crosby Mansion for a glimpse into a bygone era!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crosby Mansion also viewed

 
Brewster, Cape Cod
 

Been to Crosby Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosby Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crosby Mansion to your Saves list