We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Starvin Marlin - CLOSED

The Starvin Marlin
2237 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
774-323-0707
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Harwich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We wanted to try a new restuarant in Brewster, Massachusetts for lunch and dropped in at Starvin Marlin. They were open but trying to put in new floors and serve people at the same time. The best thing about the restaurant was a very upbeat attentive waitress but the ambience is dark and dank and the food was mediocre. We had fish tacos that were quite large but the fish was soft and unappetizing. I had the turkey club and it was unremarkable. We won't be back and I can't think of any reason to recommend it except to keep the nice waitress employed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We did recently put in the new hardwood floors and while the contractors did work throughout the overnight and needed to finish up the next business day, the workers were told to pack it up, which they did, once customers were seated. We are very mindful of the volume of noise in the restaurant and did not serve anyone with contractors working, As the owner I was there observing to make sure of that. We are sorry thier presence bothered your time however. We are also very sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your meal. We always ask that if our customers are not happy to tell us right away so we can get you something else. We strive to make our customers happy and will always do the right thing for you...
Thank you for your mention of your waitress. We are also proud of our staff and was glad to hear you were happy with her service.
We hope you give us another try... however if we dont see you again, we wish you a great rest of the Summer!!!!

Steve Marlin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    20
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good value, nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had dinner here twice on my recent visit to Brewster. The food is tasty with some well planned twists. I felt it was a good value for a restaurant. Both rimes our servers were freindy and helpful. The decor is not very inspiring- but this place is still definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're so happy to hear that you had a good experience on a return visit. Consistency is key. We are proud of our staff and glad to hear your meal was to your (and our) expectation. Come see us again and stop and say hello when you do!!!

Have a great rest of the Summer

Steve Marlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“No reason for you to eat here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ate here this evening. As others mentioned, the decor is pretty poor, like mid-range diner. The tables and chairs weren't mis-matched, but they *seemed* this way, which should tell you something.

The food was fine, we tried both the hot and cold lobster rolls. They weren't bad, but they weren't good, either. The hot roll was really more like a dry lazy man's lobster on a grilled bun, if that lobster had nothing but claws. The cold roll was a little better, with a little bit of lettuce and celery, but was still entirely made up of claws meat. Fries and slaw were okay.

The raw bar was good, you get a lot of clams for $10, but rather being served over ice, they were served in cold water with some ice cubes in them, so you needed to drain the claims before you ate them.

The service was nice an attentive, but the timing was weird. We ordered drinks & apps, then the apps arrived almost before ordered our main courses. Then the mains came while we were still only half done with our clams. They weren't rushing us, so it was weird to have all that food ready so quickly, there wasn't much room on the table for all the food they brought out.

In all, for this price, you can do a lot better than here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you didnt have a good experience. We are proud of our menu our staff and our building and believe there are multiple great reasons to eat here.. Our decor is what it is.. very casual.. but we have to disagree in that it's far from poor. We have fun decorating with fun knick knacks and other eclectic items and are not bothered by the simple but comfortable environment we have here in our old building.
We are pleased most importantly however to hear your meal was fine, including the raw bar and that you had attentive service. We do apologize for your meal timing not being right. That we definately will make note of for the future - We thank you for giving us a try.

We hope you have a good rest of the Summer and where ever your travels may lead you.. Happy dining!

The Marlins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Maine
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“A Study in Contrasts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We decided to have a weeknight supper here during our pre-Memorial-Day trip to the Cape despite mixed reviews from staffers at our timeshare resort, a couple of long-time timeshare owners there, and local guidebooks, For us, it was a study in contrasts -- a decor that seems to be left over from the past decade, almost seemed more like left-over kitchen furnishings than restaurant decor; -- but then an aggressive menu that included specials like lamb chops, rum-soaked steaks, and fish tacos, but one that doesn't seem to have an identifiable "signature dish" or much depth in any particular food category.... a little of this, a little of that...
The fish in our fish-n-chips was absolutely excellent, but the "fair-type French fries" were just okay. And considering the build-up they got from a couple of folks we talked to and from our server, the fish tacos were good but didn't seem to live up to the "buzz" they were given.
It seemed to us like the restaurant, and the staff, were trying to "find their identity" -- there was nothing really wrong with any of our experience tonight, but nothing in it to compel us to make an immediate return visit either. It really seemed more like we were "just having something to eat because its suppertime" than "enjoying an exceptional restaurant meal."

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The food is great wether your in the mood for bar food or oysters and clams. We return year after year, and continue to be impressed. The decor could use some help, but the food is quality.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw! We're happy to hear you had a good meal. Our goal was to have both casual and more high end offerings on the menu all the time. We're sorry you found our decor in need of help though... We do have an older building and are making small changes here and there. We are not trying to be fancy, just have a little fun... so a few knick knacks and eccletic decor lightens things up a bit...Thanks for giving us a try.
Hope to see you again.

The Marlins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Starvin Marlin also viewed

 
Brewster, Cape Cod
Brewster, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Starvin Marlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.