We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nickerson State Park

Nickerson State Park
Rte 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
508-896-3491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Brewster
Type: State Parks
Activities: Biking, Swimming
Attraction Details
Brewster, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Most people come to the Cape to visit the Bay, ocean, Nantucket Sound but forget that Nickerson State Park has ponds for swimming, boating and fishing & trails for hiking and biking. Go for the day ($5/day fee) or make a reservation for a campsite.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    20
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Camping fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great State Park for family or friend camping overnight, weekends or for an extended visit on Cape Cod. There is swimming, paddleboats, SUPs, and sailing. The Park store provides some groceries and snacks, but the closest grocery store is only 2 miles away. Call for reservations for a camp site, or call the Town of Brewster for a beach pass. And bring your bug spray!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paddleboarding and kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beautiful state park, central location, easy to navigate, and access to biking and plenty of other outdoor activities. Wish I'd brought a tackle box to do some fishing. If it's recreational, this park has it. Definitely recommend checking it out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great day with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great place to hike, bike, and be one with nature. Although there is a fee, plan to spend the day and it is worth it. Not very many place on earth like cape cod and this is what it's all about. Enjoy

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

In all of our visits to Cape Cod over the past 18 years, my husband and I had never driven through Nickerson State Park, so during our most recent visit, we made this a priority. For a $5 entrance fee, we had access to the park for the day. Our visit was only an hour or so, but we enjoyed seeing the many beautiful ponds scattered throughout the park. Some ponds had beach areas for swimming, as well as picnic areas. Camping seemed to be the primary activity in the park, as we saw many, many occupied campsites scattered throughout various areas. If you are "into" camping, Nickerson seems like a perfect spot! We noted that showers were available, as well as a small general store. The bike trail runs through the park, too, providing ample opportunity to ride, jog, or walk on a paved surface through the woods. Even if camping is not your thing, or you prefer not to make use of the trail, a drive through the park is worth the price of admission. Having this lovely natural area in the heart of Cape Cod is a real treat!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickerson State Park also viewed

 

Been to Nickerson State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nickerson State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.