We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day with the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nickerson State Park

Nickerson State Park
Rte 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
508-896-3491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Brewster
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Biking, Swimming
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great day with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great place to hike, bike, and be one with nature. Although there is a fee, plan to spend the day and it is worth it. Not very many place on earth like cape cod and this is what it's all about. Enjoy

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    27
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

In all of our visits to Cape Cod over the past 18 years, my husband and I had never driven through Nickerson State Park, so during our most recent visit, we made this a priority. For a $5 entrance fee, we had access to the park for the day. Our visit was only an hour or so, but we enjoyed seeing the many beautiful ponds scattered throughout the park. Some ponds had beach areas for swimming, as well as picnic areas. Camping seemed to be the primary activity in the park, as we saw many, many occupied campsites scattered throughout various areas. If you are "into" camping, Nickerson seems like a perfect spot! We noted that showers were available, as well as a small general store. The bike trail runs through the park, too, providing ample opportunity to ride, jog, or walk on a paved surface through the woods. Even if camping is not your thing, or you prefer not to make use of the trail, a drive through the park is worth the price of admission. Having this lovely natural area in the heart of Cape Cod is a real treat!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent overall after four stay overs, EXCEPT...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Everything overall about the park is excellent. Two things disappointed me during this latest stay. We stayed in a yurt, which is a good value. When we arrived, the yurt had not been swept, unlike in years past. And, there was no dust pan and broom, nor pole doohickey to open the top to ventilate. While the staff promptly brought the dust pan and broom, by mid-week, they had yet to open the top or bring the doohickey. Usually the customer service is excellent, but it went down a notch on this trip. I also noticed that the bathrooms weren't as clean. Still excellent overall, but slightly disappointing this trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“beautifull setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

love the park! trails to hike, bike and ponds for kayaking, tent sites that are private and well located for viewing nature. clean and well maintained.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great campground in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nickerson is a great campground, mid cape cod. A great rail trail (paved) bike path passes right through the park. It is relatively easy riding. The sites are large and afford more privacy than most parks. We've decided to leave the tent at home and opt for the yurts (if you don't know about the yurts check out the web site). The only downside to relying on the yurts is that you have to reserve months in advance. Bathrooms are clean and pretty close. No coin operated showers and there is plenty of hot water. Most of the cape is within half an hour drive (Provincetown is about 40 minutes). There are two lakes within the campground. Boat rentals are available but a little pricey for my tastes. My favorite beach, Nauset, is probably 15 minutes away. Major grocery store is 10 minutes down the road, although there is a camp store for things like ice and milk. My family loves this place and has been going a couple of times per year for several years.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickerson State Park also viewed

 

Been to Nickerson State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nickerson State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.