We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifull setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nickerson State Park

Nickerson State Park
Rte 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
508-896-3491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 attractions in Brewster
Type: State Parks
Activities: Biking, Swimming
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“beautifull setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

love the park! trails to hike, bike and ponds for kayaking, tent sites that are private and well located for viewing nature. clean and well maintained.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    18
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great campground in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nickerson is a great campground, mid cape cod. A great rail trail (paved) bike path passes right through the park. It is relatively easy riding. The sites are large and afford more privacy than most parks. We've decided to leave the tent at home and opt for the yurts (if you don't know about the yurts check out the web site). The only downside to relying on the yurts is that you have to reserve months in advance. Bathrooms are clean and pretty close. No coin operated showers and there is plenty of hot water. Most of the cape is within half an hour drive (Provincetown is about 40 minutes). There are two lakes within the campground. Boat rentals are available but a little pricey for my tastes. My favorite beach, Nauset, is probably 15 minutes away. Major grocery store is 10 minutes down the road, although there is a camp store for things like ice and milk. My family loves this place and has been going a couple of times per year for several years.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Go for the pristine ponds and cool breezes. This park is easily accessible by the cape cod rail trail or by car. A very family friendly environment with boat rentals, rest rooms, shade and campsites all available. Pack a lunch and spend the day. We have been back many times.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Bike Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We love to ride our bikes on Cape Cod Bike Trail that runs through the park. We can stop for restroom facilities if need be, picnic, and park in convenient lots. Great place to spend a Springtime day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great state park....free entrance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nickerson is a great place to visit, lots of ponds for swimming and one place for boating. Ample parking and if you like permits for camping also available

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickerson State Park also viewed

 

Been to Nickerson State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nickerson State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nickerson State Park to your Saves list