We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best campground on the Cape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shady Knoll Campground

Shady Knoll Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brewster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shady Knoll Campground
Save
You added Shady Knoll Campground to your Saves list
1709 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best campground on the Cape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've been camping here for 40 yrs - and it is a great place for family camping. We've camped in tents and trailers - for 2 yrs in 2011, we camped in tents. You need to take out the garbage at night or tie it up high where small animals can scratch around it during the night. Bathrooms are fairly close to the tent areas. There are dogs allowed but most are chained up at night. One evening, after putting the kids to bed, a camper came in around 9:30 pm and started chopping wood which woke up the adults but not the children. Campground is close to Nickerson State Park for swimming and biking. The same family has owned it for years. Every night the owners check to be sure all campfires are out. It's safe for the children. It is close to the rail trail bike trail. fun for everyone and very clean - it's one of the only places that clean the bathrooms twice each day. It is highly recommended

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed at Shady Knoll for a week in August. It was our first time at the Cape in 10 yrs. We had a popup and had a perfect site (82) it was across the road from the bathroom, but it was far enough that it wasn't noisy. The site was nice and flat, though there was a lot of broken glass on it. We picked a lot of it up and hopefully got most of it.

The bathroom was clean all the time, the only thing I would suggest is that there be signs in the stalls telling people to hold the handle down. Almost everytime we went in, there was one toilet that was not flushed properly. All it took was to hold the handle for a extra 10 seconds and it flushed, but not many people did that.

The showers were awesome, hot, and great pressure. And FREE! Best part! Again, I would somehow put an occupied sign maybe on the door lock, like the airplane bathrooms have? Some of the doors didn't close all the way, and I saw a few people get walked in on.

The staff was amazing. We went to the desk everyday to look at their map and ask questions about how to get places or things to do. They were spot on with directions, restaurant suggestions, fun stuff to do and see. They were super friendly and a pleasure to talk to.

Brewster is a perfect spot to be in, its right in the middle, close to bay side beaches and ocean side. We spent a lot of time at Nauset beach and it was great. We spent a day on the Cape Cod Rail Trail and that was awesome too.

We did have a little visitor a couple evenings. A skunk came along and rooted through our garbage. But that was our fault for not putting it way. Luckily he didn't spray anyone.

the kids loved the pool table. They spent a lot of time perfecting their game on it! I loved the old fashioned feel of the game room. Didn't have any glitzy and glammy and high tech games.

Wifi was available all around the campground. I know I am in the minority, but I could have done without that. Its hard enough, having kids of the technology age, to pry their devices out of their hands, when the siren call of free wifi is so readily available.

I will definitely stay at Shady Knoll again when we go back to Cape Cod.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Cons: As a couple without kids, we won't come back. Sites are surrounded by campers on all sides. Lots of families with small kids and barking dogs. Good choice for families perhaps.
Pros: Very clean bathrooms. Good location. Close to bike trails. Friendly staff. Laundry services if you need them.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night at this cute little campground. It is definitely more of a family oriented campground, but that didn't make my stay less enjoyable. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The sites all have their individual picnic tables and fire pits (yes, you can have your own campfire right in front of your tent) and the bathroom and shower facilities are impeccably clean. I also loved the fact that you didn't have to save your quarters and pay for the showers, like you have to in a lot of other campgrounds.
All in all a wonderful camping experience - Shady Knoll makes a great base camp for venturing out and about Cape Cod!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed at this campground for 4 nights.Its a very quiet place. Somesites are in the woods but most of them are ok. The restrooms and showers are extremely clean (like home) The owner is very friendly and helpfull. Theres Breakwater beach at 1 mile from there and a grocey store in front. I recommande this campground to anyone wo wants to rest, not a place for partys.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The campground is nice, well organized, and has plenty of amenities. Perfect for a family stay. It is located within an hours drive to Cape Cod potato chops, Provincetown, Plimoth Plantation. There is a grocery store across the street and you could easily ride your bike to the CCRT.
My only beef is that the sites are somewhat close to one another. Otherwise a very positive experience.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCCamping, Manager at Shady Knoll Campground, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Always nice to hear Campers had a good time. Shady Knoll and Cape Cod have a lot to offer.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our second stay at this campground. We returned because the facilities are in good shape and are kept very clean, the staff are friendly, and the campground is in a good location. We ended up staying here the first time because Nickerson down the road was full. This turned out well because this campground is much smaller than Nickerson and thus seemed like it would be more relaxing. Overall, we've had great stays and I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shady Knoll Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Knoll Campground

Address: 1709 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Brewster
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shady Knoll Campground is a family campground located in Brewster, MA on Cape Cod. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shady Knoll Campground Hotel Brewster
Shady Knoll Campground Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shady Knoll Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.