We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unpleasant Experience!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rail Trail Bike Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rail Trail Bike Shop
302 Underpass Rd, Brewster, MA
508 896 8200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 5 Shopping in Brewster
Attraction details
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Unpleasant Experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My four friends and I visited this shop on September 2, the beginning of our week's vacation in Brewster. The young lady behind the counter was incredibly rude and responded sarcastically to most of our questions. When trying to decide whether we should rent bikes for the entire week or just a day here or there, one of our group asked her, "Do you know what the weather is supposed to be like this week?" Her response? "I don't know the weather. I don't check the weather." And then she followed up with, "There's no refunds," meaning if it rains on the days you've rented, tough luck. I ended up throwing her pamphlet back down on the counter and walking out. I don't have to put up with being treated like that in any establishment.

Instead, my friends and I went to Brewster Bike, just a couple of miles away at 442 Underpass Road, and were greeted by a friendly and extremely helpful lady, who was one of the owners. Their prices were cheaper and we felt that our business was appreciated. When we returned our bikes at the end of the week, we had a wonderful chat with the other owner, Larry, and left with smiles on our faces.

Take my advice: Go to Brewster Bike and be treated like a valuable customer, not an unpleasant intrusion.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Helpful, attentive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We rented two bikes and a bike trailer for my 3 year old daughter to ride in. The gentleman who helped us was very helpful and set us up with everything we needed. He spent time talking to us, was very informative and seemed to really appreciate our business.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ride On!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This bike shop was recommended by our hosts at Brewster by the Sea B&B. It is right on the rail trail and this shop has a wide selection of bikes. They offer helmets at no charge as well as bike locks. The owner is very helpful getting you fitted to your rental bike and will recommend different things to see along the way. The rentals are available on an hourly, daily or multi day rates.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“good stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My daughter rented bikes this summer with her boyfriend there. Friendly staff. Helpful. Affordable. Located on Underpass Road, well located to the Rail trail. Ample parking. try it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Easy to rent, uncomfortable seats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The bike shop was no muss no fuss. We were in and out with bikes rented in under 5 minutes. The guy who rented the bikes wasn't super-helpful or interested in talking. The seats are NOT comfortable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rail Trail Bike Shop also viewed

 

Been to Rail Trail Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rail Trail Bike Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.