We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable property for a family vacations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable property for a family vacations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The resort is divided into two distinct areas. The mansion, located by the coastline and the villages located across the street. I stayed with my family (2 adults/2kids) in the villages in a one bedroom with pull out sofa. The room is nicely appointed - looks just like the website. One bedroom/bath, small kitchen with the basic necessities. We stayed In arbor village, the furthest from the main road (2 miles) but right across from the pro shop/links restaurant. The biggest pool and the shark bah is a 2 minute walk. Food at the shark bah is marginal but comparable to what you get poolside anywhere.

The pools on the property are outdated compared to higher end resort pools.

I would think a resort fee would cover access to the Tennis courts but Tennis is $25/hr and $8.50 to rent a racquet wasn't worth it. The only nice gym at the resort was at the mansion. On the Villages side there was a few cardio machines inside one of the tennis pro shops but the nicer gym is really for "annual members" (condo owners) but for $25 i believe you can use it. I didn't use the spa but inquired and it seems it's not staffed full time or what one would consider a real resort spa.

We went during the height of the season so perhaps it was a staffing issue but the one big negative was the quality of housekeeping. For the price you pay, you'd expect to return to a clean room.

We didn't let that get in the way of our family fun.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    201
    138
    111
    84
See reviews for
398
251
8
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is a higher end resort, with many amenities. It is great for families and children. There are a ton of activities. It is located directly on the Cape Cod rail trail. There are several pools, spread out widely across the property. Tennis, children activities, reasonably good food at reasonable prices for summer on the Cape. The rooms are clean, and again reasonably priced for high season. Staff are highly visible, and very helpful.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed at the Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club in Brewster, Ma. in August 2014. We stayed at the Arbor Villa. Room has living quarters, including a full size kitchen, separate bedroom as well as a washer and dryer. Two TVs One in living room and other in bedroom. There is an Arbor pool right outside of the Villas but within walking distance. Shuttle will take you throughout the resort. Golf was fantastic. Nice deals at the pro shop. No beach on resort. You will have to take a beach shuttle to one of the Brewster public beaches if you prefer beach over the pools. The restaurants within the resort are pricey but there are restaurants in the town and adjoining towns which are reasonable. We booked directly with Ocean Edge and not something like Expedia. When you book directly with them you may get a better room and location than going through a discount broker.(Call the local number and you will talk to someone directly on the resort.

Room Tip: If you are playing golf, stay in the Arbor Village. It's close to the pro shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

You should think of The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & as part of a corporation. They each are their own company and not interchangeable.

If you book your stay through Ocean Edge you have a few more perks one being you will have a beach shuttle to one of the Brewster public Beach’s. In addition if you stay at the villages some units let you buy passes. These passes let you and your family attend activities and the village pools. The pass daily for 2014 cost 12/adult and $6/child (ages 4 thru 15). Weekly fees are $48/adult and $25/child. Children 3 and under do not require a pool pass.

Keep in mind that the mansion activities are off limit to village’s renters. For example you cannot use the beach, pools, tennis courts etc on the mansion grounds. If you want to go to one of the restaurants you must use a shuttle. The restaurants are pricey as well.

Another thing to keep in mind if you want to attend a village exercise class, kids craft, tennis, rent bikes, etc. those are additional fees on top of the activity passes.

One last thing to keep in mind it is 1.5 to 2 miles ride to the main road in Brewster. So you should tack on 5 min to your destination when leaving the unit.


Overall, the Villages is a nice place to stay but they do nickel and dime you!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, Resort Manager at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, however I must address a couple of inaccuracies as it appears you rented through an realtor or rental agency.

When you book through Ocean Edge reservations system, whether you are staying at The Mansion at Ocean Edge or The Villages at Ocean Edge, you are welcome to use all the amenities both side of the resorts has to offer. The only exception is that guests staying at The Villages at Ocean Edge may not access our private beach in-season. The beach would unfortunately become overcrowded; particularly during high tide. Guests staying at The Villages can however purchase a beach pass for local Brewster beaches ($15 per day $50 for the week) at the Villages Registration Desk. Guests are also more than welcome to take advantage of the complimentary beach shuttle. Our shuttle picks up twice daily in-season from The Villages and delivers guests to the nearby Crosby Landing Beach.

Our restaurants have ample parking and are open to the public. It is not mandatory to take the shuttle to our restaurants. Unfortunately, the Resort cannot control the information realtors and listing agents provide about amenity use at the Resort. You are considered a Resort Guest of Ocean Edge only if a reservation is made through the Ocean Edge Resort and Golf Club reservation system. As a Resort Guest, you are entitled to full and unlimited use of our seasonal complimentary resort shuttle, 2 indoor and 4 outdoor pools, fitness facilities, complimentary kid's activities and daily housekeeping. Only Ocean Edge Club Members and Resort Guests that make reservations directly with the Resort have access to our private Nicklaus Design golf course, our tennis complexes, the Ocean EdgeVenture kids program, on-property bike rentals with direct access to the Cape Cod Bike Trail from the resort, and access to fitness classes, including spinning, yoga on the beach, as well as golf and tennis lessons and programs. Complimentary children activities include beach fires and s’mores, outdoor movies at the Arbor Pool, as well games on our front lawn and at our pools. You can see a complete list on our website, under the Activities tab at the link at the bottom of the page.

Please be advised if you rent accommodations on the Ocean Edge complex through a real estate agency or with a private owner you will have no resort privileges or access to the above mentioned facilities. Certain exceptions may be made for Ocean Edge homeowners who are also Ocean Edge Club Members.

I am sorry for any inconvenience or misunderstanding you have about access to our amenities. I sincerely hope you have another opportunity to stay with us. To make sure you receive all the benefits of being a guest at Ocean Edge, please make your next reservation directly with us.

Sincerely,
Bryan Webb
Resort Manager
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Be sure when you make your reservation, that you get a clear understanding of how long it will take to get access to your room. I was part of a wedding party and I had a specific time I had to be to an event. I arrived 2 hours and 15 min prior to the event. After waiting in registration line for 15 min, I was told there would be a 1 hour wait to get into the room. After an hour and 15 min, I received my key. By the time I got to the room we had 1/2 hour to get ready and catch a shuttle to the event. Very aggrevating. The events that I attended were all lovely and food and settings were great. The shuttle service around the resort was very helpful. However, our room was mediocre and smelled strongly of mildew. Not sure how they get away with the prices they charge at the golf resort. Also, if staying on the golf resort, be sure to get a 2nd floor room, it sounded like Godzilla was staying in the room above us!

Room Tip: room was supposed to have wifi ... but could not access even after calling computer help desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is our second year staying at ocean edge. We stayed in the arbor villa both times . My husband and I absolutely love it here. Everything is wonderful from the cleanliness of our room to the restaurants, pools, staff etc. Andrew at guest services is just amazing! He goes above and beyond to make your stay just perfect. This is now a place we plan on coming to every year for a little getaway .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, WI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Very nice place to stay for families. Nice accommodations and lots of activities available. Pool is lots of fun, but crowded. The property is huge. Definitely visit the mansion and eat at the Ocean Edge Restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Address: 2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Edge Resort And Golf Club
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel Brewster
Ocean Edge Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Brewster Ma
The Villages At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.