We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again for yet another OUTSTANDING stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Contact Us For Best Rates
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Riverside, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Back again for yet another OUTSTANDING stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We've stayed at the mansion resort back in 2011 and had a wonderful time so we returned again last summer, but stayed nearer the golf course as we both love to play and the course is definitely one of the highest-rated in the entire Northeast!
We stayed again this year (our annual family outing) in a beautiful Arbor Village condo-style room. It was incredibly large and we had a great location which was just a stone's throw from the Arbor pool. Since we were there last year, they have added a great outdoor dining and cocktailing place called "Shark Bah" - a pretty clever twist on the ever-present New England pronunciation of any word ending in "R"! The bartending staff there was excellent and even had our favorite libation ready and already set up at the bar when they saw us coming over - now THAT is first-class service!
Also new this year was a 3-times-a-day shuttle (free!) which took our family to the Crosby Beach which is right on Cape Cod Bay. This is also an added "perk" added since our last visit!
Our room was bright and had a great view of the fairways of the course - lots of new additions, touches and features - brand-new flat panel HD television in both the bedroom and living room and even family-rated movies available for a small charge in the living room. They really improved the free Wi-Fi service, too, which was great as I always have to stay in touch with work. (yeah, even while on holiday!!)
Overall, another GREAT experience at Ocean Edge - we're thinking of coming back in the fall to play the course again (and leave the kids with the in-laws this time!)
Kudos to the entire staff and everyone at Ocean Edge - we've found our new "home away from home"

Room Tip: We like the upper level villas - a great view of the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    187
    131
    106
    81
See reviews for
379
236
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had a great time staying in the Endicott villa. It was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. The resort has a lot to offer and we especially enjoyed being able to hop right on the bike trails just down the road from our villa. There was also a great pool right across from us. Brewster is a nice town and we loved the little general store. There was a great bagel place right near the hotel and wonderful seafood just down the road. All in all, we had a wonderful time exploring the Cape from this location and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Some of the apartments are better than others. They upgraded us to Endicott which was a better room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I spent two days at this property. Check in was late, 4PM, and check out early at 10AM. This significantly shortens the stay. We found the apartment dated and not really clean. There was gum stuck under the dining table, for example. We ran out of hot water with each shower. At check in we were given passes to the indoor pool and health and fitness club. The clerk did not explain that if we used the passes, we would incur a $20.00 fee for each use. This fee was also not noted in the resort guide in the room. We discovered it at check out. There was a fee for wifi. In fact, there were multiple fees. The one restaurant we did eat at in the facility was overpriced, with poor to fair food, and the service was slow. We were also disappointed to learn that although the facility is on the ocean, only guests in the two main houses have beach access. Other guests are directed to use a public beach.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, Resort Manager at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for posting yoru comments on TripAdvisor. I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay.

We go to great lengths to make sure guests at The Villages understand the resort fee and beach policy both on our website and over the phone or through phone conversations with our reservations office.

You indicate there was a $20 fee for using the indoor pools and other multiple fees. This is not true. We charge a nightly resort fee of $25 per room in-season, which is standard at luxury resort on Cape Cod and elsewhere. This resort fee includes our costs for providing internet and local phone calls, in-room coffee service and daily newspaper delivery. There is no extra charge for WIFI. The resort fee also covers access to the following amenities; Thursday night family beach fires with s’mores, fitness facilities at Fletcher Village and The Mansion, all five pools, including two indoor pools, a shuttle that ferries to and from both sides of the resort day and night and most of our daily children’s activities.

Regarding beach access; the reason that Mansion side guests have access to the beach while The Villages side guest do not, is space. At high tide the is simple no room for all guests on the beach, so to make sure everyone’s beach experience is a positive we allow Mansion side guests to walk to the beach. Since the Ocean Edge beach is not walking distance to Village side guests, we offer Villages side beach passes for purchase at the Front Desk, providing access to six Brewster beaches and two ponds. Or guests can take our complimentary beach shuttle directly to Crosby Landing beach, by all accounts an outstanding beach and certainly Brewster’s most beautiful bayside beach. Many of our guests also explore the nearby National Seashore beaches.

We are sorry the beach and fee policies came as a surprise to you. If you made your reservation online, this would be clear as you went through the booking process. And if you booked on the phone it would have been conveyed to you over the phone. Whether you booked with us on line or over the phone, you would have received a follow-up confirmation letter, mentioning the resort fee and the beach options for guests staying at The Villages.

I am truly sorry it did not work out for you here.

Bryan Webb
Resort Manager
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed at the villages in Arbor village. What a relaxing stay. The staff was overly accommodating in every way. We had 2 rooms and though we were told it may not be possible they accommodated us with connecting rooms and had notes to let us know when we checked in. The check in area was nice with water and cookies being handed out as we waited in a small line to check in. The front desk was very nice and assisted us with our sooo many questions. The room was much larger than I had expected and was fully equipped with washer dryer and kitchen. The room was super clean and we loved that we had a deck to go out onto. The Arbor pool was amazing. The food at the bar was far superior to the typical pool food you expect. The staff here was overly accommodating to the children which was nice to see from such a large place. The most shocking part was when we received a welcome call from the Rooms Manager checking in on us to see how our stay was going. I have never had any hotel manager pay us that kind of attention. We will certainly be back for years to come. We really enjoyed out trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakeswoman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed in a Brittidge condo, and loved it! We came to celebrate our 25th anniversary with no kids- and I worried about being at a family resort but honestly it was so quiet and relaxing! We played golf on the resort- very pricey but the course is gorgeous and we never felt rushed or pushed along. We were so happy we treated ourselves! We were not privy to the private beach the Mansion is on but OE provided shuttles to a gem of a beach nearby, Crosby's Landing! OE is right next to Nickerson's State Park and that was great for biking, hiking and kayaking & sailing! We also rented bikes and rode on the Cape Cod Rail trail- it was very fun! We ate at three of their restaurants- least impressed with Ocean Terrace as the bartender was not detailed oriented nor chatty with the patrons. So service was not as top notch as we expected. We were pleasantly surprised with the food and service at the Linx!! The chef even came out to meet us. Initially I was turned off at how hotel lobby like the bar area seemed- and we almost didn't go there. I am so glad we did! We also liked Bayzo's Pub- food, service and ambience was perfect! All in all we loved being there- it's pricey but we felt worth it and we went with the mindset that we were celebrating!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just came back from Cape Cod after spending two days there with my husband and 1.5 year old daughter. We stayed at the Villages side (in Britteridge bldg.). If you have a family with kids, this is the best bet. We had a one bedroom/one bath that came with full kitchenette. Included a washer/dryer, dishwasher, fridge and stove top. Perfect for traveling with small children. The room had a small but cozy balcony. Very nicely appointed, clean and comfortable with small kitchen table. I did not go into the Mansion as I felt it wasn't necessary. The Village side had their own pools with snack bar and kiddie pool and hot tub. Overall it was a wonderful stay. Staff was very nice. If I had any complaints it would be minimal. I know check-in is at 4pm and while this is made clear, I was hoping that like most hotels, the room would be ready slightly earlier than that. We arrived at 11:30am and room wasn't ready until about 2:45pm. That's ok...policy is policy but it's just that I never encountered that elsewhere. Also, guests on the Village side cannot use the beach at the Mansion (but can use the pool) which ok...that's fine. What got me was that Village guests could not use certain pools on the Village side. I guess they are for members only - folks who own the townhouses there. That being said - it was fine b/c the other pools were lovely...just made you feel a little bad that certain spots were off-limits. Overall I recommend staying here as it was definitely a good time had by all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audlem
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We booked this on Expedia as part of our independent trip of New England, using the reviews on TA as a guide on what we could expect. We stayed for 5 nights in an upstairs apartment ( 2 adults + 2 kids agd 11 & 9) which was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The washing machine and dryer were very useful especially after a sandy day on the beach. The sofa bed was fine for the kids, and the adult bedroom was comfortable. Each day the room was cleaned by the hotel staff (which we did not expect) and some of the basics replenished.

The big plus (we don't play golf) was the large pool, 9ft deep in places, and continuously monitored by lifeguards. There were plenty of other kids splashing around so our two soon found new friends to play with. The Shark Bah at the pool had a good selection of beer and cocktails. We glad that our apartment was close to the pool, the resort is huge, so if you are at the wrong end you could end up driving to the Arbour pool.

Mainly due to the expectation that food and drink would be better off the resort we did not dine in any of the restaurants preferring to try the local places nearby.

Finally, the staff at the resort were fantastic, the team around the Arbour pool were great, (mostly from Europe).

As for value we thought it was fair - for standard of accommodation, the number of staff working there, the overall services, and the actual up keep of the overall resort, it made for a pleasant and relaxing part of our holiday.

I would recommend it as a good base to visit the Cape and also allow the family more space to relax, than a smaller hotel room.

Room Tip: If you want to walk to the biggest pool, select an apartment by the Arbour pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Address: 2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel Brewster
Ocean Edge Resort And Golf Club
Ocean Edge Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Brewster Ma
The Villages At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.