We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Plainfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed at the villages in Arbor village. What a relaxing stay. The staff was overly accommodating in every way. We had 2 rooms and though we were told it may not be possible they accommodated us with connecting rooms and had notes to let us know when we checked in. The check in area was nice with water and cookies being handed out as we waited in a small line to check in. The front desk was very nice and assisted us with our sooo many questions. The room was much larger than I had expected and was fully equipped with washer dryer and kitchen. The room was super clean and we loved that we had a deck to go out onto. The Arbor pool was amazing. The food at the bar was far superior to the typical pool food you expect. The staff here was overly accommodating to the children which was nice to see from such a large place. The most shocking part was when we received a welcome call from the Rooms Manager checking in on us to see how our stay was going. I have never had any hotel manager pay us that kind of attention. We will certainly be back for years to come. We really enjoyed out trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    219
    146
    113
    85
See reviews for
441
257
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jakeswoman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a Brittidge condo, and loved it! We came to celebrate our 25th anniversary with no kids- and I worried about being at a family resort but honestly it was so quiet and relaxing! We played golf on the resort- very pricey but the course is gorgeous and we never felt rushed or pushed along. We were so happy we treated ourselves! We were not privy to the private beach the Mansion is on but OE provided shuttles to a gem of a beach nearby, Crosby's Landing! OE is right next to Nickerson's State Park and that was great for biking, hiking and kayaking & sailing! We also rented bikes and rode on the Cape Cod Rail trail- it was very fun! We ate at three of their restaurants- least impressed with Ocean Terrace as the bartender was not detailed oriented nor chatty with the patrons. So service was not as top notch as we expected. We were pleasantly surprised with the food and service at the Linx!! The chef even came out to meet us. Initially I was turned off at how hotel lobby like the bar area seemed- and we almost didn't go there. I am so glad we did! We also liked Bayzo's Pub- food, service and ambience was perfect! All in all we loved being there- it's pricey but we felt worth it and we went with the mindset that we were celebrating!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just came back from Cape Cod after spending two days there with my husband and 1.5 year old daughter. We stayed at the Villages side (in Britteridge bldg.). If you have a family with kids, this is the best bet. We had a one bedroom/one bath that came with full kitchenette. Included a washer/dryer, dishwasher, fridge and stove top. Perfect for traveling with small children. The room had a small but cozy balcony. Very nicely appointed, clean and comfortable with small kitchen table. I did not go into the Mansion as I felt it wasn't necessary. The Village side had their own pools with snack bar and kiddie pool and hot tub. Overall it was a wonderful stay. Staff was very nice. If I had any complaints it would be minimal. I know check-in is at 4pm and while this is made clear, I was hoping that like most hotels, the room would be ready slightly earlier than that. We arrived at 11:30am and room wasn't ready until about 2:45pm. That's ok...policy is policy but it's just that I never encountered that elsewhere. Also, guests on the Village side cannot use the beach at the Mansion (but can use the pool) which ok...that's fine. What got me was that Village guests could not use certain pools on the Village side. I guess they are for members only - folks who own the townhouses there. That being said - it was fine b/c the other pools were lovely...just made you feel a little bad that certain spots were off-limits. Overall I recommend staying here as it was definitely a good time had by all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audlem
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We booked this on Expedia as part of our independent trip of New England, using the reviews on TA as a guide on what we could expect. We stayed for 5 nights in an upstairs apartment ( 2 adults + 2 kids agd 11 & 9) which was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The washing machine and dryer were very useful especially after a sandy day on the beach. The sofa bed was fine for the kids, and the adult bedroom was comfortable. Each day the room was cleaned by the hotel staff (which we did not expect) and some of the basics replenished.

The big plus (we don't play golf) was the large pool, 9ft deep in places, and continuously monitored by lifeguards. There were plenty of other kids splashing around so our two soon found new friends to play with. The Shark Bah at the pool had a good selection of beer and cocktails. We glad that our apartment was close to the pool, the resort is huge, so if you are at the wrong end you could end up driving to the Arbour pool.

Mainly due to the expectation that food and drink would be better off the resort we did not dine in any of the restaurants preferring to try the local places nearby.

Finally, the staff at the resort were fantastic, the team around the Arbour pool were great, (mostly from Europe).

As for value we thought it was fair - for standard of accommodation, the number of staff working there, the overall services, and the actual up keep of the overall resort, it made for a pleasant and relaxing part of our holiday.

I would recommend it as a good base to visit the Cape and also allow the family more space to relax, than a smaller hotel room.

Room Tip: If you want to walk to the biggest pool, select an apartment by the Arbour pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were very excited about our stay here and sorely disappointed. The rooms are dated, the furniture is stained. Every little thing costs extra. The resort is nothing like what the $500 price tag for the night promised. We stated in the condo area. There is nothing here making this a worthwhile destination.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at Britterige Villas for 3 nights in July. The "Villas" are actually condos in a block so noise from other guests is a bit of a problem. The rooms were clean and functional but very dated. A nice/convenient feature was the washer/dryer available in each room.

Although each condo sleeps 4 we decided to book two 2 Villas as travelling with 2 teenage girls we prefer 2 bathrooms. The 2 bedroom villas promoted on the website proved impossible to book and would have been more expensive!! As it was, the condos also proved to be VERY expensive and I would not class as good value! Once resort fees local tax, state tax and an additional unspecified $50 per night was added to each room rate, the cost was $120 per room per night more than the advertised rate. Once I queeried the additional $50 per night, they agreed to refund this, however I still find $2660 (£1662) for a 3 night stay, accommodation only in a mediocre resort to be quite pricey.

The facilities at the resort are very good and the Arbor pool fun for families with the convenience of having poolside servers to bring drinks and refreshments. Do Not hire bikes from the onsiite bike rental. They are expensive and the equipment is dated. A quick car journey or 10 minute walk will get you to Brewster Bike rentals on Underpass Road where they have much cheaper and better quality bikes.

We used both the Lynx restaurant and Bayzo's Pub and found the food and drink of a high quality and reasonable value.

The staff at Ocean Edge are great!! From the front desk staff, restaurant and pool servers and the housekeeping staff, they are all very friendly and helpful.

Friends of ours visiting Cape Cod at the same time stayed in a 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom private beach front cottage for 1 week for a similar price. With hindsight I wish we had done the same as even though we only had a 3 day stay, paying for a week and leaving early would still have been the same price.

Room Tip: Some of the Condos are in the basement and have no views and are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the villages 5 nights in the arbor area. The structure is very big, you will have to drive around and there are 2 major areas where you will find pools and pool bar. The whole villages is between a big golf club, so you are surrounded by 11 holes. Our unit was pretty clean with fully equipped kitchen and w/d. The bed was not too comfortable. The Linx restaurant is very good and whole staff is gentle and extremely professional.
The defects of this resort is the pools, they are pretty small and for the number of guest hey have they are very limiting. After noon they become crowded with kids playing and screaming (as all the kids do). That's unfortunate because they really have ton of space and they could build more maybe for over 21 as well.
Pretty good stay I would recommend for quality and location. Less for relaxing at poolside. It's a pity with all the space and green they have!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, General Manager at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We were happy to read you were overall pleased with the accommodations, the staff, and The Linx.

I’m sorry you found the pools to be too busy. We do have five pools on property as well as access to the surrounding Brewster beaches and ponds. We also offer adults only swim times at the Fletcher Pool from 7A-10A daily. We typically do not have problems with overcrowding. We appreciate you weighing in however, and will certainly consider the possibility of a pool for adults in our future planning. Thank you again for submitting your comments.

Sincerely,
Bryan Webb
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
0.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
11.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#8 of 20 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 10 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#10 of 20 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
12.7 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 20 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Address: 2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Edge Resort And Golf Club
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel Brewster
Ocean Edge Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Brewster Ma
The Villages At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.