We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, pools too small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, pools too small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the villages 5 nights in the arbor area. The structure is very big, you will have to drive around and there are 2 major areas where you will find pools and pool bar. The whole villages is between a big golf club, so you are surrounded by 11 holes. Our unit was pretty clean with fully equipped kitchen and w/d. The bed was not too comfortable. The Linx restaurant is very good and whole staff is gentle and extremely professional.
The defects of this resort is the pools, they are pretty small and for the number of guest hey have they are very limiting. After noon they become crowded with kids playing and screaming (as all the kids do). That's unfortunate because they really have ton of space and they could build more maybe for over 21 as well.
Pretty good stay I would recommend for quality and location. Less for relaxing at poolside. It's a pity with all the space and green they have!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, General Manager at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We were happy to read you were overall pleased with the accommodations, the staff, and The Linx.

I’m sorry you found the pools to be too busy. We do have five pools on property as well as access to the surrounding Brewster beaches and ponds. We also offer adults only swim times at the Fletcher Pool from 7A-10A daily. We typically do not have problems with overcrowding. We appreciate you weighing in however, and will certainly consider the possibility of a pool for adults in our future planning. Thank you again for submitting your comments.

Sincerely,
Bryan Webb
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    190
    134
    107
    82
See reviews for
383
238
7
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great place. Sean Sullivan was the man. He made sure we had everything we needed. Small tip - order the blue cheese buffalo chicken pizza. It provided us with the strength we needed to really enjoy our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was here for a recent weekend getaway with my wife. We had a wonderful time, the accommodations were impeccable and the beach was ready for some summer enjoyment. The real jewel of this resort is the property itself and some of the exemplary staff. The buildings are all beautiful and immaculate and the same goes for our villa - we should know, we have vacationed here for many years. The real reason for this review was our interaction with one of the managers at the resort, Sean Sullivan. Sean really went out of his way to make some great recommendations for us as we were just passing by. He took some time out of (I'm sure) his busy day to steer us to a really great afternoon. We really appreciate his help and expertise and looking forward to a return trip soon.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and our 2 sons spent 5 nights here. We travelled here with family friends from Boston, wanting to have a fun Cape visit. The Villages at Ocean Edge worked. The facilities were very good, especially the tennis and golf. Fun pool area at the Shark Bah. Staff were very pleasant and friendly.

We both had very nicely appointed one bedroom units. We requested (and received) adjoining units which was great.

We ate at the following Ocean Edge restaurants:
Linx was very convenient but the food was just okay.
Ocean Terrace has a great ambience, the food is very creative, maybe a bit too much but very good.
The best place was Bayzo's Pub. Very nice atmosphere and the menu was great for kids.The manager Steve was fantastic, as was the hostess Alex. Thank you Bayzo's.

Overall we had a nice time at the Villages.

My one area of complaint is you must pay for your entire stay 7 days in advance. As it turned out, our Boston friends had to leave one day early. Upon arrival, they informed the front desk that they would only be staying for 4 nights and not 5. The front desk person said we needed to talk to reservations. The reservations agent informed them of their 7 day policy and said that they could not do anything for them.

I felt quite bad for my friends, As I was the organizer of our little trip, I asked to speak to a manager (Sean) who said this is a very strict resort policy. Sean said he would contact reservations and copy me on an email, but not to expect anything. He confirmed my email address, but I never did receive an email from him or reservations.

I realize that many places on the Cape have this "must pay first" policy, but if you are trying to be a "high end resort" I believe you need to be a bit flexible on these things. No refund, no credit, no offer for a future visit. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time recently at the Ocean Edge. We stayed in Arbor Village which I think was the most convenient as we were within walking distance of the pool, the Lynx Tavern and the golf club. A special mention and thank you to Adam on the front desk, Abi from Dublin, Sophia Bulgaria, Manager Brian and Bill who helped with our bags.

You all made our stay that much more personable. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Ocean Edge Resort is well maintained, well staffed and offers numerous pools, restaurants/bars and other amenities. There is plenty to do for both adults and children, especially if there is bad weather. I strongly recommend this resort. It makes you feel like you are on a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I read through the other reviews on this property and noticed that several people have commented on how much there is to do at the Villages at Ocean Edge Resort and Golf Club. I must acknowledge that this is true, however, you should know in advance that all of these "amenities" come with additional costs. It is made very clear that if you are a guest at the villages, you are NOT a guest at the Mansion at Ocean Edge and are therefore not entitled to truly use both resorts, despite the fact that they claim to allow you relatively free reign to use both properties. The best part about the hotel are the staff at the front desk, who were always helpful and very friendly. However, even they don't make up for the areas that this hotel is lacking.

Upon check-in we learned that we were not entitled to use the hotel beach because it was reserved for Mansion clientele only. I thought that was ridiculous. The resort does, however, provide a shuttle to a nearby beach, which I never made use of because the shuttle only runs at 9am and 11am to the beach and at 2pm and 3pm returning from the beach. The resort shuttle in general is not very convenient and oftentimes you must wait for a long time before one arrives. Usually, it is more convenient to walk, however, the resort is sprawling and sometimes this is not really possible (even for a young and fit 30 year old).

At check-in I was also told that there was a $25+tax nightly resort fee. When asked what this fee was for, I was told it covered amenities like towels (I thought that was standard for a hotel?) and access to all resort amenities. I was bothered by this, but accepted it. However, one day we were told that we could not play tennis at the court near our room because it was for members only. Another day we tried to play tennis at a different court at the mansion but were told it would cost $24 per hour. Finally, I learned of a "free" tennis court, but if you didn't have your own racquet, you needed to rent one for $8.50 per person and they could not be rented at the free tennis courts.What a circus! We flew in to Boston from Toronto and therefore did not have our tennis racquets with us. Nor did we have beach towels, so I was exasperated when I was told that we could not take towels from the pool to the beach, nor could we use the beach or its beach towels. We were forced to smuggle bath towels from our room to the public beaches and, quite frankly, felt ridiculous.

I tried to attend a morning yoga class but was told that it cost $25. Bike rentals are $35 on the resort (much cheaper off the resort).

In sum, you do not get much bang for you buck. The rooms are outdated (our screen was broken off and our kitchen sink was leaking; the repairman "fixed" it, but from then on the cold and hot water were reversed!). I understand that this is pretty standard for the Cape, so I won't hold it against the Villages at Ocean Edge. If you choose to book this hotel, just know what you are getting: a pretty outdated apartment-style hotel room (which certainly is convenient if you are a travelling family) on a resort that doesn't include any true "amenities." I'd say you're better off booking a local cottage-it would probably be cheaper and the hotel doesn't provide you with anything more than a place to hang your hat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, Resort Manager at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Regarding the beach access issue, I can assure you we go to great lengths to make sure guests at The Villages understand this policy both on our website and over the phone through our reservations office. As an alternative, we offer beach passes for purchase at the Front Desk providing guests access to six local Brewster beaches and two ponds. As you point out, Villages guests can also take advantage of our beach shuttle directly to Crosby Landing beach, one of Brewster’s most beautiful bayside beach, or explore other Cape beaches and the nearby National Seashore.

We do not understand your claim that all amenities require additional costs and that amenities between the two areas are not shared. With the exception of beach access on the Mansion-side, guests staying at The Villages at Ocean Edge are entitled to use the exact same facilities that guests staying at The Mansion are entitled to, and most of these amenities are complimentary.

We do charge a fee of $15 to cover yoga on the beach. Ocean Edge does has a private club, and our Club Members have their own fitness facility. It sounds as though you may have tried to take a class at the Member Sports Club; in which case, there is a $25 fee to use that facility. This fee entitles you to a full day pass. The fitness facilities at The Mansion and Fletcher Village are complimentary to guests.

We charge a nightly resort fee of $25 per room in season, which is standard at luxury resort on Cape Cod and elsewhere. This resort fee includes our costs for providing internet and local phone calls, in-room coffee service and daily newspaper delivery. It also covers access to the following amenities; Thursday night family beach fires with s’mores, fitness facilities at Fletcher Village and The Mansion, all five pools, including two indoor pools, a shuttle that ferries to and from both sides of the resort day and night, and most of our daily children’s activities.

Like most resorts, we charge greens fees on our Nicklaus Design golf course, courts fees on the tennis courts, and bike rental fees for bikes. (The Villages at Ocean Edge is located located right on the Cape Cod Bike and Rail Trail.) We also charge reasonable rental fees for golf clubs and tennis racquets. These charges are what most guests expect at a full service resort.

We are sorry this comes as a surprise to you. Had you made your reservation online, this would be clear as you went through the booking process. This would have also been expressed by our Reservations Team had you contacted the hotel directly. Whether you booked with us on-line or by the phone, the resort fee would have been communicated as you completed the booking process.

I am sorry you were disappointed that you could not take beach towels from the pool to the beach. We simply would have no way of tracking those towels and making sure they were returned if we allowed them to leave the pool.

We sincerely appreciate the compliments on our Front Desk staff. We will be sure to pass this along to them.

Sincerely,
Bryan Webb
Resort Manager
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Address: 2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Edge Resort And Golf Club
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel Brewster
Ocean Edge Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Brewster Ma
The Villages At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.