We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in mid October 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Brewster
Aberdeen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time in mid October 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Villages at Ocean Edge. It was the end of the season but the weather was fantastic, the apartment spacious, the resort swimming pool and golf club grounds relaxing and the staff very friendly and helpful. Most of the restaurants in the area were still open (there is a great coffee shop at the main entrance to the resort). We have 2 little girls (2yr old and a 9month year old) and are currently living in the UK. We stayed a week here and then explored Boston the following week. The resort was a great base to visit the various attractions in and around Cape Cod. We'd highly recommend staying at The Villages at Ocean Edge.

Room Tip: The resort was pretty quiet in mid October
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    162
    114
    100
    75
See reviews for
326
201
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have 3 small children and needed to get away for the weekend, but couldn't travel far. Ocean Edge was a great destination during the off season. The staff were exceptionally friendly, especially our first evening when we had dinner in Bayzo's Pub. Our suite was large enough to accommodate the family. The swimming pools are great resources. All in all, we had a fabulous, restful weekend, which is just what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We stayed in Britteridge Village, which was a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My fiance and I are planning a wedding at Ocean Edge for May 2013. So far, our experience has been wonderful.
Our original catering manager/wedding guru left shortly after we made our reservations, and we have been fortunate to have Stacy Bianchi ever since. She is on top of everything and has made us feel comfortable that our wedding is in good hands. She is pleasant to chat with and happy to answer any questions we have.
We went for our menu tasting two weeks ago and were delighted by the delicious food and everyone's willingness to accomodate our every wish. We met the chef, Ian, who didn't blink an eye when we requested a special dinner combination. Our server at the tasting, Michael, even shared interesting information about the history of the mansion and tips for decorating our reception site based on his years of experience there. (We liked him so much that my fiance wants to request him as our bartender for the wedding!) We are delighted with our choice so far, and look forward to our big day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The one bedroom village rooms are like condos. They have a full kitchen (stove top, no oven) with service for 4. There is a washer and dryer in the room (bring your own detergent). They sleep 4 because they have a queen bed and a pull out sofa. The basement level rooms (the room number will end in A) have a larger living room area than the other rooms with tile floors (rather than carpet), and a patio instead of a deck.

The resort is quite large and spread out, so expect to drive or take a long walk to the pools and other amenities. The mansion is across and down a major road so you need to drive there if visiting those restaurants.

The staff is welcoming, pleasant, and helpful. We had a great stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We visited early March ("shoulder season") for one night to check this place out for a possible longer summer stay. Location is pretty good. Walk-way to private beach, tennis courts, several pools (only one open at this time of year though).

The "Mansion Wing" suites are in fact in a separate building that have a common "Chain Hotel" feel to them. One has to go outside to get to the "Mansion" / Restaurants. The "Mansion" itself looks luxurious from the front, but has a big, modern, somewhat unattractive looking, reception hall / convention center bolted onto it on the back.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and appeared freshly renovated. They are pretty small though (we had the Mansion Wing Deluxe).

In addition to a feel of being subjected to false Mansion-Wing-advertising, other main issues were:

- The mansion is not near the edge of the ocean. It's a 10 minute walk.

- Only sporadic hot water in our room... we were offered to shower in the other "wing" (i.e., two buildings over). As we were leaving we were told the issue had been fixed.

- Extremely poor WiFi ... free, but essentially impossible to get connectivity.

- Wait staff is trying to be friendly, but they are getting it totally wrong. We must have been interrupted 15 times during breakfast alone ("Are you done with that spoon?"). And they talk to you as if you are a 5 year old.

- Sauna was cold. Temperature dial had a screw drilled into it to prevent changing the settings. If you are afraid of people keeling over in the sauna ("law suit?"), then don't operate one.

On a positive note, the pool was nice. Main pool was comfortably warm and hot spa was indeed hot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Weymouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I'm not sure how they do it across the pond in the big house, but I'd be hard pressed to believe that the Queen Mum and crew get better service or more courtesy than what was offered to our family (myself, wife, two daughters aged 5 & 9) this past weekend! From Jillian B and her front desk staff to Jimmy Sull and the entire crew at Baso's, there was never a moment where our gang was not met with warm smiles and willing assistance. The property is in fantastic condition, the facilities were enjoyed throughout, and the school vacation activities itenerary was a big winner with the girls!.

We're on the road regularly...it's been quite some time since we experienced the level of professionalism we were blanketed with during this past weekend's stay.

The Melody's

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

On behalf of the entire Coastal Stars organization, thank you for a wonderful weekend at the Ocean Edge Resort. I heard nothing but compliments about the lodging, the service and the hospitality that the Ocean Edge team provided.

15 hockey families were treated to a wonderful experience at the Ocean Edge Resort in Brewster MA.

My family and I will look forward to another trip to Ocean Edge when the warmer weather prevails.

Thank you

Jeffrey F. Smith, CFP®

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Also Known As:
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel Brewster
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort And Golf Club
Ocean Edge Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Resort
Ocean Edge Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Brewster Ma
The Villages At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod
Address: 2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style mansion is a sprawling year-round resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.