We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cape Cod Camping Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Forest Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brewster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweetwater Forest Campground
Save
You added Sweetwater Forest Campground to your Saves list
676 Harwich Road (Rte.124), Brewster, MA 02631   |  
Hotel amenities
Dennis Port, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Cape Cod Camping Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have been camping at Sweetwater Forest for over ten years. Sweetwater is clean, safe, fun, the staff are wonderful, and the camp is close to the best beaches, trails and all kinds of summer actiivities. Hot showers, clean bathrooms and very nice camp sites. We just got back from camping this year and already reserved our spot again for next year! Thanks to Heather and all of the staff at Sweetwater for the hayrides and memories. See you next year! What a great way to enjoy Cape Cod.

Room Tip: There are special camp sites at Sweetwater for everyone. We have had the same site for six years. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    29
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have camped here several times over the past few years and this is the first time which I was not happy with the accommodation's and customer service. We made the reservations a few months prior to visiting and when we got there we were sent to a camp site w/out water and electricity. I called the front desk and they told me that we did not request either which was surprising because we specifically asked for both. We went back to the front desk where I had to argue the point that we asked for both amenities. Apparently they don't believe in "customer is always right" at Sweetwater Forest. We had to pay extra and we would have to move our campsite after two nights of staying. I think they could have redeemed themselves had they given us a night for free or didn't charge us extra. We left before our stay was up because moving our campsite for one night was more of a hassle than packing up and leaving. I suggest getting all your information in writing and asking for the name of the person who took your reservation. I'm not sure that I will go back as the amount of money spent on the campsite was not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Suffield, CT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We made this campground our central base as we biked the Rail Trails, went fishing, swimming all over the area. It was very clean camp with lots of space for the boys to run around and have fun. It was very quiet at night and the bathrooms were very clean for the amount of people who were in the various sites. We were able to get three tenting sites that worked great for our layout for 20 people or so. For any Scout unit looking for a good location at a fair price they must consider staying at Sweetwater Forrest!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higganum, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We loved our week at Sweetwater Forest Campground. I was shocked to have such a spacious site in the middle of Cape Cod. The staff was friendly and super helpful. Our canoe ride on their lake was awesome; unbelievably low rental price for canoe!! Many thanks for the extra help, finding a local garage when our trucks breaks failed. You made a tough situation easy on us! Thanks again! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We camped here for our week-long stay in Cape Cod. Although most sites around ours were taken, you'd never know because it was so quiet. The camp sites & playgrounds were well maintained. Washrooms were the cleanest I've ever seen at any campsite anywhere - I think I saw maybe one ear wig and 2 spiders the whole time! Though the one area of improvement would be the size of the shower stalls - a bit on the small side, especially when you have a little one (ours are aged 2 & 4) and you're trying to get them clean the same time as you. The camp store was very convenient and always had what we needed - plus the staff was very friendly. Free WIFI came in handy too, and a nice sitting area to use it. Campgrounds are in a great central location on the Cape, so was easy to access everywhere with reasonable driving time. And the price is great too! They were able to accommodate a last minute change in our booking with no problems or hassle. We've already decided we're going to stay here again when we next visit the area. Missed out on the Saturday night hay ride - looked like lots of fun!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Falmouth
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have camped in 42 states over the past 40 years and this was one of my best experiences. Very quiet, extremely clean, and very family friendly. We brought our twin 6 year old grand kids and they had a ball. The camp store is large and well stocked as well as very reasonably priced. The bathrooms were as clean as any I've ever seen, no matter what time of day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice adult lounge area and a good game room for the kids. Could have used another pinball game, vs video game for us old timers. Nice large flat private sites. All round great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Sherwood Forest, our first camping experience on Cape Cod. It couldn't have been a better place to stay. The staff were overwhelming friendly and welcoming. There are sites for every taste: secluded, close to any of several playgrounds, group sites, whatever you like. Bathrooms as clean as our own at home. Finally, and most importantly, a shoutout to Heather, Michelle, and Mike: they took care of our little "girl", our yellow lab, like she was their own. They are all true dog people. If you are traveling with your dog, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Make a reservation by phone, and the staff will choose the site that best matches your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweetwater Forest Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Forest Campground

Address: 676 Harwich Road (Rte.124), Brewster, MA 02631
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Forest Campground Hotel Brewster
Sweetwater Forest Campground Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Forest Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.