We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No shuttle to transport point” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Wood Road, Braintree, MA 02184   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Braintree
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“No shuttle to transport point”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is a very rugged type of your average Candlewood Suites, that means housekeeping once a week, and no breakfast room. The major hassle is actually getting to the location if you are not coming with a car: the hotel is located in quite a distance from Boston downtown, and it does not operate any shuttle to the nearby subway station. You basically have to walk to the bus station for 15 minutes on the road, no sidewalks, ride the bus for the same time, and then hop on a subway for 45 to get you to Boston. Basically 1.5 hours to get you to the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Yigal,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

Due to the fact that Candlewood Suites is an extended stay properties, in an effort to respect the privacy of our guests, daily housekeeping is not provided. However, many properties do have it available upon request.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    55
    44
    24
    18
See reviews for
30
57
18
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was a good deal for relative proximity to Boston. The rooms have all the standard extended stay features and a small health club and serve-yourself convienence store. This is not in Boston by any means, about 10-15 miles out, nor walking accessible to the T or suburban rail, so come by car. Right near South Shore Plaza (mall and restaurants) and just off 95/Rt 3.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This spot was OK for a location, off the highway, but in the middle of an industrial park. The front desk personnel were very helpful and friendly, but one gets the impression that there are cleanliness and maintenance issues when walking through the front door with worn carpet, torn wall moldings and a general look of disrepair. That carried into the room with a dysfunctional door handle and a bathtub clogged with hair. The side exits and grounds were littered with cigarette butts
Hotel personnel came to the room immediately to clean the tub and once in the room it was comfortable and well equipped. Unfortunately, first impressions will likely have me choose an alternative location next time

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear GaryT421,

Let me first thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit. I truly appreciate your comments, since this is the most efficient way for us to constantly improve our services. It is nice to know you found our front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment with the cleanliness and the condition of our hotel. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed in that hotel while i was in Boston MA.
It takes 45 Mins by metro and 20 more mins by bus and then 12 more mins by foot to get to the hotel from Downtownn crossing...
The hotel rooms are old style, like in any other candlewoods suit u get the fully Equipped kitchen, work dest, and lots of space. While i was there the Corridors were under construction. the staff were nice, but im not going back to that place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear AlonTelAviv_Israel,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am pleased that you found the staff to be nice. On the other hand, I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had on some aspects during you stay with us. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Thank you again for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nites/3 days visiting family in the area. This hotel is in a good location, near a huge mall and restaurants. The hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly. We checked in with Nicole who quickly upgraded us to a larger room to accomodate the 3 of us. The room was clean and quite large. The hotel provided free internet access in the room which was a big plus. The next morning, we asked the front desk for local breakfast places & they were very accomodating. Check out was fast and easy.
We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Braintree.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Heights, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a room on the third floor and stayed for two nights. My girlfriend took the elevator and I ran the stairs. The third floor of the steps was under construction with no sign. It felt like I was going to fall through the floor. There were also some half under construction areas near the elevator on the 3rd floor. It also had the smell of urinal cakes in the hallways the whole stay.

Upon opening the door to the room I was impressed by the design of the room, but not for long. If you move at all in the bed it would make all sorts of noises in the frame (her and I combined aren't even 250 lbs). Also the shower needed a lot of work. Very little pressure, water wouldn't last more than 10 minutes( so one of us was getting a cold shower since we couldn't fit in together and still be under the minimal water coming out)

They advertise free movie rentals, but in my two day stay I was never delivered the list of movies as I was told I would.

Wasn't the worst place Ive stayed in, but certainly didn't command 90 a night nor will I return.

In its defense, it is perfect location for going back and forth between Boston and Weymouth, our two main destinations.
Also it is about 40 minutes from Plymouth Rock

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear TheTravelingRoss,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback. I am happy to hear our location was convenient for your needs. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I deeply regret the overall dissatisfaction of your stay especially with the on going renovations, room accommodations and website advertisement not being at par with your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate people and departments.

Once again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have found that staying here a couple times a month in more than one location has yielded mixed results for cleanliness. The first time I stayed here, I had to change rooms because there was a pubic hair on the toilet seat when I checked in. Another time, the room smelled bad. So, just a suggestion, make sure all is in order before you accept your room. I do this just about everywhere now. The full kitchen is a big plus! Also, FREE laundry is available. The rooms are like a studio apartment. The beds are usually comfortable. Ask for something not near high traffic areas such as the elevator, pantry, laundry or you will be frequently disturbed by slamming doors, running children, etc. Down the street from this location is a fabulous bakery that the locals know about. You can't miss it! The mall, movie theatre, highway are all nearby. Public transit isn't great.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator, laundry, pantry, if you want quiet, especially in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree

Address: 235 Wood Road, Braintree, MA 02184
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Braintree
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.The Candlewood Suites Boston-Braintree Hotel is conveniently located just off of Route 93 in the Quincy/Braintree area and just minutes from Public Transportation, Boston's Logan Airport, Boston Convention and Exhibition Center and Downtown Boston. We are an all-suites property, with both Studio and One-Bedroom Suites . Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full-size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check e-mail and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed leather recliner while you enjoy the DVD/VCR Player. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Candlewood Suites is close to Boston area attractions such as Fenway Park, the Freedom Trail, the USS Constitution, Boston Common, Harvard, MIT, Curry College and Faneuil Hall. Patriots football, Red Sox baseball, Celtics basketball, Bruins hockey and Revolution soccer are a quick ride away. The Candlewood Suites Boston-Braintree Hotel is also a short drive to Quincy, Plymouth, Cape Cod, Providence, Newport, Salem, Wrentham Outletsand many other places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree Hotel Braintree
Candlewood Suites Braintree
Candlewood Braintree
Braintree Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.