We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good with a few exceptions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Forbes Road, Braintree, MA 02184 (Formerly Sheraton Braintree Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off 3rd Night
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Braintree
cherry hill,nj
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“good with a few exceptions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stay at Hyatts most of the time.Hyatt Place is a budget hotel. I usually stay at Hyatt's non -budget hotels. I was thrilled to see the old Sheraton Tara redone as a Hyatt. The renovations are nice in most places.....new carpets, new beds, new furniture, new drapes, flat screen tv, and a very nice lobby with a 24/7 bar with food. Included breakfast was good. Coffee was excellent. Staff was especially nice. They really take pride in their work. The heating/ac in the room is very noisy. It cycles on and off. As a result, I slept on and off. The bathroom has been redone. It is nice, but very tiny...smallest bathroom that I have ever seen in any hotel. I realize that Hyatt had to use the configuration of the old hotel. It would have been better if they had included the mirrored counter area outside the bathroom as part of the bathroom....or had put the sink in that area. The soap, shampoo, conditioner are not the usual that I have used at most Hyatts. Location is great if you take the Logan Express. Shuttle service is free to the Express or Mall across the highway. The South Shore Plaza Mall has lots of good stores and restaurants. Hyatt Place is a good choice in the Braintree area.

Room Tip: quiet rooms are in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    87
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
73
46
8
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here to visit family over Christmas. I found the staff to be really attentive and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. I liked how the sitting area was separated from the bed. I liked this hotel a lot more than the Quincy Marriott and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great staff. the rooms are nice new furniture flat screens tv's, the bathrooms are decent. this hotel is just a little to obvious of just having a mediocre face lift. It seems to be that they brought in the lowest bid company to do all the work but all and all its not that bad of a place just not a great place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Tx
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

I'm a frequent traveler and to me most hotels are pretty much the same. This one is better than most for me because of the health club Atlantis. I enjoy swimming and working out while I'm on the road. When I stayed here in the past ,when it was the Sheraton, the health club and pool were in a state of disrepair and pretty run down. Burt, now with all the renovations made to the pool and the club in general I will keep coming back to this hotel when I am here on business!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

i used to stay at this location many times in the past and thought I would give it another try now that they got rid of the Sheraton name, and was pleased to say the least. The hotel renovated its rooms and the public areas are very nice.

The hotel is on its way back, I will see you again...!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your great comments regarding the Hyatt Place in Braintree! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sean Crump
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

New and very nice. Bathroom is small and lighting isnt that good, but the room was clean and comfortable. The staff was also very friendly. Snack area available 24 hours which if you have kids traveling with you can be quite a plus! Restaurant and starbucks are within walking distance, very close to this hotel. Free breakfast was very good in that it had breakfast sandwiches also!
We have stayed at other hotels in braintree and will stay here again when we are in town!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your outstanding review of the Hyatt Place Braintree. I tend to agree that is a special place filled with excellent employees who really care.
Please come visit us again soon, we appreciate your patronage.

Kind Regards,

Ed Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As someone who enjoys staying at hotels I was eagerly awaiting my first stay at a Hyatt Place, having read great things about the chain. I’m not too sure if it is because this hotel used to be a Sheraton which by all accounts was quite poor, but I must say I was quite disappointed with this Braintree property. In spite of the fact that the hotel is said to be new, one would be forgiven for thinking this hotel is old and grungy. The lobby itself is rather nice but as soon as you head to the elevators, walk through the floors and get into your room you know something is amiss. Aside from the fact that only one out of the two elevators were working, when you walk past the rooms you notice lots of dust all over the door handles and scratches all over the doors. The inside of the elevators were also all scratched up. When you walk in your room, you notice that it is nothing like the fresh and modern room photos that their website displays; instead, my first thought was that it was some sort of old and somewhat run down country lodge. The tiny bathroom has extremely poor lighting and I do not exaggerate when I say you will not be able to see much when taking your shower. I asked one member of the staff about this and she said it was a hangover from the Sheraton days but seeing as how Hyatt Place has owned this property for some time I cannot understand why this hasn’t been changed. The breakfast was fine, but every other hotel of similar class that I have been to provides free coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours a day so I was a bit surprised that this wasn’t offered until I was rudely told by one member of the staff “If you want free coffee make it in your room. If you want something down here, you pay for it.” If you are using this hotel as a base to check out Boston then it’s fine so long as you don’t get stuck in traffic in which case a 10 minute drive turns into an hour. The fact that it is right next to a pretty decent mall with a Cheesecake Factory is a plus. I am going to assume that this hotel is not representative of the Hyatt Place chain which by all accounts is rather good, but I cannot recommend this particular property to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree

Address: 50 Forbes Road, Braintree, MA 02184 (Formerly Sheraton Braintree Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Braintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree is an upscale, modern hotel in the heart of the south shore. Located only 20 minutes from downtown Boston, the hotel features 204 king and double bedded guestrooms, 5 meeting/banquet rooms and a spacious, aesthetically pleasing gallery lobby. The gallery lobby is made up of: the cafe offering Starbucks specialty coffee drinks, limited bar menu and 24 hr. food availability; the guest kitchen offering free upgraded continental and hot skillet breakfast every morning to all guests; the e-room offering 3 computers with print, copy and fax services including remote printing from your guest room; the great room offering plenty of flexible, comfortable seating to relax.The hotel is anchor to the new South Shore Place - 40,000 square feet of food and retail outlets such as Starbucks, Qdoba, Five Guys, Jos. A. Bank Clothiers, Vitamin Shoppe and the soon to open Legal Seafoods Restaurant. Ideally located in North Braintree at the intersection of Route 93 to Boston and Route 3 to the south shore and Cape Cod, the hotel is only 1 to 3 miles away from large office parks such as Braintree Hill Office Park, Batterymarch, and Crown Colony. The hotel is also in walking distance to the South Shore Plaza shopping mall (offering over 300 shops and restaurants) and conveniently located close to the Quincy T (Red line) and Boston Logan Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Braintree
Braintree Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.