We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked the atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's American Bar & Grill

Joe's American Bar & Grill
250 Granite Street, South Shore Plaza Mall, Braintree, MA 02184
781 848 0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe's American Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 110 Restaurants in Braintree
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Located in the South Shore Plaza
massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“I liked the atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I am not crazy about going to restaurants in a mall, but this was spacious enough that it didnt really seem like it was part of the mall. The food was good, but I thought pricey. We had a burger that was delicious and we split the Nachos. They were smothered in melted cheese, kind of reminded me of velveeta, but was good. The drinks were 10.00 each. Again delicious, but at ten bucks a drink for a mall restaurant, I thought a bit outrageous. Service was just ok.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    31
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“tasty food and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were going to go to the Cheesecake Factory but saw this place next door and liked the menu offerings....we were not disappointed. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious! I had the meatloaf which is made from braised short ribs and has a BBQ type sauce on top...it was a large portion and delicious. The food was served promptly. The dessert was delicious.... a brownie baked in a little skillet with vanilla and coffee ice cream scoops, fudge sauce, and some whipped cream...terrific!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went to Joe's after leaving Cheesecake Factory which did not seat us within 30 minutes. We were seated immediately at Joe's. The waitress came to our table right away and we were eating within 15 minutes. Boy does that beat Cheesecake Factory!

We had burgers and they were grilled to perfection.

Overall, the service was perfect and the food was great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Food okay, service slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I don't know if there was just a staff shortage that day but the waitress serving me was rushed off her feet and didn't serve me as quickly as I would have liked. If I wasn't very hungry and wasn't dining on my own, it probably wouldn't have bothered me. The food was nice. I had steak tips and mashed potatoes with mushroom gravy. Wasn't much gravy. The whole thing seemed a bit too dry but alas, maybe it's perfect by US standards and I'm a foreigner with different expectations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food every time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great selection of American fare/pub grub. This time around we had Joe's burger, pasta and meatball, and chicken piccata. Never a complaint I bring friends here often. Great selection and service every time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's American Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Joe's American Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's American Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.