We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Boston Braintree

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Boston Braintree to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Boston Braintree
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Wood Road, Braintree, MA 02184   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Braintree
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not the best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Nice place, but off the beaten path in an industrial area. The shuttle is convenient to get to/from the subway, but it stops at 10:00 p.m. The pool area is good, The breakfast is OK, but the area needs to be much larger. There is no space to walk around/between tables. One morning, there was a meeting being held in the breakfast area and they took up six more seats than people they had and blocked much of the area with the chairs they put around the tables they pulled together. Worst was that they did it in the center of the eating area. There were two empty meeting rooms the whole time they were there. I overheard them make comments about people having breakfast twice, once early, then coming back around 9. They should have had the meeting in a meeting room, not at breakfast time in the already overcrowded eating area, and the hotel staff should have asked them to move. I think they were associated with the hotel, as they were discussing remodeling issues. The complaints about factory noise in other reviews is unfounded. Our room was 2nd floor looking at the factory. There was a low hum and periodic "pneumatic" releif valve type noise, but it was less bothersome than typical traffic noise and far quieter than the room's A/C.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    115
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
139
70
24
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our stay at the Hampton Inn in Braintree, Massachusetts was very nice.....except for the dog next door. Just as I was completely irritated and ready to call the front desk to ask what could be done about the noise, the dog stopped barking. I believe the owner(s) had been out and the dog stopped when they returned. We never heard it the rest of the night.

The hotel itself was very nice. It seemed well maintained and was very clean. Our room was a typical hotel room with two double beds, though we definitely prefer two queen beds when we travel. We have a king bed at home, so a double makes for close sleeping quarters. The continental breakfast was your usual hotel fare. It was good. The hotel had a shuttle that transported us to the train station so that we could ride into Boston for the day. That evening, we called the hotel and the shuttle returned to take us back to our hotel. Having the shuttle available was one of the best parts of our stay at the Hampton Inn in Braintree.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a place near Boston.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was an ok stay. I booked through kayak, and got no option for bed/smoking preferences. The room I got had 2 small beds and smelled like smoke, which is definitely not what I wanted. I immediately asked for a non-smoking room. I was told curtly that none was available. However, they did call me back a minute later and offered to spray and put in an air freshener. That was appreciated.

Otherwise, things were as expected for this class of hotel: the room was clean, and sufficiently modern.

The free wifi was not usable for video, but worked fine for other internet activities.

The gym was very small: basically just a few aerobic machines.

Breakfast: A bit above typical continental: included hot eggs, but was otherwise unimpressive. Staff was attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for the weekend in June 2012. The location itself is a bit off the beaten path, and about a 30 minute T ride to downtown Boston. However, the value and quality of the hotel more than make up for the trip if you have the time for the traveling. I arrived early and was able to check in at 10:30 am, which was wonderful. The room was a good size, clean and updated. The bed was comfortable. Free wi-fi also. The hotel provides a shuttle to the T stop until 11pm. The shuttle driver left early one evening, and the hotel paid for a cab to bring us back from the T. They also did the same on Sunday, after we had already checked out, which I thought was above and beyond. Additionally, there was a complimentary hot breakfast that included waffles and eggs, homefries and sausage. The breakfast was very impressive. All in all, for the price (which also considers free parking, about a $35 per night savings from other Boston area hotels), if you can afford a little extra time in your day on the T, this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Although the parking lot and halls smelled a little funny from the factory next door, the rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The location is right by 93 which is the direct route into Boston. Also, five minutes away as the south shore plaza (really nice mall). This hotel offers free breakfast which although had a good variety, it tasted just average. Sure it's free but I've had better free breakfasts at other hotels, including another Hampton inn I stayed at in NJ. I think they were doing construction next door because the concrete smell was unbearable outside and was also very noisy. Not a big deal, since it didn't really affect my sleep/stay at all. The rooms were perfect. Good size and very home-y feeling. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Hampton Inn was, as expected, clean and convenient. It was as close as I could get to where I was working that week, and only a 2-3 minute drive to some good restaurants. Unfortunately, there's some sort of industrial facility next door on the north side of the hotel. There was a repetetive loud noise that ran 24 hours a day during the week, but not on Sunday night when I was there. It sounded like a loud, but short burst of noise similar to a wood chipper and was only every few minutes. It was a little annoying, but it didn't keep me from sleeping.

The rest of the stay was good and I really enjoyed the continental breakfasts!

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side, it will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in April 2012 before flying out of Logan and enjoyed the stay.

I've been to a number of Hampton Inns before and never been unhappy with the stay. I must admit though that I had a few reservations about this place after reading a number of comments on Tripadvisor about this place and the industrial unit next door and the smell that eminates from it.

Yes, you can smell a plasticy smell from the building next door when you are out in the car park on the side of the industrial unit. When you are parked the other side of the hotel though, you can't. The industrial unit was there before the hotel.... When you are in the hotel you can't smell a thing.

Our room was overlooking the unit - if possible, try to get a room on the other side of the hotel and you'll be fine. My wife complained a little on the noise at night from the industrial unit, but no complaints from me; I thought it was the AC unit and it didn't bother me.

I used the pool / hot tub and the business centre, but didn't use the guest laundry or gym. What I did use though was first rate. The hot tub was very large, but the jets were not strong enough in my opinion to shoot water across such a sized pool. It was more like a hot bath.

Within the pool room, each bathroom had a shower unit in it as well which was a nice touch.

The room was a good size, the two beds incredibly comfortable and the TV large. There was also a fridge and microwave. The room also had a separate chair with foot rest as well as a desk which made the room a little less formal.

The toiletries in the bathroom were good. It is SO NICE to see mouthwash as well as part and parcel of the set up. Well done!

A hairdryer and coffee / tea facilities also good, and an ice machine and drink vending on each floor was useful. The room also had free wifi internet. The TV alslo had a console joystick (although not used, so I don't know if it is a free service or an additional charge).

The breakfast, as per all Hampton Inns was plentiful. Fruit, cereals, bagels / bread, waffles, cooked foods (omlettes, sausages, spicy breakfast potatoes) as well as yoghurt and others. Good quality, plenty of it and the breakfast lasts for many hours which is great!

The staff I spoke with were all really helpful, and to be commended.

I can't remember reading on other comments about this place about the free shuttle which will take you on a 4 mile radius run. I used it a couple of times and the service was invaluable. 4 miles takes you to the MBTA station, the mall (which is quite large) and plenty of other places. Using the T to Downtown Crossing takes about 20 minutes and it takes a 5 minute shuttle to Quincy Adams station.

The hotel has coffee and tea all day in the lobby and in the evening there is also cookies on the counter for you to request. In the morning, if you are in a hurry there is a breakfast pack already done as well if needed. A great little touch in my opinion.

Logan Airport is only a 25 minute drive (I left the hotel at 16:30, so was expecting a journey time of much more!)

The hotel location is on an industrial estate, so nothing is within walking distance in reality (the mall is about 1 mile, but you have to cross a couple of major roads and intersections...) which detracts from the place.There is a holiday Inn Express pretty much opposite and a Candlewood Suites next door.

All in all, for the price paid, there is no complaints. You know what you are getting, the hotel was in great condition, the staff very friendly and the facilities consistent with other hotels in the chain. I Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side away from the industrial unit next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Boston Braintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston Braintree

Address: 215 Wood Road, Braintree, MA 02184
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Braintree
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston Braintree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston Braintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston Braintree Hotel Braintree
Hampton Inn Braintree
Braintree Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Boston Braintree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.